Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,708 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Commander engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #76

Sep 012014

Commander 8-cyl

  • 107,000 miles


I was driving my 2007 Jeep Commander, 5.7L hemi at approximately 25 mph on interstate 16 at approximately 2200 hours with my two minor children seatbelted in the back. We were approximately 150 miles from home. There was heavy traffic due to a holiday weekend, road construction, and rainy weather. I recognized a problem was occurring because I could not accelerate, and my attention was diverted from driving because I was trying to figure out what was happening. I realized that the engine had cut off without warning. There was no power to anything, and the vehicle was very hard to steer and to stop. I pulled over to the side, placed the vehicle in park, and tried unsuccessfully to restart the engine. I was able to check under the hood and I found that the oil level was in the normal range and the oil appeared clean. The antifreeze in the reservoir was in the normal range and there was no bubbling. The transmission fluid, power steering fluid, and brake fluid were also within normal ranges. After another try, it restarted, then there was a loud metal clanking sound then copious smoke coming from the tailpipe, then the engine light came on flashing. The temperature gauge registered normal. I turned the truck off and started making phone calls with thunderstorms and severe lightning complicating the situation. We arranged for a tow truck to Transport us to a nearby hotel, and the next day I towed the Jeep back home using a uhaul truck. Mechanics have determined that a piston head is damaged and cracked and the Jeep is currently in the shop having a new engine installed. They did not find an obvious cause for the damage to the piston. There are two significant problems: The engine stopped without warning, and the engine failed prematurely. It is unknown if the problems are related to each other.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #75

Sep 262014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Georgetown, IL, USA

problem #74

Jun 122013


  • 87,000 miles
I have had this issue for over a 1.5 years. I've only had the Jeep for 2 years. It has progressively gotten worse. The vehicle jerks and putts, the engine light comes on eventually flashes and the car shuts off. Chrysler Jeep has not, to this day, been able to diagnose the problem even with Chrysler engineers. They have kept my car for weeks at a time to no resolve. They have tried replacing multiple parts just to see if it works. On a few occasions I have almost been hit due to the vehicle stalling out. I have been told that Chrysler corporate will no longer assist me with this case.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #73

Aug 232013

Commander 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles


I have a 2007 Jeep Commander I first started having an idling problem in August 2013. I took in to allen samuels they did a tune-up it was fine until March of 2014. The check engine light came back on I took back to allen samuels for idle problem & stalling as well. They did a diagnostic test they first stated fan clutch, had a fan clutch installed. After a week later still stalling took back to allen samuel they then stated wiring harness $1300 & them keeping it a week with no loaner. Soon as my mom left the dealership couldn't even make it home which was 10 miles away the check engine light came back on next day back to dealership by it being a Saturday no skill tech in is what I was told. Called Chrysler because I saw a recall on stalling engine. Tuesday back to dealership Chrysler called allen samuels they stated not the same as the recall. Allen samuel kept my truck several days then stated water in tank. They emptied tank & clean it. I had service manager test drive before leaving its was still stalling was told to change gas fuel, drive a couple of days & bring back. Called Chrysler again to complain they advised another dealership. Took it to the dealer they recommend after am extensive diagnostic test for $300 I was told to see the sales manager for a new vehicle. I since have had fuel injectors cleaned, spark plugs changed, boots changed, new battery, new water pump. It is still idling & stalling. I really would love for someone to be able to tell me what is wrong & repair it before someone gets killed.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #72

Sep 142014

Commander 8-cyl

  • 6,200 miles
Driving at 58-60mph car stalled very briefly, a second or so, chimed once and then kept going, after about 1/2hr driving same speed my car did the exact same thing, stalled, we actually lurched forward in our seat, then 40 min later car did it again. 3 times total. I pulled off the highway and shut my car off and then drove without problems.

- Princeton, IL, USA

problem #71

Sep 132014

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 99,752 miles
9/13/14 at 0945, the vehicles engine light came on and vehicle started stalling. Vehicle was taking to Firestone and diagnostic service(engine analysis). Mechanic stated that they could not find anything wrong beside the throttle body was dirty. We had the throttle cleaned. 9/13/14 at 1325 while traveling on multi-lane free way. Vehicle stalled and choked smoked. Vehicle was able to start and merge on to an exit and stalled again, several time before we were able to move out the way of traffic. Had vehicle towed to another Firestone. At that time another engine analysis was completed. After a few hours we we're inform that cylinder 1, 2, and 4 were lost/failed. Also that it would not have been notice during a normal check-up and that they could not fixed it was a manufacturer issue.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #70

May 042010

Commander 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles


While driving my 2007 Jeep Commander limited edition 4X4 at various speeds car stalls without warning. All power features including steering wheel lock and check engine light comes on. Forced to maneuver to shoulder if possible (dangerous) put the car in park and then re-start. Same problem has occurred approximately 50 times since 2010. Have sought information from dealer and independent mechanics and attempted to repair at my own expense to no avail. Mechanics have been unable to replicate the problem while on road tests, which is expected since the stalling is unpredictable. The most recent occurrence was 8/5/14 - complete engine stall while driving (approximately 40mpg), steering wheel and all other power features locked in the middle of traffic. Put the car in park then re-started.

- Edgewater, MD, USA

problem #69

Jul 152014


  • 152,000 miles
I was driving down the highway and check engine light dings and vehicle comes to a stop, I was able to drift off to the side of the road but steering was locked up. Engine completely shut off. After about 5 mins I was able to restart engine and now the check engine light bas and traction control lights are on.

- Maugansville, MD, USA

problem #68

Mar 032014


  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact mentioned that the vehicle would restart immediately. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 130,000 and the current mileage was 132,000.

- Hesperia, CA, USA

problem #67

Apr 112014


  • 76,000 miles
The engine turned over several times but would not start. Had car towed to my mechanic. Valve six of the hemi engine (5.7 liter) was destroyed beyond repair due to a loosened valve seat. Had to have engine replaced at a cost of about $7500.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #66

Feb 012014

Commander 8-cyl

  • 52,000 miles


I purchased this used Jeep on January 7, 2014. One week later, the Jeep stalled in traffic on the highway. Then stalled the next day on a local street while my teenagers were driving to school. Then stalled in traffic the next day while I was turning onto a local street. Then stalled again pulling into the driveway. The car was at the dealership for six weeks. They replaced the ignition switch, coils, computer system, wiring system, throttle. I picked the car up at the end of March, 2014. The car was working fine until this past weekend. It stalled again in traffic while my son was driving with four passengers in the car on April 26, 2014. It stalled again while I was driving the car on Sunday April 27, 2014. The car was towed to the dealer on April 28, 2014. This vehicle could have caused a fatality. It is not a safe vehicle for anyone to drive.

- Reading, MA, USA

problem #65

Dec 142011


  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle resumed normal function after being restarted. The failure had occurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Sealy , TX, USA

problem #64

Sep 102007

Commander 6-cyl

  • 100 miles
I called the dealer (walnut creek Chrysler Jeep) in 2007 that my engine made a stalling noise when I started the engine, and they said not to worry about it (I purchased the vehicle in May 2007, so only a few months later). I moved the car to ct, and to tx (warranty companies continue to track my address, no word of recalls, they almost stalk me, I have the mailings to prove it, which I would like to opt-out from; only use an E-mail for recalls). For months, and years, I have been complaining that my vehicle has been accelerating usually while stopped at a traffic light, it stalls while driving, the front panel lights flicker even shut off (seems running on auto Pilot), the engine self-shuts off for no reason. I even asked dealers if there were any recalls, they said no. I heard that many people had their front panel vehicle lights flicker erratically, also the self-accelerating and self-stalling problems with their vehicles. The thought that my car had been hacked crossed my mind (many studies show that this can happen); I contacted my insurance company, and also the state police Agency regarding a drivers license and Agency documentation fine print about research. No accidents, but the above problems continue to affect my vehicle (the panel lights "some what" slowed down, but the self-acceleration, self-stalling continue, and self-shut down continue. I have driven my vehicle for approximately 35,000 miles, and purchased it new in May 2007. Is this a safety issue? note: Do not post or distribute my personal information, or upload to a public database. Please keep my personal information private. In addition, I do not want to be pestered with more warranty offers; I have no idea how they obtained my physical address.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #63

Mar 222014


  • 173,597 miles
Transmission over temp. Car starts no problem. Some smoke from under vehicle

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #62

Jan 012010

Commander 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Early 2010 I experienced issues with the engine light, "service park assist' and all my gears lighting up at once, and not being able to accelerate in the middle of 65mph traffic!. after researching the 'symptoms' and talking to several mechanics it was discovered the esm 'was bad' and was replaced. It began at approx 55,000 miles. I went thru quite a process with Chrysler over this issue. Long story short, now...amazingly after another 60,000 miles (coincidence"?") I need to have it replaced again as all the same things are happening" Jeep usually last a long time, and this is not an issue with maintaining my vehicle or how I I will have to potentially replace it again and again? of course Chrysler tells me its not a known problem with the vehicles yet just on this site and looking for the exact complaints I find no less than 45 of the same complaint and at least another 100+ that are probably the same just worded differently. How many complaints does it take to have a company pay for and replace defective parts? does it take a certain number of fatalities?" I honestly don't understand how it just gets ignored fort years and years. On top of that, the work has to be done at a dealer due to certain tools needed, and its no less than $1000 to replace. How convenient for the company.

- Waite Park, MN, USA

problem #61

Dec 172012

Commander 8-cyl

  • 6,061 miles
My 2007 Jeep Commander vehicle had problems with idling and stalling, car would cutoff while driving between 35-60 miles and as well during idling. This had been an on going problem since 2010 though 2012 and then some time before. I officially for the record file this complaint understanding that many Jeep owners had this same problem many times over although the Chrysler corporation never did a recall regarding this problem pertaining to 2006-2008 Jeep vehicles which was and is such a disservice to the consumers.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #60

Feb 042014


  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while waiting at a traffic light, the vehicle stalled as all of the warning lamps illuminated. The contact mentioned that he was able to restart the vehicle which resumed normally. The contact stated that the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer however, the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 130,000 and the current mileage 130,526.

- Mcmurray, PA, USA

problem #59

Feb 042014


  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while traveling 60 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact stated that the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be replicated. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 114,000.

- Monticello, IA, USA

problem #58

Jan 292014


  • 73,800 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated while traveling various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing or to be repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 73,800.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #57

Dec 122012


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer however, the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Wheeling, WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?