Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Whenever a new product is introduced, there's bound to be some problems. And man oh man, does the 2006 Commander have some problems.

It's the plight of the 1st-generation adopter: you get the newest and shiniest in exchange for a handful of issues that get ironed out in future versions. But what happens when that handful of issues becomes a bucketload? The 2006 Commander has quality control issues like the door handles breaking off and the sunroof leaking. But what's truly worrisome is the electrical problems like the vehicle shutting down unexpectedly, gauges going crazy or the cruise control having a mind of its own.

Bottom line: if you want a Jeep Commander, you're better off looking at a later model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,962 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Commander electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 14 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #339

Mar 242015

Commander

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn causing the contact to crash into a pole. The contact did not specified if a police report was filed or if any injuries were sustained. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #338

Mar 242015

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fruitland Park , FL, USA

problem #337

Aug 132014

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contacts stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- North Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #336

Mar 022015

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Jeep Commander. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice. The consumer received the letter last summer. However, the letter stated the parts were not available and she would be contacted when the parts arrived. The consumer never heard back from Chrysler. The consumer stated at the time her daughter was involved in an accident, they were unaware of the ignition recall. Even though the vehicle was fixed, it continued to stall. Updated 09/23/15.

- Boone, NC, USA

problem #335

Apr 012010

Commander

  • miles
Vechile will turn off while running and brakes and steering will go out, randomly lights, ac and deck lights will flicker on and off. Over temp transmission goes off randomly.

- Gillette, WY, USA

problem #334

Mar 202015

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure yet. Updated 5/29/15 updated 7/7/2015

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #333

Sep 152014

Commander

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Angelo, TX, USA

problem #332

Sep 152014

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rockport, TX, USA

problem #331

May 302013

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 73,000. Updated 4/30/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 10/23/15

- Stratford, CT, USA

problem #330

Jan 202015

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 137,500 miles
While sitting at a traffic light, most or all of the warning lights came on, wipers came on, horn started honking and the engine stalled. The horn continued to honk, the wipers to operate as if I had turned them on, which I had not. Once I was able to restart the engine, the incident stopped and operated fine until the next occurrence. The second and third time this same thing happened; I was driving on an interstate, somewhere between 60 and 70mph, and all the above random things happened again, although the engine did not stall. The fourth time I was driving in Suburban traffic and stopped at a light, all the same things happened and the engine did stall. I was not able to stop the horn from blaring, nor shut off the high beams this time, even after the engine was stopped and the key was withdrawn. I had to disconnect the battery cable to shut off the horn and lights. Once I reconnected the battery, about an hour later, all was fine again. These 4 occurrences happened over the last ~2 months at random times in various traffic and weather conditions. It's frightening to think that I may be on an interstate in heavy traffic, and the engine stalls!

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #329

Sep 012014

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received a notice in the mail of a recall with the ignition switch. After contacting the dealer they still do not have the proper part for the repair in their inventory. On a number of occasions while driving I have gotten warning lights on my dash and vehicle stalling occurring which is a distraction. To this date I have not been contacted about scheduling a date for repair.

- Oshkosh, WI, USA

problem #328

Jan 262015

Commander

  • 54,000 miles
My Jeep Commander started having trouble skipping. There was a recall on the control module and the fix determined by Chrysler was to re-program it. I took it in to have the recall performed and the transmission check afterwards. When I arrived to pick it up, the dealership said the technician was out sick so all they could do was the recall. The car drove worse after I started home and failed to get transition between gears. I was forced to stop at the closest transmission shop. Their certified technician diagnosed that the transmission was bad. So, I had them they replaced it. When they went to test drive it, apparently the new transmission also failed due to the control module. They took it to the dealership and had a new control module installed. After repairing the new transmission, I was charged $4000. Whatever the recall "fix" for the control module was, it clearly was the cause for the transmission's destruction. The other recall for the ignition could not be done because Chrysler has no manufactured part to fix it. I sold the Commander the next day. I needed reliable transportation. The consumer stated she started having problems with the starter. Updated 04/06/15

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #327

Jan 152015

Commander

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving at 55 mph, the vehicle lost power. In addition, the contact stated that all warning lights on the instrument cluster panel illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The contact was unsure about what needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. However, the failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 106,000.

- Ashland, KY, USA

problem #326

Mar 112015

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #325

Mar 302014

Commander

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. In addition, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Hickory Creek, TX, USA

problem #324

Feb 232012

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 121,156 miles
Car continues to run after switch is turned off.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #323

Jan 132015

Commander

  • 149,000 miles
The first time was turning in store all dash lights and engine light on only had Jeep week, then find out recall take to Dodge, Chrysler they do not know how fix yet.next esp, bas and engine lights place I bought said bring Monday they will check it then on way home it cuts off while moving manage stop.we hope all this covered by Chrysler.

- Jacksons Gap, AL, USA

problem #322

Oct 012014

Commander

  • 110,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact indicated that while driving at various speeds the vehicle would sudden shut off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who indicated that the ignition switch was defective but the vehicle could not be repaired because parts needed for the recall were not available. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 14V438(electrical) was received in October 2014. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The failure mileage was 110,000. Jft

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #321

Dec 312014

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Montebello, CA, USA

problem #320

Mar 062015

Commander 8-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
My Jeep acts as if I turned the ignition off while going down the road. Today it did it again going down the highway at 65-70 mph. I have no additional keys on the key chain. My seat is slid back and there was no contact with my knee and the ignition switch. I have a 2006 Jeep Commander and have complained about this since 2007. There is a current recall (P41 / NHTSA 14V-438), that I was finally notified about by my dealer a year ago but there are still no parts available to fix the problem. How long should a known safety issue be allowed to go on without a fix. Should we wait for someone to get into an accident and die?

- Wilson, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?