Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Whenever a new product is introduced, there's bound to be some problems. And man oh man, does the 2006 Commander have some problems.

It's the plight of the 1st-generation adopter: you get the newest and shiniest in exchange for a handful of issues that get ironed out in future versions. But what happens when that handful of issues becomes a bucketload? The 2006 Commander has quality control issues like the door handles breaking off and the sunroof leaking. But what's truly worrisome is the electrical problems like the vehicle shutting down unexpectedly, gauges going crazy or the cruise control having a mind of its own.

Bottom line: if you want a Jeep Commander, you're better off looking at a later model year.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,829 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Commander electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 21 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #194

Sep 272011

Commander 6-cyl

  • 73,171 miles


Electrical issue that is causing all dashboard lights to flicker on and off, heat/air goes on and off, audio center goes on and off all electrical functions go no and off. Dealership blamed my remote starter(which they. Installed) but turned out it wasn't and they have no idea what it is. Say they can't determine what it is unless it is happening when I bring it in. The interior door opening casing crumbles. Already had drivers door fixed because I couldn't open door from inside and was told all doors would eventually have to be done. Doors freeze due to poor drainage. Water collects inside door frame and running board, freezing all doors. If not for the remote starter, wouldn't be able to get in the car at all.

- Cranston , RI, USA

problem #193

Aug 152013

Commander 8-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Ignition switch defective. It moved from run to acc while making a right turn onto a onramp going about 30 mph. It turned off the vehicle just like the defective GM switch did. It was attached to other keys and may have been bumped by knee during turn.

- De Pere, WI, USA

problem #192

Jul 022014

Commander 8-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
Below is what I sent to Jeep. I have their respondents in my email. I can proved as requested. This correspondence is to document my concern with the safety of my Jeep Commander; year 2006, make ltd, VIN [xxx]. there is an electrical issue that is causing various components of the vehicle to malfunction. Examples of these episodes are the following: The A/C cutting in and out, the dashboard flickering on and off, the speedometer flickering radically up and down, the audio center turning on and off, headlights to flicker, the turning signals to not correctly operate.? I recently replaced the audio unit because the malfunction caused the unit to blow. The problem has been occurring since 2012; initially the occurrences were rare but have been increasing in consistence and escalating since then.I tried addressing the issue on 6.12.2012 at chapman scottsdale autoplex.the problem continued. I tried readdressing 05.01.2014 at chapman scottsdale autoplex. I have incurred direct cost of approximately $275 and have supporting documentation to support. Chapman scottsdale autoplex is stating that I need to replace a dimmer switch for a cost of $229. I am not confident that is will resolve the issue and neither is the dealership. I originally purchased the vehicle at royal gate Dodge Chrysler Jeep, Inc. On 04.24.2009. I believe this issue is a matter that the manufacture should address and resolve. These occurrences are not routine maintenance items. I would prefer to address this matter without filing a formal correspondence to National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. I will be providing a copy of this correspondence to my attorney [xxx] & for record purposes. Please respond to this correspondence within seven business of receipt. I look forward to resolving this matter. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #191

Jun 102013


  • 80,000 miles


As I was coning to a stop my car died this happened several times all while coming to a stop. I could hear a clicking noise and then the engine would just turn off. I would have to put it in park and restart the engine. Its very scary to think my car turns off for no apparent reason. They did a diagnostic but found nothing now my navigation display in the radio comes and goes to a blank screen. I assume it is all connected since the electrical system is all related. What next?

- West Long Branch, NJ, USA

problem #190

May 262014

Commander 8-cyl

  • 93,986 miles
All the light on my dash board have been flickering on and off for the past two months. It does not seem to affect my engine however it will completely take all gauges to zero while I am driving. I drove it last night and when it happened it killed my all my lights. I can hear a clicking sound when the flickering happens. It doesn't click continuously but enough to make me very uneasy.

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #189

May 162012


  • 50,000 miles
I was driving down a neighborhood street and re-adjusted my seating position. While driving, my knee slightly bumped the key and turned off my car while it was in drive. I then lost power steering and power brakes. Luckily I was moving slowly and could pull over and stop the car. I then tested it again in a parking lot and I determined that my Jeep shuts off every time I move the key with my knee, even while driving. Potentially very dangerous.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #188

Feb 122013


  • 63,837 miles


I was slowing down to make a right hand turn and the car shut off couldn't get it started had to have it towed and had to have ignition switch and assy. Replaced.

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #187

Apr 172013

Commander 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Normal start up and driving. All dash lights, head lights, warning lights began blinking on and off very quickly for a few minutes until jiggling the ignition key a few times got all lights to stay on and warning lights to stay off. Car continued to run at the 35 miles per hour. Gauges were going from 0 to normal readings during this same time period. This has happened several times since this first incident. Did not notice quickly enough if the air bag lights were going on and off also but suspect that they were. All were in and out of alarm.

- Reading, MI, USA

problem #186

Jun 202014


  • miles
There is a serious electrical problem with the SUV which started within. The dealers looked at it, I paid for computer diagnostics and still nothing. Besides all the lights flashing on and off, the speedometer fluctuating, actually all the instruments going on and off while I am driving; also, the temperature control panel does not light up when the headlights are on. I have never had an automobile with all these electrical problems that no one can fix. Please recall this vehicle before someone dies. I try not to drive long distances alone because of this problem. All this and more has been going on with the vehicle since I bought it in 2010. I've been given the same answer from many dealerships and auto zones with their computer diagnostic readings. Nothings wrong with your vehicle. I'm tired and want out of this thing. Breaks work and don't work too. To me its a lemon I got stuck with.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #185

May 292014

Commander 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
I hit the key with my knee and the car turned off. I was on route 50 in Maryland. Luckily I was going fast enough, approximately 60 mph, to pull the car off the highway to a safe spot. At first I thought there was an issue with the car. I was able to see that the key, in the ignition had been pushed to the off position. I was able to restart the car without issue. I just learned of the concern and I though it important to report this.

- Davidsonville, MD, USA

problem #184

Dec 092013

Commander 8-cyl

  • miles


I opened my car driver's door one morning to find two inches of rainwater on the floor near the pedals. Unable to find the source, I put my Jeep Commander in the shop. I was charged for them fixing the leak that never got fixed. I have had everything checked out numerous times & no one can tell me how water gets in. However inconvenient, I am parking my car in parking garages every time it rains now, given there seems to be no other solution. In addition to the leak, my Commander's radio/stereo just stopped working. I can't get it to turn on or work & and am now experiencing electrical problems having to do with window controls. After researching my options I learned that too often these same exact problems appear for many if not most Commander owners. (I also reported a major problem with this car stalling in it's own complaint.) these problems need to be analyzed by real professionals & the Jeep Commander must be recalled.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #183

Apr 252014

Commander 8-cyl

  • miles
Driving home from work yesterday, when my steering wheel suddenly locked and truck started dying, and I almost hit a guard rail. Turned the engine completely off and tried to turn the engine back on, but my truck would not start. Had the truck towed to the dealer that day 04/25/2014. Received a call from the dealer on today's date 04/26/2014; truck needs a new tipm module. A new tipm module was just put in my truck at the same dealer a few days short of a year ago (04/27/2013). Problem is so common with Chrysler that the module is on back order (nationally). There is no recall for this issue and it is seriously dangerous! I have read other complaints in regards to the tipm module (lawsuits as well). Does someone have to die before Chrysler does something? I am now afraid to drive my vehicle after the new tipm module is put in (whenever that will be) or to have passengers ride in my vehicle. Please please please help before someone is seriously injured or killed. I have no idea what I'll do to get back and forth to work because module is on back order and the dealer does not do loaners.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #182

Apr 022014


  • 70,000 miles
The vehicle randomly shuts off. The dash gauges flicker and/or go off for a brief time. If breaks are engaged at that time, ABS stops. If headlights are on auto, they turn off. If turning a hard left or right (such as turning into a driveway, turning on to a street, parking) power steering stops working. If the lights are on but not on auto the lights stay on. The radio stays on. These symptoms would indicate that there is a problem with the ignition switch. When this issue occurs, it seems to stop by pushing on the key. This has happened multiple times. After visiting this page, a log will be created to record date, time, and speed. This is a huge safety issue. After much research many users of internet forums for Jeep, complain about this issue (reference urls can be provided). The NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 sounds very similar in nature. Could the NHTSA look in to the parts being the same?

- Winterville, NC, USA

problem #181

Apr 022012

Commander 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
October, 2013 received notification that there was a safety recall on my 2006 Jeep Commander. (as I have 6 children, this was a priority to have fixed) I brought my Jeep into the dealership to have the N23 safety recall performed. Come January, 2014 I attempt to activate my 4 wheel low and I get a service light stating "service 4WD". I contact the dealership who had performed the recall and bring it in to be looked at. They run a diagnosis and determine the truck has an internal short in the transfer case. The service tech advised me it is related to the recall but he can not do anything at the dealer level. I need to call Chrysler customer service who tells me they will not be doing anything to help. Upon a little research (Jeep forums) it seems there are many (many) others with the same issues. I am sure I am not the only one to call Jeep with this issue and if you clear the codes the 4 wheel low engages so it is not a short. I believe Chrysler Jeep should look into what was performed with the N23 recall and determine how it effected the 4 wheel low on these vehicles. Then reprogram them to work, as they were, at no cost to the owner. Since this was a safety recall I felt I had no option but to have the recall performed on my vehicle now I have a faulty vehicle. Dealer tells me they need to update 4 wheel drive but cant do it because it is not in the recall this has gone on for way 2 long. I am going to file a complaint with the better business and I ask everyone with this same problem do it also please complain somewhere so something can be done.

- Edinburg , TX, USA

problem #180

Nov 012013


  • 80,000 miles
This vehicle has numerous recalls related to all the problems our Jeep has. There is 0 recall for our VIN. The vehicle surges when driving up hills. The car won't start sometimes because the shifter control thinks it is in drive when it is in park. The cruise control does not work and the 4 wheel drive kicks in when driving at high speeds and jumps the car.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #179

Oct 092013

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 98,007 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled then all of the warning lights illuminated. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was included in and repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 08V203000 (power train). The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 98,007 and the current mileage was 102,000. Updated 07/16/14

- Hingham, MA, USA

problem #178

Mar 242014


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact also mentioned that the electrical components intermittently failed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000. The VIN was not available.

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #177

Mar 162014

Commander 8-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
We started the vehicle and as we started to accelerate the lights in the dashboard and stereo started to flicker and as we went down the road for about 2 minutes it kept doing it not sure if the main front lights turned off also because it was daytime but now I'm scared of driving my vehicle at night time.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #176

Mar 112014

Commander 8-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
While driving the Commander at various speeds everything suddenly turns off. Acceleration is immediately decreased and all dashboard functions are gone. I have to shift to neutral and re-start the engine, all while still driving. This is very dangerous. I have had this car for 2 months.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #175

Apr 152013

Commander 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I purchased my 2006 Jeep Commander from city auto in memphis, tn on 9/14/11 and was told it was a one-owner vehicle originating from the state of Pennsylvania. I noticed hesitation in the transmission and variances (rough - up and down) in the idling shortly after my purchase. I then started to get the "transmission/engine" light coming on. But it would go away almost as quick as it would come on. I then had my engine stall while driving full speed on the interstate. I lost all power! fortunately, I was able to get over to the shoulder safely! we immediately started doing some research on various forums, including Jeep forum, on the "stalling issue" and "lights coming on intermittently". my husband took it to our local autozone and they hooked it up to their coding scanner machine. It gave us the code to change the map sensor needed to be changed. My husband changed this out last summer (2013). It helped for a little bit. :( then began having the same issues, stalling out while driving, check engine light coming on/off and rough idling. Husband went back and had them hook up to coding machine and this time was given the code for O2 sensor, which he purchased and changed out. Now it's worse than ever! it won't even stay idled. It stalls almost immediately! I have to keep my foot on the gas (and brake when needed) all the time! if I let it go below 1000rpms it dies! we took it to a mechanic & was told the PCM was bad. But he told us that there were recalls that may fix the issue. So we took it to a dealership who performed the recall but unfortunately it did not fix the problems. This is a very expensive "fix" to a problem that appears to have never have been resolved properly by the manufacturer!! this needs to be addressed by the manufacturer as it is a major driving & safety hazard!

- Marion, AR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?