Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,715 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #8

Apr 012015


  • 1,500 miles


Have had serious transmission issues since approx. 1800 miles. Have had transmission "flashed" numerous times. It gets worse each time. Stalls, won't accelerate, hangs in gear, hesitates, jerks, jumps, if trying to get into traffic or go across a busy road, you never know if it is going to go or not. Very dangerous. I have owned over 100 vehicles (age 71) and this is the worse transmission I have ever had. Jeep has no fix for the problem., so I was told by dealership personnel. The problem was evident when the vehicle was introduced and held up the initial introduction. After 3 years still do not know what to do. The 2106's have the same problems. Very dangerous situation!!!

- Maryville, TN, USA

problem #7

Feb 152016


  • 2,002 miles
The vehicle just froze up yesterday 15 Feb 2016. It would not start, the brakes were completely locked up on it. Tried and tried to get it to start and it would not. Took it in this morning on a flat bed hauler and took it to the dealership at I 77 Jeep in ripley wv. They first stated it was the emergency brake, then said it was the battery, but I guess it was me it her of those. So it's still there and no word what cause it. If it had locked up while my wife was driving it it would be a very bad results. The vehicle was stationedare and was in the garage.

- Cottageville, WV, USA

problem #6

Jun 012015


  • 2,300 miles
When downshifting from 3rd to 2nd to 1st at an intersection, the transmission skips 2nd gear and finally drops into 1st at about 1-2 mph. If I accelerate prior to coming to a full stop, the transmission is in 3rd gear and has insufficient power to avoid a collision. The transmission also causes a dangerous problem when shifting from reverse into forward. Numerous times there is a sharp jerk which causes me to concentrate on retaining control of the car and losing awareness of my surroundings. This car is also well know for having an extreme wobble when pulled behind an rv - which is what I purchased it for. I haven't experienced the wobble yet as I haven't hooked up my Cherokee waiting for Chrysler to resolve the very dangerous wobble problem. All of the problems listed above occur while the vehicle is in motion - sometimes at highway speed and sometimes while driving in town.

- Matthews, NC, USA

problem #5

Jul 072015


  • 10,000 miles


I leased for 39 months a brand new Jeep Cherokee latitude 2015 at 10/25/2015 on champion Chrysler Jeep Dodge dealer. It will complete 9 months that I have this car. On 3/16/215 there was the 1st recall about an issue on airbags that could open accidentally. On 6/5/2015 there was the 2nd recall (I am not sure what was the issue). On 6/15/2015 I had an issue about transmission system and I couldn't move the car in indy downtown. I couldn't turn the car on. My car was on dealer for service for 5 days. They changed the entire transmission system. On 7/5/2015 I was in NY and I almost had an accident because I heard an alarm and it was popping up an icon on the Jeep panel, and then I realized that the steering wheel was really hard when I tried to turn 90 degrees on a crossroad. I almost hit the curb and the car behind me almost hit me. I needed to turn off and turn on the car several times to move the car. I intended to leave NY on Sunday to work on Monday but I did not feel safe to travel almost 12 hours. I waited until Monday to go to a dealer in NY and check what was wrong about the car. On Monday I went to a Jeep dealer on warwick - NY and they said that they didn't have the spare part to change on my car and that I need to wait at least one more day so they could order and fix. But he also said that I could drive, but the wheel would be hard sometimes. I just need to pay attention on 90 degrees turns and U turns. I came back home listening the alarm all the trip. I left the car on champion dealer at 7/7/2015 and after one day they fixed the issue. At NY dealer they said that need to change some part and on champion they just fixed and didn't change nothing. My car is just 9 months old and I had several and important issues. I bought a new car. I just want to put gas and drive. I already lost several hours of work and I do not feel safe about this car.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #4

Dec 172014


  • 1,396 miles
On take off or turning left or right taking off from a stop sign the Jeep shakes from side to side the dealer replaced a front bar on the right side still shakes took it in 3 times the dealer just don't know how to fix the problem! can't take it in the dealer just don't know what wrong! not good please tell Chrysler to fix this problem please help!

- Sandusky, MI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

Apr 152015


  • 800 miles
A car turned left as I was going straight and struck me at the front left side of the vehicle. The impact broke my tired completely off the vehicle smashing both the front and the entire side of my car with enough damage for me to have to kick my door multiple times in order to exit the car. After the first impact I lost control since a tire was missing and the vehicle hit a semi truck head on. No air bags deployed. Car is totaled and has frame damage. I contacted Jeep and they have since done an investigation and told me I was not going fast enough for air bags to deploy and are now not returning my calls. When the investigator called me after he inspected the vehicle he was shocked that I said the car was totaled. The car was brand new I had it for 15 days. There was a recall performed on the air bags the day before and when reviewing the receipt showed that they worked on the car for less than 15 mins but had my car for 6 hours? stating the recall was previously performed even though when I brought my car in to have a security system installed few days prior they said the recall needed to be performed and I set the appointment up. There is no way I was not going fast enough to have my safety features work in my brand new vehicle but I was going fast enough for my axle to snap and my tire to become disconnected from the vehicle. Jeep will not return my calls so I must take further action. Please assist me and take this seriously no one should feel unsafe in their vehicles.

- Simi Valley , CA, USA

problem #2

Mar 202015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 2,100 miles
2015 Jeep Cherokee purchased 2-24-15 with 8 miles on it. Two days later the check engine light came on and I was told to check transmission. Car needed brand new transmission after 2 days. Two weeks ago, the tire pressure light came on. Back driver's side tire keeps losing pressure. On 3-20-15 computer went out. I had no camera, no radio, no heat controls, no ipod player.

- Dyer, IN, USA

problem #1

Nov 232014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,625 miles
Noticed that the 17-inch X 7.5-inch aluminum wheels (aluminum & black) rims are discoloring. Small discolored spots are appearing on the rims. Looks like pitting. To me this shows these rims are defective and could cause problems in the future.

- New City, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?