Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Whenever a new product is introduced, there's bound to be some problems. And man oh man, does the 2006 Commander have some problems.

It's the plight of the 1st-generation adopter: you get the newest and shiniest in exchange for a handful of issues that get ironed out in future versions. But what happens when that handful of issues becomes a bucketload? The 2006 Commander has quality control issues like the door handles breaking off and the sunroof leaking. But what's truly worrisome is the electrical problems like the vehicle shutting down unexpectedly, gauges going crazy or the cruise control having a mind of its own.

Bottom line: if you want a Jeep Commander, you're better off looking at a later model year.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,357 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Commander transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Aug 212009


  • 45,317 miles


Torque converter broke apart causing transmission failure at 45,300 miles.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #30

Jul 282009


  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While at a stop light, the vehicle suddenly surged forward and then stalled. When the contact examined the vehicle, she noticed that it will shift into the drive gear, and could only be driven in third gear. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 59,000.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #29

Jul 232009


  • 65,000 miles
Have a 2006 Jeep Commander. Lights have been flickering and car has not wanted to start. Found that battery was not holding charge and replaced. Now we drive at speed and the engine begins to race while not increasing speed. Have taken to dealer in cincinnati, northgate and they reset computer but before we could leave the bay area it started making a grinding noise and the check engine light is back on. They say the are going to have the transmission guy look at it and get back to us. I read hundreds of complaints on your site and the majority of them are describing problems that are very similar over the last 3 years. Don't you have enough complaints on this that Chrysler should be doing a recall? after all the government is now deeply invested in Chrysler.

- New Palestine, IN, USA

problem #28

Jun 162009


  • 41,000 miles


I have a 2006 Jeep limited Commander. I bought new. In less than 9,000 miles I had the car in the shop 3 times for transmission issues. Then in July 2007 the transfer case had to be replaced, stalling my family in the middle of hwy 71 going 65 mph. After that the hard shifting continued and I took to shop three other times. All that was said is can't duplicate problem. Yesterday with 41K miles on the car, all of the gauges went out while driving. No tac, no speed, ac went out. Very bad and very dangerous. Jeep knows about the transmission issues and will not fix properly.

- Galena, OH, USA

problem #27

Feb 012007

Commander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving various speeds, the vehicle would jerk and all the instrumental panel lights would flicker. The failures have occurred ever since the vehicle was purchased. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and they continued to state that the engine and transmission failed. The vehicle was repaired five or six times under warranty within the past two years. Recently, the vehicle would not restart after it was turned off. The failure mileage was 26,000 and current mileage was 80,000. Updated 062909 the dealer discovered the front pump and torque converter were damaged. The number 6 cylinder misfired and the coil was cracked which was allowing water to get into the plugs. Updated 07/02/09.

- Follansbe, WV, USA

problem #26

Apr 152009


  • 2,555 miles
Recall notice from Chrysler. Took Commander into shop for repair. After 4 hours, technician stated that unable to download program from corporate computer to fix. Need to bring car back later. This is the second time for a recall, and our car has been in there a total of 4 times for safety issues such as broken seat belts. It has been there a number of other visits, starting at 2555 miles, for defective windshield mount, defective gas fill line mount, and defective windshield wiper fluid pump. Previous hazards were handled, but resulted in a good number of days of at least 6 hour services. Now, after 4 hours, this service is not completed and I have to bring the car back again.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #25

Mar 252009


  • 62,000 miles


Bought vehicle 3/31/06 new now has 60,000 miles. The vehicle has had numerous instances with stalling while driving. All the instrument panel lights will light up and headlights will switch on/off to high beams on their own. Will lose powersteering and there seems to be a change in acceleration. On March 20th I was traveling at approx 30 miles per hour and lost power but the instrument panel lights did not go off as usual. I pulled off the road and parked vehicle. Had my step-father come to assist and he stated there car didn't seem to want to go gear properly, assumed this was due to the prior "electrical" problems and drove Commander to dealership approx. 1 mile away. Was told there was a plug in the transmission leaking where the electrical wires enter, cost to repair $430. After completing those repairs was told the transmission is destroyed and needs replaced at $3500. Chrysler is not offering any assistance to an obvious manufacturer issue. Stated I knowingly drove a vehicle with low transmission fluid and am negligent.

- Cumberland, MD, USA

problem #24

Feb 102009


  • 51,000 miles
While merging onto the highway when I try to accelerate there is not power. There is boxes around all gears (prnd). The display flash "service park assist". then check engine light comes on. Called Chrysler said to take to dealer and find out what the repair will be. Dealer said it was a U0404 code invalid data received from gear shift control module and a P0700 code transmission control system. This module is $700 and Chrysler said it was helping me out and doing me a favor by letting me just pay $200. I have found this exact problem mentioned on multiple Jeep forum sites. My parents have replaced the same part and my brother is having the same problems now. I've talked with Chrysler asking why I should have to pay for a part that is malfunctioning in a unsafe manner and was told it hasn't been recalled yet.

- Monongahela, PA, USA

problem #23

Nov 152008


  • miles
My 2006 Jeep Commander stalls. I purchased the vehicle 2 months ago and the Jeep has stalled around 10 times to date. I took the Commander to barton Jeep here in spokane...they said they "flashed" the computer. They said this should fix the problem. Nope! stalled 3 times in the last week (which is when we got the Jeep back from barton Jeep). My concern is that my wife could get into a serious accident if the vehicle decides to stall on the freeway or somewhere else. Please help me!

- Spokane Valley, WA, USA

problem #22

Nov 062008

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The vehicle was parked in the driveway with the gear shifter in the park position. The contact exited the vehicle and it suddenly began to roll without assistance. The vehicle failed to slow down and rolled approximately 1,500 feet across the street, down a hill, and crashed into a deck at another residence. The vehicle turned onto its side. There was an occupant in the rear passenger seat. The air bags failed to deploy with the massive impact. The failure occurred without warning. The occupant sustained minor injuries and there was personal property damage. The vehicle was completely destroyed. The police and ambulance were called to the scene and a police report was filed. The failure and current mileages were 60,000. Updated 03/18/09. Updated 03/19/09.

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #21

Dec 012007


  • 23,000 miles


I bought the 2006 Commander used in August of 2007 with 13,000 miles on it. It ran great, no complaints. In the winter-time, I noticed when I started it after it had been sitting for several hours, then put it in gear, stepping on the gas pedal would do nothing but rev the engine. A few seconds later it would kick into gear and go. I contacted the dealership who said it just needs time to warm up, it's winter and the car is cold. When spring rolled around this was still occurring. One day I was traveling down a hill, heard a big clunk and then the gear shift would only register 3, 4 and 5. no 1 or 2. I brought it in and they replaced the solenoid. The problem didn't come back right away but came back eventually. I've had the problem ever since December of 2007 and on Monday I'm taking it in for the 4th time to drive with yet another technician so they can guess at what the problem may be. Problem is, I'm at 35,400 miles. Once I hit 36K I'm sure they'll discover the problem and then I'll have to pay for it.

- Hampton, IL, USA

problem #20

Nov 212008


  • 29,446 miles
While driving, there is a loud grinding noise coming from front drivetrain(?). vehicle bucks and engine shuts off. Electrical power also shuts off. This is the third occurrence of such an incident, and all the info submitted here pertains to this 3rd incident.

- Long Valley, NJ, USA

problem #19

Nov 212008


  • 44,368 miles
2006 Jeep Commander with 5.7L hemi stalls while driving at all levels of speed without warning. All power is lost, and I had two instances of this occur within one week while making a left turn. Three visits to the dealer via tow truck in two weeks and after I was told it was done yesterday, six miles into my ride home, it happened again. This is a life threatening situation. Build date is 5/06. All tsbs have been applied to no avail. Need help!!

- Lake Zurich, IL, USA

problem #18

Oct 272008


  • 62,139 miles
Additional problems reference ODI complaint #10244597. Received car back from dealership ran fine for two weeks. The car is now stalling on the highway at 40 mph near our home. Thank god I was able to get the car to the side of the road. Then the park assist service light came on and went off again. I got the car home. My husband took it out. The transmission was slipping and not shifting into higher gear. Today taking the kids to the bus it stalled again. When I was able to restart, I put my foot on the gas and the car hesitate, almost causing an accident. I have pretty much decided on voluntary repossession, as my kids are worth more than the deficient balance.

- Milford, PA, USA

problem #17

Aug 202008


  • 35,000 miles
My truck has been experiencing "extreme idling" after the powertrain control module (PCM) was re-programmed 2 months ago. My truck revs up and down very fast, so much, while in park, or stopping at a red light, that it is causing my truck to burn alot of gas faster. I still experience my truck stalling while making turns, which completely turns off the truck's power, which causes me to lose control steering.

- Oak Park, IL, USA

problem #16

Aug 232007


  • 35,000 miles
Doors leak rust on the hinges now, knocking sound in the engine, be driving down the road all of sudden the Jeep will not shift all gears are lit up have to stop shut down for 5 to 10 min. Then will be ok been in the shop 10 times told I had electric lifters put a piece of weather strip in the door to fix leak they say rust is normal reset the transmission and a leak on it replaced motors to power windows still don't work right.

- South Pekin, IL, USA

problem #15

Jul 262008


  • 22,230 miles
Received a notice for a computer software recall in my Jeep Commander. # weeks later the cars stalls while driving losing all control. Took it in again updated software. Driving in Maine 55 mph whole system shut down while driving. Restarted after 10 min. Stalled and shut down again. Towed to Jeep dealer in Maine. Now I am renting a car to get home then will have to come back and pick up my car. This is not just a simple recall I could have been killed or have killed someone else on the highway. I am getting rid of this vehicle as soon as possible.

- Newport, RI, USA

problem #14

Jul 222008


  • 37,700 miles
Our 06 Jeep Commander has been a nightmare since the day we purchased it used with 14K miles on it in 3/07. We continue to have problems with the dash lights coming on, stalling just today 7/22- the lights lit up and the air conditioner quit working!!! no fan no blower... nothing. It has been brought in for the recall for this but it keeps happening. Oh and did I mention that autopark Jeep in cary, nc sold me a lemon/buyback.... they gave me the carfax report after 30 visits to the service dept.... fool me once, fool me twice... I am hoping that Jeep will buy it back again for this complete lemon!! I know have 37K on it and the service dept was talking that they did not know if Jeep would cover the work.... they can keep it..

- Fuquay Varina , NC, USA

problem #13

Jun 262008


  • 28,790 miles
This is an update of my previous post. My 2006 3.7 liter Commander 4X4 has been at the dealer since Monday the 7th. When I took it in it had been stalling now and then, the engine light was on and the display "service park assist" had came on the day before I took it in. On the way to the dealer, it shut down no breaks, steering, nothing. The dealer tested it and said it gave them a code U1400 which was the tcm module. They replaced it and told me to come and get it on June 9th. I picked it up and on the way home, going up a slight incline about a block fro the dealer, it shut down again, and started rolling backward down the hill, and all I could do was pull the emergency break and pray that it still worked, it did. After three tries, I got it started and took it back to the dealer, who put a computer on it as soon as I got there, they told me I would have to get a ride home, and the next day called and said it needed ECM module, they also told me that they contacted Chrysler and they had a 1000 piece backlog on them. I asked them what I should do for Transport, and they told me I should call Chrysler because the car was unsafe to drive. They also told me that there had been a major recall on the 2006 4.7 liter Commander for the same problem, but not the 3.7 models. The dealership has been great, but Chrysler has been unreal to deal with, they simply do not care about the customer, and have been no help. I called the dealer today to let them know that Chrysler told me the part would be ready for delivery on July 18th, but my guess is that if there's 1000 backordered, it will be some time before I will get mine. I guess we will see.

- Powell, TN, USA

problem #12

Jun 252008


  • 26,000 miles
I bought my 2006 Jeep Commander in 2006 as a demo with 18,000 miles on it. I really didn't drive it that much as you can tell by the mileage on it and it has only had three oil changes. When it reached about 20,000 miles it stalled on my way to work and I called and spoke to a tech where I bought the car, he told me that I had probably gotten some bad gas. Then two weeks ago it stalled again and the engine light came on for a day, then it went out. It came on again and stayed on and it continued to stay on, and "service park assist" displayed on the dash. The dealer where we bought the car is 20 miles from where we live so I made an appointment with a Dodge dealer about 3 miles from my home. On Monday July 7th when driving there for the appointment, I was making a left hand turn and it shut down, no brakes, no steering, no lights on the dash, nothing. I got to the side of the road and it re-started after 3 tries. I made it to the dealer and they called my today and said it was ready and they had to install a tcm module. I went to pick it up, and on the way home, it did the same thing again, the only thing it didn't do was display the engine light, but the stalling and the "service park assist" came back on. I took it back to them and they hooked it back up to the computer and told me I needed to find a way home and they would call me tomorrow. They didn't know what was wrong with it yet.

- Powell, TN, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?