Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Whenever a new product is introduced, there's bound to be some problems. And man oh man, does the 2006 Commander have some problems.

It's the plight of the 1st-generation adopter: you get the newest and shiniest in exchange for a handful of issues that get ironed out in future versions. But what happens when that handful of issues becomes a bucketload? The 2006 Commander has quality control issues like the door handles breaking off and the sunroof leaking. But what's truly worrisome is the electrical problems like the vehicle shutting down unexpectedly, gauges going crazy or the cruise control having a mind of its own.

Bottom line: if you want a Jeep Commander, you're better off looking at a later model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,925 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Commander brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Jun 192016

Commander

  • 137,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2006 Jeep Commander 4.7. last month after coming home from another state, the car parked for several days while I was out of town it would not crank when I went to start it... just the clicking sound. My boyfriend jumped it and it overheated his cable. Then it happened after sitting just overnight, same scenario. I did not leave anything on like lights, etc. I had the battery checked and it was fine. It began to happen more frequently (several nights in a row). Took it into a dealer and he replaced a few parts but nothing changed. Then the battery started draining after sitting for 15 minutes with the ignition off. Took it to a friend who's an auto mechanic, he said something was discharging from somewhere.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #25

Feb 012015

Commander

  • miles
See doc I had to replace engiine and now the company that did might responsible for it as well need a attorney or a BBB for help

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #24

May 162016

Commander

  • 100,000 miles
Takata recall my Jeep Commander has been nothing but trouble since I purchased it I have had all the recalls done by my local Jeep dealership and still have to constantly replace wheel speed (ABS) sensors and reprogram the computer. At low speeds off aproxamitly 15-20 mph I loose power like the vehicle is trying to starve itself from fuel affecting accelerate so if you pull out into a intersection it practically dies and the. When you go to brake the pedal gets hard and the vehicle keeps rolling I have to replace all 4 wheel sensor (ABS) and get computer reprogrammed for it to stop costing hundreds of dollars to do over the time that I have owned the vehicle I have learned to perform such task on my own. But I am sick and tired of every summer having to buy 4 50 dollar sensors and getting charged 125 dollars to redo the computer and not to mention when the Jeep decides to act up it put my child and mother to my child in serious danger never knowing when it will misfunction again and like many others I am upside down on the payments of the vehicle due to all the money invested.

- Cordele, GA, USA

problem #23

Jan 042016

Commander

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car jumps and then stalls when it is idling in reverse or drive. It also will accelerate on its own and the brakes are hard to press. This happens when the lighting bolt appears and the anti side lights on the dash, then the care either doesn't respond to pressing the gas and is harder to press the brakes. I have to restart the car for it to work. This all began after recalls being updated, it has been diagnosed as my power train control modual and that it has been recalled in other vehicles for the same reasons but there is no recall attached to my VIN according to Chrysler. Ive done research online and numerous other Jeep Commanders and other Jeep modules made around the same time are having the same issue. The problem is on going and has been for over a year but has gotten much worse after fixing of recalls a few months ago. The date below is estimate of when the recall was fixed.

- Missoula, MT, USA

problem #22

Jun 102013

Commander

  • miles
While driving down the road the vehicle engine shuts off; airbag light flashes on as well as dash lights. This has happened approximately 10 times in the middle of a eight lane highway in rush hour. It has torn my nerves all to pieces trying to drive it under these conditions so I had to park it and buy another vehicle. Need action soon. Started approximately 2 years ago and has progressively gotten worse. Notified Chrysler and was told to remove all keys from ring except switch key; did that and it still happens

- Waynesville, NC, USA

problem #21

Mar 142014

Commander

  • 76,000 miles
Often my whole electrical system will flash on and off and has since Jan 2009. Three times since March of last year vehicle has turned its self off while driving (complete steering loss), fortunately at low speed. Also, in 2010 ( I have repair receipt) my transmission control module went out. I had to pay a $200 copay per request of Jeep to have it replaced, after much argument. They said my particular 2006 Jeep Commander wasn't part of the recall, as was all other failing parts included on 2006 Commander recalls, excepting ignition. Still waiting on ignition fix, its been a year.

- Springdale, AR, USA

problem #20

Feb 192014

Commander

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my Jeep Commander on February 12, 2014. A week after I purchased it my check light came on so I took it back to the dealership. It was for my catalytic converter. The people in the garage stated it was just a sensor and not to worry about it I told them to fix it while it was still covered under my warranty. They wouldn't. the next day all of the dome lights and dashboard lights in my truck started flickering while driving down the road. (still does it to this day). Soon after my brakes went out on me while driving down the road with my kids so I had to get the calipers and everything changed. Next it was the windows they all stopped working. The end of January 2015, while driving down the road again with my children, all of the lug nuts and bolts fell off of my tire rear passenger side tire. I ended up calling the tow truck and took it back to the dealership where I bought it. $2500 and two weeks later I get my truck back, have it for a day & it starts jerking on my way to work. They fixed everything that had to do with my tires and suspension. They also inform me I need my catalytic converter changed after they told me not to worry about it it's just the sensor acting funny. (it could've been fixed when I asked them to do it while it was covered under my warranty) now my lights start flashing my wheel speed sensors aren't working and is messing with my ABS system and traction. They just tell me to shut the traction off while I'm driving it should fix the problem. I end up taking it back in the shop. A month later I'm driving home from work and my serpentine belt busts and I lose control of my truck. Another $500 dollar job. Present day, my truck is back in the shop for a routine brakes and rotors fix and they call and say I need my outer tirods fixed and rear axle something. I've put more money into this truck than I've paid for it in the past year.

- Salamanca, NY, USA

problem #19

Jan 132015

Commander

  • 149,000 miles
The first time was turning in store all dash lights and engine light on only had Jeep week, then find out recall take to Dodge, Chrysler they do not know how fix yet.next esp, bas and engine lights place I bought said bring Monday they will check it then on way home it cuts off while moving manage stop.we hope all this covered by Chrysler.

- Jacksons Gap, AL, USA

problem #18

Nov 032014

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
To whom this may concern, I called back in late 2014 about a problem I was having, I was told that when the part was made I would receive a call to bring my car in to be fixed. Well it keeps on happening again in January and now more then three time in February. I am now going to be in contact with a lawyer and together we will be documenting everything. I am a family of five and my car is not safe. Your company is giving me the run around and it is your responsibility. These things that are happening with my car is filed from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration with recall report electrical system, electrical system: Ignition: Switch and rear seat belts. My car keeps on shutting off. I have had myself and my children in the car when this has happened. I saved us too many times. There has been times when my car shut down and I lost breaks and steering. There was multi times when I am driving and all of my lights start going crazy. Now I have a problem that I tried starting my car and the lights go on but my ignition will not turn on the car. Another phone call was made to the corporate office and the dealership to complain again. We where told that they are still waiting for the parts to come in they are on back order. Every day I have to drive this car with and without my children we are at risk. Your responsible, I have had two other Jeep and loved them never had a problem like this before. So I don't know what else to do I need to work and Transport my children to and from different school/sports activities. If something happens to me or my family it will lie on you and your company. Enough is enough I am scared for my life and my children please help me!!!!!

- Stony Point , NY, USA

problem #17

Mar 302012

Commander 6-cyl

  • 96,084 miles
In March of 2012, I was driving my 2006 Jeep Commander V8 on a two lane highway.at the time of the accident, I had been decreasing speed, when the truck in front of me suddenly slammed on his brakes. However, when I pressed down hard on my brakes, my brakes/anti-lock brakes completely failed, causing me to crash into the truck in front of me. While trying to brake, my car stalled and continued to propel forward, causing a lack of steering capability, inevitably causing a crash, in which my air bags did not deploy. After the police arrived, I was able to start the car and barely made it home, having to push it several blocks. My SUV went into the shop for almost one month. After my SUV was fixed, including exterior and radiator, the SUV continued to overheat without cause and it was now considered a total loss. I was not prepared for my vehicle to be considered a total loss as the issues appeared to be minor. I endured major hardship as a result on this accident, including lack of work and occurred at an inopportune time for me to buy a new vehicle, resulting in a high interest rate and skyrocketing insurance, since I was considered at fault, despite lack of being cited due to vehicle issues. After 2 yrs, I finally was able to refinance my car; however, my insurance will remain high til Feb 2015 @$314 (35 mos). I did not realize why the vehicle's braking and stalling occurred as I was not made aware of the recall until July 2014! if recalls occurred in 07-09, why was I not informed prior to this accident" this accident could have been prevented! when I called to speak to Chrysler, they said that there was nothing that they could do because the car was scrapped. I do not understand why some people can be compensated for issues, but I am disregarded despite the ongoing hardship caused by a defect caused by Chrysler! is there anyone out there that can help!"

- Covington, LA, USA

problem #16

Nov 142014

Commander

  • 119,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving home on the interstate my vehicle's console started blinking in about 2 minutes later the console completely powered off shutting down my vehicle. I was going over a bridge there was no shoulder to pull out into. I held on wheel and prayed made it.3 miles samething happened again wheel freezes and brakes will not work. Almost caused cars behind me to slam into me. Thank god at this point I had already turned on my hazard lights and the cars had a good distance from me. I have never in my life been more scared. Iam the mother of two children and now refuse to put my kids in this death trap. I have contacted Jeep just to be told there is not a part yet for recall of ignition switch. This car is not drivable. Iam terrified and cant afford a rental or a new car. How can Jeep be allowed to make us drive this things. The recall has been out for several months and yet nothing has been done.

- Holly Springs, NC, USA

problem #15

Jun 152011

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
In June of 2011 I was driving down the fwy at 70mph when the engine turned off steering wheel locked and I has to coast off the fwy luckily it was night and little traffic (California is known for heavy fwy traffic. It started again early 2012 this time the transmission would not shift at appropriate times and rev the engine while maintaining speed in any gear and would do that for 5-7 days in a row and then run normally (this still occurs at least once a month) dealership and other mechanics could not find an issue and basically stated the engine was running hot and the fan had not kicked in no the case since this was winter time when it began. As recently as April of 2014 it began turning off completely when slowly coming to a stop anywhere on the fwy at a signal going uphill, downhill, parking in a parking space and this happens every day all day long - it never does not do it. At this time I have 117000 and it is very unsettling as I have a 7 year old son, a full time job and live in busy California - the fact that Jeep/Chrysler is unable to determine the repair needed is putting my family at risk day after day - I can barely afford and make ends meet and this has caused me much stress. I cannot afford to purchase another vehicle as I have tried for the past year. Please help me.

- Diamond Bar , CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 232013

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Sept 2013 -- stalled, shut down, no start. No restart. Piston was replaced. Car never worked properly after incident. Jeep would pulsate when slowing down or stopped. April 2014 -- stalled, shut down, no start. Car stalled while driving at approximately 25mph. Battery and solenoid/starter. June 2014 -- no start, transmission over temp". Jeep would start for very short period, over-heat and shut down. Hoses and water pump replaced. Blower motor replaced. July 2014 -- stalled, shut down, no start. Dealership can't find any problems. Had tune-up; replaced spark plugs, etc. Engine light on. Dash lights would come on and shut completely off while driving. After car was shut off it wouldn't restart. Windows wouldn't work or if they finally engaged would go up and down sporadically.car horn came on by itself and wouldn't shut off until relay was taken out. Sept 2014 -- stalled, shut down, no start.starter replaced, new battery. Car started hesitating while driving. Dash lights would all come on and then all shut off. When coming to a stop or slowing down car would lose power. While coming to an intersection to make a left turn on a green turn arrow car wouldn't engage to excel. My 7 year old daughter was in the car. I feared we were going to stall in the middle of the intersection of a busy street. All the dash lights came on and shut off repeatedly as we coasted around the turn. Got a new battery. Car still wouldn't start. Dealership replaced solenoid/starter. Sept 2014 -- hesitates, lights on dash on and off, engine light on, dealership can't find any problems. Again, dashboard lights came and all shut off. Jeep is/was hesitating while driving and not engaging / changing gears while driving. Also, periodically accelerates randomly while driving.dealership suggests replacing control module and having wiring harness diagnosed.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #13

Aug 162014

Commander 6-cyl

  • miles
Driving my Jeep Commander from topeka, ks to manhattan, ks drove on the high way when accelerated the vehicle began to jerk and or began a rocking motion. The vehicle jerked or rocked every so often not consistent but very randomly did not notice a pattern. The vehicle did not drive well and felt very unsafe to drive on the high way.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #12

Jul 022014

Commander 8-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
Below is what I sent to Jeep. I have their respondents in my email. I can proved as requested. This correspondence is to document my concern with the safety of my Jeep Commander; year 2006, make ltd, VIN [xxx]. there is an electrical issue that is causing various components of the vehicle to malfunction. Examples of these episodes are the following: The A/C cutting in and out, the dashboard flickering on and off, the speedometer flickering radically up and down, the audio center turning on and off, headlights to flicker, the turning signals to not correctly operate.? I recently replaced the audio unit because the malfunction caused the unit to blow. The problem has been occurring since 2012; initially the occurrences were rare but have been increasing in consistence and escalating since then.I tried addressing the issue on 6.12.2012 at chapman scottsdale autoplex.the problem continued. I tried readdressing 05.01.2014 at chapman scottsdale autoplex. I have incurred direct cost of approximately $275 and have supporting documentation to support. Chapman scottsdale autoplex is stating that I need to replace a dimmer switch for a cost of $229. I am not confident that is will resolve the issue and neither is the dealership. I originally purchased the vehicle at royal gate Dodge Chrysler Jeep, Inc. On 04.24.2009. I believe this issue is a matter that the manufacture should address and resolve. These occurrences are not routine maintenance items. I would prefer to address this matter without filing a formal correspondence to National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. I will be providing a copy of this correspondence to my attorney [xxx] & for record purposes. Please respond to this correspondence within seven business of receipt. I look forward to resolving this matter. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #11

Apr 172013

Commander 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Normal start up and driving. All dash lights, head lights, warning lights began blinking on and off very quickly for a few minutes until jiggling the ignition key a few times got all lights to stay on and warning lights to stay off. Car continued to run at the 35 miles per hour. Gauges were going from 0 to normal readings during this same time period. This has happened several times since this first incident. Did not notice quickly enough if the air bag lights were going on and off also but suspect that they were. All were in and out of alarm.

- Reading, MI, USA

problem #10

Jan 012013

Commander 8-cyl

  • 98,300 miles
Would driving like 25 mph the car stops and engine shot off also light coming on the inside and the air conditioned it does T work low you have to put it always until high the way it can start working also problem with the engine making a noise like rcrccrcrcrcrcrccrc like the manifold or exhaust problems this car is sooo weird I already took it to the private mechanic and they can T do anything cause the manufactured problems.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #9

Nov 272010

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
We were traveling home on the interstate going about 75 mph, and all of a sudden everything lights up on the dashboard, and my Jeep Commander starts shutting down without warning! we had to coast off of a exit ramp, and were thankful we did not get smacked from behind or killed! this is the third time that this happened to me. One other time I was taking my child to school, and it just shut off without warning while the truck was in motion, and I had to coast off to the side to a cvs pharmacy parking lot! another problem with this particular truck is that the door handles are poorly made. All of my door handles just started crumbling one by one and will not open from the inside. I have already put in a complaint about the door handles to NHTSA. The last complaint that I have is when it rains heavily, a huge puddle will dampen my passenger side because water is backed up in the sunroof drains. Jeep has cheated a lot of people with this Jeep Commander! it has too many problems to count and everything cost more than what the Jeep is worth! I will never deal with Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge again! they are a bunch of crooks! NHTSA please do something ! this broken door handle issue and shutting off without warning is going to get someone seriously hurt or killed!

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #8

Feb 152013

Commander 8-cyl

  • 94,389 miles
Jeep Commander stalls at driving speeds in which has almost caused 3 vehicle accidents, bas esp and traction control light is on and malfunctioned, all wheel drive malfunction. Dealer claims internal fault in front control module.

- Clinton, IA, USA

problem #7

May 192013

Commander 6-cyl

  • 0 miles
Was going to get gas turned on the engine would not turn over lights would not work. Tried to jump the the truck and it still would not start. It looks like it might be an electrical issue.

- Rock Island, IL, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?