Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Whenever a new product is introduced, there's bound to be some problems. And man oh man, does the 2006 Commander have some problems.

It's the plight of the 1st-generation adopter: you get the newest and shiniest in exchange for a handful of issues that get ironed out in future versions. But what happens when that handful of issues becomes a bucketload? The 2006 Commander has quality control issues like the door handles breaking off and the sunroof leaking. But what's truly worrisome is the electrical problems like the vehicle shutting down unexpectedly, gauges going crazy or the cruise control having a mind of its own.

Bottom line: if you want a Jeep Commander, you're better off looking at a later model year.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,838 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Commander engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 9 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Nov 252006

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 350 miles


: the contact stated while traveling 25 mph, the vehicle stalled, nearly causing an accident. The service dealer was contacted, but could not duplicate the problem to correct the issue.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #12

Nov 012006

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
: the contact stated while driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled intermittently without warning. It was maneuvered off the road and restarted immediately each time. The vehicle was driven to the dealer on several occasions, however the problem could not be duplicated. Updated 11/30/2006 -

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #11

Aug 142006

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,100 miles
Was driving down the road going about 50 mph when the car just shut off!!!! took it in and the dealer couldn't find anything wrong we are taking it into the dealer tomorrow.

- Estacada, OR, USA

problem #10

Sep 202006

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,454 miles


Driving on highway traffic came to almost a complete stop and engine stalled. Put vehicle in park keyed off then restarted. This is the second time the engine has stalled while driving. Service department indicates nothing will be done if problem can not be duplicated.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #9

Sep 212006

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,500 miles
: the contact stated while driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning on several occasions. It restarted immediately and was driven to the dealer on two separate occasions where the problem could not be duplicated.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #8

Aug 262006

Commander 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving at highway speed (60 mph) the entire vehicle stalled out/shut down. We lost all power in the vehicle. We had to stop the vehicle in the middle of the road and re-start the ignition. This has happened 3 times in the 2 months we have had the vehicle. The dealership is looking at the vehicle next week 9/22/06. We have also had a wind leak in the drivers side window and after 2 failed attempts to fix the problem they still cannot offer a solution. Will look at again next week.

- Westerlo, NY, USA

problem #7

Jul 232006

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles


1st occurrence of the stalling/dying: 7/23/06. Vehicle was moving at a slow speed making a right hand turn. The vehicle lost power (no response when pushing on the gas pedal and the power steering also failed). Driver had to put the vehicle into park from drive, turn the key to the off position and then back to the start position. The 2nd occurrence was on 8/9/06 12:30 pm. At a stoplight on a hill waiting to turn left. The light turned, the car in front of her accelerated and when driver took her foot off of the brake to apply the gas and the car began to roll backwards. After this occurrence, driver called the dealership and spoke with a svc advisor. Driver described the symptoms and they said they had heard of this happening on some other Commanders and that they knew the part that typically fixed it. Driver made appt to bring in for service. Vehicle dropped off 8/10/06. Call from svc dept. 8/11/2006 and stated tech tested found a bad map sensor. They replaced the sensor and said the problem should be resolved. The 3rd occurrence happened on 8/15/06 7:40 am. Driver was stopped waiting for traffic to clear to make a right turn onto highway 212 from 222nd drive. At this point, driver called dealership and asked to speak with a service adviser and said she would be bringing the vehicle back in as it wasn't fixed. The 4th occurrence happened 8/15/06 5:50 pm while the vehicle was in motion on highway 217 driving to the northwest Jeep dealership. Driver was in slow rush hour traffic- 5-10 ph. Depressed the gas pedal to accelerate to keep up with traffic and the car just continued to coast with no acceleration. She had to put the vehicle in park, turn the key to the off position, start the car again and then stop on the highway to put car back into drive.

- Gresham, OR, USA

problem #6

Aug 042006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
Jeep Commander stalls at stop signs.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #5

Aug 142006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,530 miles
On three occasions (July 22, Aug. 2, August 14) my 2006 Jeep Commander has stalled while I was driving. These incidents all occurred while I was slowing to a stop. On two of the occasion I was slowing to a stop on an incline. When the incident occurs the power steering shuts off and the engine stops. The automobile restarts after the transmission is put in park. The dealer indicates that the on-board computer detects no failures and that they were unable to replicate the incident.

- Oxford, PA, USA

problem #4

Aug 142006

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles
Brand new 2006 Jeep Commander 3 weeks old. I was getting off the express way on a curve and my vehicle shut off and steering locked up almost drove off the road with my wife and kids and this has happened 3 times already, its a risk to my family. I think something should be done about this issue, I did my research and I not the only one with this same problem. I have taken the Jeep to the dealer and I was told they can not duplicate the problem so I can not be fixed. Help!

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #3

Jun 012006

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,200 miles


I have purchased a 2006 Jeep Commander. It has 6000 miles on it. At 4200 miles it started stalling for no apparent reason. It has done it in stop and go traffic and has done it when I was traveling at 35 mph. Other Jeep Commander owners are experiencing the same problem. See Jeep Commander thread at To date dealers have not been able to diagnose the problem. Stalling in traffic presents a very serious safety problem.

- Haymarket, VA, USA

problem #2

Jul 122006


  • miles
Vehicle completely stalls and shuts down while matter what speed. It happened to me at 45 mph as well as 25 mph. When this happens there also is no steering.....almost got into a serious car accident due to this repeated problem. Have taken to get serviced and they can not find anything wrong.

- Hartland, WI, USA

problem #1

Apr 242006

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,512 miles
Vehicle, Jeep Commander, 2006 traveling at 70 mph on interstate had an instantaneous total loss of power, engine shut down, all gauges went to zero, lost all electrical power, lost power steering control, and power brakes, vehicle veered to the left across lane of traffic and came to a stop in the median. This was a near-miss I don't know which component failed. Updated 05/04/06

- Pineville, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?