Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,027 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Commander electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 16 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Nov 162010

Commander

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at slow speed such as slowing to stop or taking off from a dead stop the truck stalls and has to be put in park and restarted. This happens quite frequently, and when driving on interstates when trying to accelerate the truck also stalls or has a power failure where it almost feels like it its a governed speed and the engine won't let you speed up. The computer now is having issues saying that the engine coolant is too cold, thought the thermostat is working fine as well as the gauges inside the truck. The computer is also giving a code of an error with the barometric pressure.

- Antwerp, OH, USA

problem #20

Dec 202010

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart by turning the key back and starting the engine. The failure occurred on an intermittent basis. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic who informed the contact that they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was contacted who offered no assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 102,000. The consumer also stated the driver's seat tilts backward on its own. The remote unlock and lock buttons only worked on occasion and finally water would enter the vehicle when it rained. Updated 03/09/11 updated 06/16/11 updated 06/23/11

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #19

Jul 202010

Commander 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Jeep Commander. Consumer states that the vehicle made a loud noise and all warning lights indicated the shift indicator. Mechanic replaced the esim. Consumer states the problem has returned. The consumer stated on October 23, 2010 as he was entering a parking lot at a very low speed, preparing to stop, he was unable to stop and jumped the curb and a fence.

- Oxford, NY, USA

problem #18

Nov 152010

Commander

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Leaving a parking lot and accelerating as I drove. All of the sudden the vehicle started stalling and would not accelerate even if the gas pedal was pushed. The check engine light came on as well. Then the vehicle started accelerating back to normal, but the check engine light reamined on. I took it to auto zone to have a diagnostic check done and they gave me a code and said that it was not a part that they carried only from the manufacturer. It has happened a couple of times before today and on the dash it would say service park assist and the gears prndl are all highlighted.the same thing happened to me about 2 years ago and it was the shifter. It only had about 40,000 miles. It had to be completely replaced. It was not covered by my extended warranty because it was an external part of the transmission. It cost close to $600. Now it is happening again and I don't want to replace it again if it is going to happen again in a year or two.

- Kingsville, TX, USA

problem #17

Sep 292010

Commander 8-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
I have a 2007 Jeep Commander. The right rear tail light and inside dashboard panel has been consistency going out for over a year now. The fuses keep blowing. The car has been in the dealer service department several times. Even after lengthy consults with engineers at Chrysler, they cannot fix the problem. Maybe they need to get high on marijuana and drink beer to find the problem. The car is currently in the shop again.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #16

Oct 062010

Commander

  • 56,000 miles
Engine stalls, and turns off.....had to pull to side of road due to loss of power. Prnd lights lite up....and feels like trans dis engaged. At 35,000 miles had the shift module replaced under warranty. It's at 56,000 miles and its doing the same thing....not covered by warranty. I feel that if I fix it now. Again....a year later the problem will still be there. Happend 4 times in month...not safe to drive.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #15

May 012010

Commander

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated when driving in rainy weather, all instrument panel lights would intermittently illuminate while driving at various speeds. The failure would cause the speedometer and fuel level indicator to give inaccurate readings. When the fuel level indicator would read empty, the vehicle would stall, despite there being fuel in the vehicle. The instrument panel would reset itself to normal after several minutes. The manufacturer advised to have the vehicle diagnosed, because the vehicle did not have a recall, and they are not aware of the failure. The dealer stated the failure could only be duplicated while the vehicle was experiencing the actual failure. The contact had not yet taken the vehicle to the dealer for diagnosis. The failure mileage was 49,000 and the current mileage was 52,100.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #14

Mar 232010

Commander

  • 42,000 miles
2007 Jeep Commander, started with "service park assist" light coming on along with the check engine light. Took it in for service, they could not determine the problem so they reset the system. Two days later the same thing began to happen again, along with the lights around the P N R D on the display coming on all together, the car also then began to not want to accelerate after a certain point. Almost acting like it was not wanting to shift to the next gear. This happened for 8 months, still no service was done because they were unable to recreate the problem. It began to occur while driving and coming to a stop and starting to go forward again. Causing problems crossing intersections or traffic. Have now been told to replace the transmission control module, which we did. This did not fix the issue. In the last week were told to replace the electronic shift module.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #13

Mar 102010

Commander

  • 77,000 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) 2007 Jeep Commander [xxx] turn the ignition key and does not want to start, did it in October 2009 and March 10th 2010. All power is on, lights, radio, boosted battery, this is not the issue, it finally turned on idled extremely high, I turned it off and tried to start it over and over and over and would not start. By reviewing the internet other owners of the 2007 Jeep commnader are experiencing ;stalling and the car not starting, it appers to be an alternator issue, but Chrysler is saying they don't know why this is occurring. My car was towed to South point Dodge, in austin Texas for diagnostic analyzing, they have not told me what the problem is. I am concerned if this issue is nationwide and Chrysler has not done a recall. This is a major safety issue if cars are stalling on the highways and not starting, could cause a death. Please look into this matter immediately. [xxx]

- Lockhart , TX, USA

problem #12

Feb 082010

Commander 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. Whenever the contact drove the vehicle between 45-50 mph and accelerated, the vehicle suddenly shut off without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the failure could not be reproduced. The failure occurred after replacement of the water pump. The current and failure mileages were 55,000. Updated 4/5/10 updated 06/18/10.

- Arlington, WA, USA

problem #11

Feb 152010

Commander

  • 70,105 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission stalling while driving- according the dealership service this is a problem with the electronic shift module. This has happened several times and is also a noted problem in these vehicles. This same vehicle has already been recalled for similar issue, but only for the bigger engine size. Chrysler has informed me that they will not investigate even though it is the same problem in a different engine size. The vehicle can be traveling at 70 mph on the interstate and stall without warning. It will not go any further without stopping, turning off the engine and restarting. This happens several times daily. I have tried to get fixed and work with the problem, but after almost being rearended by an 18wheeler on the interstate today, enough is enough. It is for 2007 Jeep Commander 3.7lt.

- Franklin, GA, USA

problem #10

Aug 132009

Commander

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep commandeer. While driving above 30 mph the vehicle began shaking and shut off. He was able to restart the vehicle; however, the engine warning light illuminated on the instrument control panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, and the ignition control switch was repaired under warranty. The failure recurred after the vehicle was repaired. The dealer was notified and the technicians advised him that the vehicle should not be brought in for inspection. The failure mileage was 26000. The current mileage was 27993.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #9

Jan 102009

Commander

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact attempted to restart the vehicle, but was unsuccessful. On a separate occasion, while driving less than 15 mph, the driver attempted to pull into a parking space and all of the electrical components failed. He was able to restart the vehicle, but once it was placed into reverse, the failure recurred. In addition, the check engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel once the vehicle was restarted. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer, but they could not duplicate the failures. The dealer suggested not to drive the vehicle and stated that the failures may have been related to grounding in the wiring system. No repairs have been made to date. The failure and current mileages were less than 38,000.

- North Andover, MA, USA

problem #8

Mar 192009

Commander

  • 18,000 miles
This is my 2nd complaint to you guys about this frightening and dangerous issue of my Jeep Commander engine stalling problems. I almost had another accident by driving 35 mph and the engine just stalls, power and lighting flashes on and off, then fails. No power over the car and the steering wheel locks up! the car behind me had to veer sharply to keep from running into the back of me. It was an unexpected stall for other vehicles as well as myself. I have tried to get help, but to no avail. I am scared to continue to drive this dangerous auto and need some help either replacing it or Jeep to take it back! also, it still jerks forward, (with my foot on the brake!) while I'm sitting at a light, almost hitting the pedestrians walking in the crosswalk in front of me. There are many complaints on the internet with very similar and like complaints and no one is doing anything about it. I guess they're waiting for a tragedy, instead of trying to prevent one. Please advise.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #7

Dec 172008

Commander

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle shut off. The road conditions were not a factor. While decelerating, all of the indicators on the instrument panel flashed and the vehicle shut off. The contact was able to maintain control of the vehicle. The failure occurred intermittently and the dealer could not find any failures. After the failure occurred, the vehicle would immediately restart. The vehicle is currently at the dealer and they still cannot determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer could not seem to troubleshoot the issue. The failure mileage was 33,000. Updated 02/10/09 updated 02/11/09.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #6

Dec 022008

Commander

  • 23,000 miles
I own a 2007 Jeep Commander at about 10,000 miles it started to stall and turn off. Dealer did not replace any parts only flushed the on board computer and updated the software. Months later it started to do the same thing. Dealer did not find anything wrong and performed the same task of flushing the computer and updating its software. Two years and 23,000 miles and the car is having the same problem. I have an extended warranty so I'm going back to the dealer, but I don't think they we fix the problem.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #5

Oct 262008

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving approximately 30 mph on normal road conditions, the engine stalled unexpectedly while proceeding to a complete stop. The engine restarted after several attempts with the gear shifter placed in the neutral position. The warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The failures occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and they stated that the failure was related to the electronic control unit (ECU). The dealer reprogrammed the ECU; however, the failure recurred on a separate occasion. The vehicle currently has not been repaired. The contact was concerned of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 38,000 and current mileage was 40,200. Updated 01/07/09. The consumer stated several components were replaced, but the stalling continued. Updated 01/08/09.

- Sudbury, MA, USA

problem #4

Sep 102008

Commander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving approximately 10 mph, the engine stopped running without warning. The contact had assistance with moving the vehicle to the side of the road. After several attempts, the engine restarted and the vehicle was driven to the contact's residence. The RPM's raced without pressure being applied to the accelerator pedal. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The computerized system was reset, but there were no resolutions. The failure occurred on three separate occasions. The vehicle has not been repaired for the malfunctions. The contact was concerned of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 3,000 and current mileage was 14,000. Updated 11/07/08

- Providence , RI, USA

problem #3

Mar 012008

Commander

  • miles
When I try to accelerate my vehicle hesitates and then shuts off. The lights on the dashboard illuminate but the car is no longer running. This happens at least once a month and has been in for service and the problem has not been corrected.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #2

Jun 202007

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving between 50-60 mph, the transmission failed and the vehicle shut off. The vehicle was able to be restarted five minutes later. The contact has taken the vehicle to the dealer on three occasions. The dealer stated that the cause of failure was due to the key in the ignition, the transmission, and the converter needed to be changed. The current mileage was 13,200 and failure mileage was 9,000. Updated 03/04/08. Transmission fluid was leaking from the valve body connector area.

- Harperwood, MI, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?