Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Whenever a new product is introduced, there's bound to be some problems. And man oh man, does the 2006 Commander have some problems.

It's the plight of the 1st-generation adopter: you get the newest and shiniest in exchange for a handful of issues that get ironed out in future versions. But what happens when that handful of issues becomes a bucketload? The 2006 Commander has quality control issues like the door handles breaking off and the sunroof leaking. But what's truly worrisome is the electrical problems like the vehicle shutting down unexpectedly, gauges going crazy or the cruise control having a mind of its own.

Bottom line: if you want a Jeep Commander, you're better off looking at a later model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,962 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Commander electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 18 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #259

Nov 162014

Commander

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving at 75 mph, the vehicle stalled. The failure occurred on two occasions. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Sheridan, MT, USA

problem #258

Dec 162014

Commander

  • 113,843 miles
When trying to start the vehicle we may have to turn the key 40-50 times to actually get the vehicle to start! I have been to david stanley Jeep dealer/shop in norman this morning they will not even looking at the Jeep! I then drove to fowler Jeep in okc and they think it is the starter they want me to leave it with them 4-5 days and they are not even sure that will fix the problem! I've called Jeep customer care! they keep telling me that there is nothing that they can do until the part is made... but can't tell me how long will be until they get it made. The recall was made in June/July 2014 and it is December 16, 2014! so unbelievably frustrating!! as this is my family's only means of transportation!

- Purcell , OK, USA

problem #257

Aug 052014

Commander

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving approximately 35 mph, there was a sudden loss of engine power. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system ) however, the part needed for the recall repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #256

Sep 042014

Commander

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle lost power on several occasions without warning. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #255

Dec 012014

Commander 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Jeep Commander safety recall. Vehicles may experience unintended change ignition switch position while driving. The consumer stated authorization is needed to pay for the part.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #254

Jul 212014

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer stated that the part was not available for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 01/12/15 updated 4/26/2016

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #253

Sep 152013

Commander

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving 25-30 mph, the vehicle stalled and the instrument panel flickered. The vehicle was able to restart after numerous attempts. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the starter and battery were replaced, but the failure recurred. In addition, the horn activated independently. The vehicle was shut off and failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the spark plugs were replaced and a tune up was performed, but the failure recurred. While making a turn at 15 mph, the vehicle stalled and the instrument panel flickered. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where the solenoid starter was replaced, but the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the control module and tire harness needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. On another occasion, the contact stated that the transmission temperature warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where an unknown hose and the water pump were replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failures and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V203000 (power train), but was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The parts were not available to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was not available.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #252

Dec 082014

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pacific, MO, USA

problem #251

Aug 242010

Commander 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Jeep Commander defect of unintended change in ignition switch position while driving the consumer was involved in an accident on August 24, 2010. He believed the accident was the result of the now ignition switch recall.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #250

Sep 222014

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
I'm not getting anywhere with Chrysler company recall service. My 2006 Jeep Commander has a P41 recall on it, it will do all sorts of crazy and unsafe things when driving. Examples: The Jeep will not start, when starting it the ignition switch clicks, the power is on for everything. Jeep told me to put in drive and then back in park, then try to start it. That does not work. Driving down interstate the Jeep will shut off and the power steering goes out. Once pulled over it needs restarted and then it runs again. It also shifts to 3rd gear when coming off the exit ramp when speeding up to get on interstate, again I have to pull over and turn it off and restart it. This is very unsafe and now I have no transportation. Calling Chrysler, they said that they will not help or provide a rental car. They say every time I call it's not their fault that the manufacturer of the ignition replacement part is not escalating the order and there's nothing they can do for me. They want us to drive a very unsafe vehicle instead of providing us with a rental car. They also said that they have no time frame of when the part is to be available to the dealers so this issue can be corrected and that they can't just give out rentals to everyone without knowing when the issue will be fixed. I need help, I need a way to work and I need a safe vehicle.

- Bluffton, IN, USA

problem #249

Nov 262014

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 95,802 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While attempting to get on the highway the Jeep lost power at approximately 35mph from the on ramp on to the right lane of the freeway. All the lights shut off, all the gauges shut down, and the vehicle began to slow down. It lasted approximately 4-5 seconds, and after stepping on the accelerator, the Jeep re-engaged and was able to be driven to a safe destination. The Jeep is under recall P41 for ignition switch issues, which may or may not be causing the issues, but the parts are not available from Chrysler. The parts have not been manufactured and/or distributed. It is possible the vehicle has a bad control module. The recall for faulty control modules was issued Sept. 21, 2014 but this make and model was not covered in that recall... although it seems likely it is having similar issues.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #248

Aug 112014

Commander

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle stalled. The engine warning light also illuminated. The vehicle was restarted and taken to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. A month later, the contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they informed the contact that the part was unavailable. The failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 03/10/15

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #247

May 282013

Commander

  • 61,364 miles
All dash indicator lights would blink on and off; two times engine cut-off while driving on highway ( drivers knee was not near ignition key as a cause that has been blamed ). faulty ignition switch was diagnosed and replaced at authorized dealer [ monroeville Chrysler Jeep, monroeville pa., May 28,2013 ] at my expense. No problems since repair. Recall notice P41 /NHTSA 14V-438 for ignition switch received Sept 2014. Documentation of repair for reimbursement was provided as per requested information in recall notice. Chrysler customer assistance is refusing to reimburse ($211.45).

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #246

Nov 082014

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 151,000 miles
Driving down the road at 65mph and the speedometer and tach will go to 0 and then back up to operating speed. Warning lights on dash will come on and off along with the fan for heater and air. Chrysler recalled these exact issues in July stating " some Jeep Commander vehicles may experience an unintended change in ignition switch position while driving which may result in loss of engine power, power steering, and braking assist increasing the risk of a crash and disabling one or more of the vehicles safety features including the frontal airbags. Until this repair is completed the vehicle can be driven". my only question is for how long? how long until someone is injured or dead from the vehicle losing power. On Chrysler recall website for this vehicle it stated they were to issue another letter or information on this issue in September. It is now November.

- Franklin, IN, USA

problem #245

May 012014

Commander

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #244

Oct 012014

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer in reference to the recall, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the recall were not available. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Depere, WI, USA

problem #243

Mar 192008

Commander

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving approximately 50 mph, all the warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road and restarted. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was diagnosed by the dealer, but not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Stone Mountain , GA, USA

problem #242

Nov 142014

Commander

  • 119,000 miles
While driving home on the interstate my vehicle's console started blinking in about 2 minutes later the console completely powered off shutting down my vehicle. I was going over a bridge there was no shoulder to pull out into. I held on wheel and prayed made it.3 miles samething happened again wheel freezes and brakes will not work. Almost caused cars behind me to slam into me. Thank god at this point I had already turned on my hazard lights and the cars had a good distance from me. I have never in my life been more scared. Iam the mother of two children and now refuse to put my kids in this death trap. I have contacted Jeep just to be told there is not a part yet for recall of ignition switch. This car is not drivable. Iam terrified and cant afford a rental or a new car. How can Jeep be allowed to make us drive this things. The recall has been out for several months and yet nothing has been done.

- Holly Springs, NC, USA

problem #241

Nov 042014

Commander

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving approximately 55 mph, all of the warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel and the engine stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer informed the contact that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and the parts were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 91,000.

- Rockville Centr, NY, USA

problem #240

Jul 152014

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving approximately 40 mph, all of the warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, there was no remedy for the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Bowie , MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?