Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Whenever a new product is introduced, there's bound to be some problems. And man oh man, does the 2006 Commander have some problems.

It's the plight of the 1st-generation adopter: you get the newest and shiniest in exchange for a handful of issues that get ironed out in future versions. But what happens when that handful of issues becomes a bucketload? The 2006 Commander has quality control issues like the door handles breaking off and the sunroof leaking. But what's truly worrisome is the electrical problems like the vehicle shutting down unexpectedly, gauges going crazy or the cruise control having a mind of its own.

Bottom line: if you want a Jeep Commander, you're better off looking at a later model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,838 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Commander engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 2 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #153

Sep 252011

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 2 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 06 Jeep Commander that has been completely shutting down while I'm driving. The rpms go up over 3 and 4 and the gears shifts from high to low. And also my engine light comes on and stays on.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #152

Sep 222011

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
I was pulling out of my driveway when all the instrument lights came on. I thought it had stalled! when I looked down, the ob data screen said AWD system failed. I put it in park turned off the key and tried to restart it and it would not. That's when I looked up and noticed a lot of white smoke coming from the front of my car! within a second it turned to black smoke! I smelled something burning. I hurried up and got my son and I out of the Jeep and backed away, and within a few seconds there was a pop and the Jeep engine compartment was on fire. We called 911.

- Whitehouse, OH, USA

problem #151

Sep 122011

Commander

  • miles
This has happened twice, I was driving home from work at 55mph with my new born child, and the engine shut off, the electirc shut off and the power sterring quit. The car behind me almost smashed into me. The Jeep came to a stop and then I turned the key and it turned back on. Please help me!

- Bollivia , NC, USA

problem #150

May 252006

Commander 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since the first few months that I owned this 2006 Jeep Commander it has randomly shut down while I am driving. I have noticed that it happens more often in the summer. It has been taken in and had PCM reprogramming, parts replaced, and other work. At the time we purchased it my husband was the GM at the dealership. The tech's tried everything. Since then the dealership has switched to another automotive group. I have contacted several Jeep service departments and many say there is nothing they can do. They are aware of the problem, but have no solutions other than what has already been done. I drive on highways with my two children often and several times it has cut off when speed limits where 65+ mph. I do not want to pass this problem along to another owner. I managed service departments for years and know how to react to problems, but I am concerned that Jeep has done nothing to fix this. I know of several other owners who purchased vehicles at the same time who had the same problem. Many have been traded in and now new owners are having to deal with this dangerous condition.

- Cedar Point, NC, USA

problem #149

Jan 012007

Commander

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated while driving highway speeds, or in a parking lot the vehicle would stall on an intermittent basis without warning. The vehicle was restarted within a few minutes. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who advised her that they were unable to diagnose the failure or duplicate it. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 6,000.

- Kailua, HI, USA

problem #148

Jun 102011

Commander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated the engine would sporadically misfire. The dealer inspected the vehicle and determined that the cylinder head was defective. The contact believed the failure to be a manufacturing defect due to the low mileage of the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 37,000. Updated 09/01/11 the dealer ran various test and indicated the failure was due to excessive carbon build-up. Updated 09/12/11

- Holland, MA, USA

problem #147

Apr 082011

Commander 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been having problems with my 2006 Jeep Commander stalling and the RPM idling..it continues to stall on me while driving on the freeway (70 mph) and on the surface roads. It has been at the cerritos Dodge dealership at least every two weeks since April 2011..they continue to fix something but tell me that car is fine and the next week it is back again. Even the service advisor told he that he didn't think I would ever put my kids in that Jeep again. I picked it up May 28th and was told that they cleaned the circuit board and that everything would be fine...needless to say, the Jeep is at the dealership again..they keep telling me that nothing is wrong with it, but yet, it stalled on me twice today. Once on the way home from work and on the way to the dealership...I keep asking Chrysler and Jeep Corp for help because this Jeep is dangerous and they refuse to help me because it is out of warranty. It has been at the dealership at least 5 times since April 8, 2011. Please help me, I have all the documentation to support my concerns...I have spent alot of money getting this Jeep repair and it still stalls....please help me, I am concerned about my family's safety.

- Ca, CA, USA

problem #146

Jun 012008

Commander

  • 51,493 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated the vehicle was taken to the dealer on June 6, 2008 to have campaign id number 08V203000 power train: Automatic transmission: Control module (tcm, PCM) recall repair performed. The repair did not correct the failure. While driving 45 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to coast off of the road and apply the emergency brake. The failure occurred several times. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer repeatedly for the failure. The dealer reprogrammed the computer, replaced the ignition switch, and the map sensor was replaced twice. The repair did not correct the failure and the vehicle continued to stall without warning. The manufacturers report 20824940 was filed and they stated they would like the opportunity to repair the vehicle, but would not replace the vehicle or give the contact her money back. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 51,493 and the current mileage was 115,000.

- Shelby, NC, USA

problem #145

Apr 122011

Commander

  • 36,000 miles
2006 Jeep Commander their are 3 problems which I believe are all interrelated and probably have something to do with electrical system. Firstly, the car 75% will not start, will not crank, and all you will hear is a clicking noise. Secondly, the car while idling in traffic will lunge forward with higher RPM (with my foot off the accelerator mind you) luckily I have been able to brake in time each time it does that. The only problem is that when I apply the brake the car will then stall and the nonstarting problem will reoccur. Lastly and most dangerously, the vehicle will cut out/stall at highway speeds - 65-70 mph. This has happened numerous times to me (while going around dangerous curves and thank god I have been able to control the vehicle). I have called Chrysler numerous times and their only advice is to bring it into a dealership for a 'diagnostic' where they try to replicate the problem. I have done this and believe they keep trying until the problem does not replicate because it does it almost every time with me. Chrysler has a serious problem with this vehicle. It is not only a hassle but a life safety issue. There are thousands of postings on the internet just like mine and Chrysler still will no acknowledge the problem. This car need to be 100% recalled and taken off the road as it is a death trap. I would like to sell my car but I cannot morally sell this dangerous car to another unsuspecting customer. Please help with this problem. There are thousands like me who are being told off by Chrysler. This problem must be resolved or deaths will certainly occur.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #144

Dec 012009

Commander

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while braking to a complete stop, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure was experienced numerous times and the vehicle would restart after several moments. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic but was unable to generate any failure codes. The manufacturer was contacted and a complaint was filed but no other assistance was offered. The vehicle was not repaired and the VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 62,000.

- Pittsburg , PA, USA

problem #143

Mar 262011

Commander

  • 62,244 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As my mother was getting onto the 105 East fwy the engine made a loud bang and rumbling noises. Immediately following the engine completely turned off and the car was still in motion. The brakes were functioning properly thus my mother was able to come to a full stop on the shoulder of the fwy ramp. All the engine oil was spilling out of the vehicle. Once the car was towed to the dealer, they said the engine had a hole and not repairable. The car is barely 5 years old and purchased new. Last oil change was done on 3/16/11 and the auto center did not report any engine issues.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #142

Feb 182011

Commander

  • 73,412 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While the contact was driving approximately 55 mph, the engine stalled with the illumination of the engine warning indicator light. The engine restarted and the vehicle operated normally. The failure recurred on a two separate occasions. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis, and continued to remain for further investigation. The failure mileage was 73,412.

- Rockwell, NC, USA

problem #141

Mar 262011

Commander 8-cyl

  • 62,244 miles
As my mother was getting onto the 105 East fwy the engine made a loud bang and rumbling noises. Immediately following the engine completely turned off and the car was still in motion. The brakes were functioning properly thus my mother was able to come to a full stop on the shoulder of the fwy ramp. All the engine oil was spilling out of the vehicle. Once the car was towed to the dealer, they said the engine had a hole and not repairable. The car is barely 5 years old and purchased new. Last oil change was done on 3/16/11 and the auto center did not report any engine issues.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #140

Mar 032009

Commander

  • 96,000 miles
TL. the contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated while driving 40 mph the vehicle starts to stall. The contact has not taken the vehicle to the dealer and the dealer could not find a problem with the vehicle. The contact then took the vehicle to a local mechanic and the mechanic stated the stall could to cause by something electrical. The contact stated this is a safety issue that could cause a crash. The failure mileage was 96,000.

- Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #139

Dec 012010

Commander

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact was driving approximately 30 mph when the vehicle suddenly stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted after several minutes. The failure recurred intermittently and the vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was advised that the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #138

Dec 012010

Commander

  • 65,200 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall intermittently when coming to a complete stop. She would then wait several minutes before being able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer and they advised her that they could not diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was contacted but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 65,200. The VIN was unavailable.

- Zalparaiso, IN, USA

problem #137

Jan 172011

Commander 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the instrument panel lights all illuminated, the vehicle hesitated and then stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle yet the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop where the contact was advised that the vehicle software would need to be reprogrammed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where repairs were made under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V203000 (power train: Automatic transmission: Control module -tcm, PCM) yet the failure was not repaired. The dealer advised that the vehicle would need to be diagnosed to determine the exact cause of the failure. The vehicle was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The failure and current mileage was 100,000. Updated 03/29/11 updated 05/09/11

- Goliad , TX, USA

problem #136

Jan 102010

Commander

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving approximately 5-10 mph, the vehicle stalled suddenly. The contact shifted into park and restarted the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer but the failure could not be duplicated. The failure occurred daily. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer 3-4 times but the failure still could not be duplicated. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000 and the current mileage was 67,000.

- Warrenton, VA, USA

problem #135

Nov 152008

Commander

  • 30,000 miles
On several occasions the Jeep's engine has completely shut off while driving down the highway. The Jeep has been taken to several dealerships but no problems have shown up on the computer diagnostics, so service techs won't touch it. This is very unsafe, Chrysler will do nothing with the V6 only the V8.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #134

Oct 262010

Commander 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact pulled over and after several attempts, was able to restart it. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer but the failure could not be diagnosed. The contact also stated that the vehicle would experience a hard shift and hesitation when she tried to accelerate. Updated 5/9/11 the consumer stated when she attempted to start the vehicle, the ignition key would not start the vehicle, it would take several more times to try and get the vehicle started. Also, when acceleration, the vehicle would hesitate and then stall. The transmission was making loud noises when shifting and the transmission light has since illuminated. The tail light lamps seals were broken and water was seeping inside. Updated 08/22/11

- Atlanta, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?