Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,027 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Commander electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 8 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #181

Sep 112014

Commander

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pleasant Prairie, WI, USA

problem #180

Apr 302015

Commander

  • 109,000 miles
I was coming to a stop and my car shut off on its own while in "drive". over the past several months this has happened on several other occasions where my car just shuts off on its own while driving, usually while driving at a low speed under 15 mile/hr. On other occasions I have lost control over my power steering and the steering wheels locks up, again usually at a low speed. I know there is a recall on my vehicle because we received a letter in the mail but when we contacted our dealer (ansonia fitspatrick Jeep) we were told the part was not yet available and that we needed to wait until we received a other notice / letter when the part comes in. This is very concerning and unsafe!!!!

- Oxford, CT, USA

problem #179

May 012015

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Albion, NY, USA

problem #178

Apr 272015

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 84,440 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought the car 5 months ago. I started my car to go to work, everything started on except the car. Took out the key and try to turn it back on, nothing. Later on the day, my husband turn the car on and it came back on. The next day, the car wouldn't start, but again the radio, the lights, windshield wipers are on, except the car.

- Manitowoc, WI, USA

problem #177

Apr 302015

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pea Ridge, AR, USA

problem #176

Oct 012011

Commander 6-cyl

  • 51,968 miles
Right after purchasing this car in 10/2011 the Jeep would randomly cut off or lose power, not sure if this an electrical issue. Due to the randomness of the issue, they could not duplicate the problem when I brought in the car. After going back to the dealership the manger at the time wrote/promised that his establishment (reliable auto) would repair/fix the issue if it occurred again (within a year or 12,000 miles). After a years time the issue still continued, but now I cannot bring it in to be fixed w/out being charged. Whenever I pushed down on the pedal to accelerate, the car could not accelerate past 25- 30 mph! this would occur while I was already in motion, or at a light. Felt like the car was, "stalling" and the service park assist message would appear. I would try to shift the gear but nothing changed, the car still would not accelerate. This happened on multiple occasions. Sometimes the next day the car would drive just fine, other times the problem, "fixed itself" within a few days. Every time I took the car in they had a difficult time duplicating the problem. My check engine light would also illuminate but when checked no codes could be found. Super frustrating and scary to deal w/ this. In July/Aug 2013 the problem got worse when I was involved in an automobile accident. Took the Commander to Chrysler/Jeep and they were able to identify an electrical/shiftmodule problem. One of the reps. At Jeep told me this been common w/ Jeep Commanders. Before I had the Commander, I owned a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee, purchased brand new in 2005. Great car but had some electrical issues, when on, my headlights would randomly start flashing. In my experience, Jeep look good but come w/ too many issues. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #175

Sep 132014

Commander

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Green Brook, NJ, USA

problem #174

Apr 012014

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 52,815 miles
I am 74 years of age and at the time of my husband's death four years ago purchased a 2007 Chrysler Jeep Commander which now has 53,815 miles. I began experiencing problems with unexpected complete loss of power on both interstate highways and residential streets over the last year. These occurrences have increased in frequency at varying times when driving within the last six months, and most terrifying on the interstate where I was faced with the realization of deceleration and cutoff at the speed limit of 55 mph. I received a safety recall notice (P41/nhtsa14V-38), round or about April 2, 2015 from Chrysler group llc informing me of the vehicular problems described I am experiencing, Chrysler group's recall notice makes a clear and specific representation that repairs would performed to correct the vehicle's defects free of charge when it is returned to the dealership. Accordingly, southfield Chrysler was contacted to schedule an appointment to diagnose the problem and ordered parts on or about April 6, 2015. I have been waiting for the part(s) for nearly three weeks. On April 24, 2015 I again contacted southfield Chrysler after the vehicle hesitated to accelerate and was informed the manufacturer: "Chrysler either will not, or has not, sent the parts need to fix the problem, " contrary to the language of the notice. Southfield Chrysler will not perform repairs without payment for the parts. Southfield Chrysler has taken the position: "if I pay for repairs the manufacturer will reimburse me, " which continues to leave me subjected to injure and/or death. I do not have the available funds to pay for repairs, relative to living on a fixed income and specific and very limited budget. It is clear to me that the manufacture and dealership will not perform responsibly to address a serious life and death that they are clearly aware exist. A complaint is proper.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #173

Jul 012014

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000(electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #172

Apr 242015

Commander

  • 115,000 miles
After 6 hours of car resting (overnight) it would not start. The engine will not crank and will give the transmission over temp indication. The battery dcv is $12.30 plenty for an start. Where I live there is no snow nor the outside temp was hot ( the incident happened early morning with a cool outside temp of 76 degree F). After couple attempts it crank and start where the alternator charge the battery maintaining a dcv 14 plus. After one minute of idling I turn it off and try again, where it give the same error. Making the vehicle unreliable on the street.

- Miami Gardens, FL, USA

problem #171

Apr 222015

Commander

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bartlesville, OK, USA

problem #170

Apr 162007

Commander

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. In addition, the instrument panel lights would intermittently fail to illuminate. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts needed were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 56,000.

- Charlotte , NC, USA

problem #169

Sep 292014

Commander

  • 147,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While at a stop light, the vehicle accelerated and stopped without warning. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that there was a faulty ignition switch that needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 147,000...updated 05-27-15

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #168

Apr 142015

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/26/15 updated 05/29/15

- Cocolalla, ID, USA

problem #167

Sep 012013

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
The ignition switch position makes unintended position changes while driving. This has happened on several occasions and has resulted in two near-miss accidents. Additionally, on occasion, the switch won't allow the car to start, and all power is dead despite a new battery. We have been dealing with this issue for a long time. Received recall notice in Sept 2014, but Chrysler contends that part is still not available, and that the car is safe to drive. This car is not safe to drive! I have called Chrysler group recall assistance center at 1-800-853-1403 multiple times and have waited for an hour on a couple of occasions without a pick up. This is also not acceptable. Please help!

- Clarendon Hills, IL, USA

problem #166

Apr 012014

Commander

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. After shutting off the vehicle, the contact was unable to restart the engine. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The contact indicated that the notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) was received in September of 2014. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- Detroit , MI, USA

problem #165

Mar 262015

Commander 8-cyl

  • 70,202 miles
My wife and I were coming out of a parking lot in rowland heights turning right unto colima blvd. The car, a Jeep Commander 2007, shut off all of a sudden. This car has been recalled(P41) but because no parts are available it has not been fixed by Chrysler. This is not the first time this has happened but it was the first time with my wife in the car. It was a good thing there was no traffic at this time (about 4:00pm) I called the dealership we deal with and also sent a letter to the traffic safety administration in Washington D. C. I was contacted by Mr. Jim burke and we set up a time to meet March 31 at the Chrysler dealership in victorville. According to Mr. Burke he is not associated with Chrysler. Mr. Burke inspected the car on the 31st of March. It also happened on the morning of March 31st about 100 yards from our house the car shut off again. This is about the fifth or sixth time this has happened. The first time through the fourth time it was always late in the evening usually on a Saturday. I'm really frustrated with this process. My wife is right why send out a recall notice if no part will be available? I would like to get my car repaired so that we are not involved in an accident due to this recall by Chrysler.

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

problem #164

Apr 012015

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that according to the notice a second notification will be sent in September of 2015. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Chamberlin, SD, USA

problem #163

Jul 302014

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While at a stop light, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and all the warning lights on the instrument panel illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part need to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 6/30/15

- House Springs , MO, USA

problem #162

Nov 092014

Commander

  • 105,850 miles
While driving on highway at cruising speed, the entire instrument cluster suddenly lit up, and the vehicle shut down, resulting in loss of engine power, power steering, and brake boost power. Vehicle had to be pulled on the side of the road and restarted. This was reported to the dealership the same week. They told me that this was part of the P41 recall and that no parts were available. This vehicle is already under P41 / NHTSA 14V-438, first announced on July 18, 2014. Now four months later (9 in total) Chrysler has not taken any steps to remedy this issue. NHTSA should take steps to resolve this faster.

- San Clemente, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?