Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Whenever a new product is introduced, there's bound to be some problems. And man oh man, does the 2006 Commander have some problems.

It's the plight of the 1st-generation adopter: you get the newest and shiniest in exchange for a handful of issues that get ironed out in future versions. But what happens when that handful of issues becomes a bucketload? The 2006 Commander has quality control issues like the door handles breaking off and the sunroof leaking. But what's truly worrisome is the electrical problems like the vehicle shutting down unexpectedly, gauges going crazy or the cruise control having a mind of its own.

Bottom line: if you want a Jeep Commander, you're better off looking at a later model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,403 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Commander brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Commander Owner Comments

problem #7

Feb 122011

Commander 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tla contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving approximately 30 mph, the brakes were applied and the anti-lock braking system suddenly engaged. The vehicle began to lose control until heavy pressure was applied to the brake pedal. During the failure, the anti-lock brake light began illuminating on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop where the contact was told there was a failure within the ABS. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure continued to occur intermittently. The failure and current mileages were 49,000. Updated 5/24/11 the consumer stated heavy pressure was the only thing that stopped the vehicle. Updated 06/06/11

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #6

Dec 052007

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,122 miles
November 24 evening leaving fuji (children in car) November 30 morning on way to work ? hit mailbox (baby in car) December 5 morning on way to work ? dies turning out of subdivision and stalls in middle of street (baby in car) there was one other instance when I had all kids with me?it was prior to Nov 24 but I do not recall the actual date all of the instances the engine stalled, the lights (when on) went out, I lost the ability to steer and brake as well. The mph ranged from 4 or 5 mph to 35 mph. There were times when it was warm and days that it was cold. Nothing seemed to standout as a possible "trigger" I took car to dealer after the November 24th incident. Tony in the service department said there was really nothing that they could do unless it was a problem they could "make happen" when they drove it. A few days later I wrecked into a mailbox when my Jeep stalled and I lost steering and braking capability....I am lucky it was not head on with a large truck or a tree.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #5

Sep 202007

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
I have experienced 3 separate accidents on May 31 2006, August 2 2006 and September 20 2007 with the 2006 Jeep Commander limited. I had just left the stop sign in the first accident and proceeded into the intersection of a 2-way stop. My vehicle stalled and I collided with a Grand Am. The driver of that vehicle has filed a civil action against me in which metlife auto & casualty has hired an attorney to represent me. I was found to be primarily at fault for this accident. The lawsuit is claiming I was negligent. The second accident occurred when I was turning around to get a better "shot" into a private driveway. I successfully turned around in a parking area across the street from the driveway and I was in the process of entering the driveway when my vehicle stalled and my driver side front bumper was struck, breaking the tie rod. The police and the other party's insurance found the other driver who was 93 to be at fault for the accident. The third accident occurred on September 20 2007, when I was attempting to turn left on a green light from a turn lane. I was in the process of turning left when another driver who was speeding collided with my vehicle which had stalled during the left hand turn. The passenger front bumper was damaged including a broken tie rod. The other driver's insurance has determined I am primarily at fault for that accident.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #4

Jul 272007

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. When the contact started the vehicle, the headlights and instrument panel gauges would not illuminate. He stated that the instrument panel gauges failed to work as well. When the steering wheel was turned in either direction without applying the brakes, the ABS would engage and the vehicle decelerated. The contact felt the pulsating vibration through the steering wheel and heard the ABS engage. The failure occurred while driving 25 mph and greater. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they were unable to duplicate the failure, however, they reset the codes in the vehicle. Two weeks later, while driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to a different dealer and they replaced the remote start module. The contact also stated that the check engine and four wheel drive lights would often illuminate and dim automatically. The current and failure mileages were 20,000.

- Donnelsville, OH, USA

problem #3

Sep 202007

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
My husband and I are leasing a 2006 Jeep Commander since Nov 2005. I have been involved in 3 separate traffic accidents on May 31 2006, August 8 2006 and September 20 2007. The engine stalled during low speed turns on both August 8 2006 and September 20 2007. I had just left a stop sign on May 31 2006 when my engine stalled in the intersection, resulting in a crash. I was cited for failure to yield on May 31 2006. I wasn't cited on August 8 2006 or September 20 2007, although the police report from the September 20 2007 accident describes a "failure to yield." I have also had ongoing tire pressure issues as well as intermittent brake failure issues. Prior to May 31 2006 I had never been involved in a traffic accident nor had I received any traffic citations. I am 48 years old. My vehicle was repaired twice after the first 2 accidents, but I am awaiting contact from the other party's auto insurer before proceeding with the repairs following yesterday's accident. I've brought the 2006 Jeep Commander in to bud mulcahy's Jeep on several occasions. That dealership is now closed.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #2

May 012006

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
A number of times we have had a temporary but a complete brake failure in the same spot in the same road. This has only happened after a cold start, with me driving. My wife has witnessed the failure twice, so she now knows I'm not crazy. The road is good and up hill, approaching a stop sign. The only consequences so far are some grey hair. The intersection in question is a 55 mph intersection. A number of times I have almost ran into traffic. Fortunately I approach the intersection slow enough to get off the road and stay out of traffic. The car has been back to the dealer 3 times. I am satisfied that the dealer has done everything in there power to fix the car. I have contacted the manufacture a couple of times about this problem. They could not care less.

- Dover Foxcroft, ME, USA

problem #1

Apr 122007

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,700 miles
My wife experienced brake failure and was forced to move into the left lane to avoid hitting the car in front of her. She was traveling at a low rate of speed, less than 10 mph, as she approached a stop light. The vehicle was on a slight incline, and the anti-lock brakes pulsated, then, the brake went completely to the floorboard. She immediately took the vehicle to the dealership, and was told that other customers had complained of the same problem, and daimler Chrysler had been contacted, but had done nothing to solve this obviously very dangerous safety problem.

- Terra Alta, WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?