Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,745 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Commander electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 8 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Jan 012009

Commander

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact also stated that the failure occurred while at a complete stop. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where two diagnostics were performed but the failure could not be replicated. The vehicle was given a gas treatment but the failure recurred. The failure was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 08V059000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 42,000 and the current mileage was 104,000. The VIN was not available.

- Lexington , KY, USA

problem #18

Jul 162012

Commander

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that after shutting down the vehicle, it failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnosed that the win module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 63,000.

- Supply, NC, USA

problem #17

Jul 292012

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. The contact was traveling 10 mph when the vehicle stalled and failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer stated that the keys and wind module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and they stated that the VIN failed to qualify for the recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V059000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were unknown.

- Reford, MI, USA

problem #16

Apr 292011

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 36,203 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine stalls: Engine stalls randomly, at a light, around a corner, and even on freeway at 70 mph. Engine will not restart after a stall until the key has been removed from the ignition. I have had at least 15-20 stalls since I have owned the vehicle. Transmission jerks: This started in the last few months. Transmission disengages while driving down the road then suddenly reengages, jerking the car forward. Sometimes the car will continue ok, sometimes the engine will die. Electrical issues: Not a safety issue but maybe related, I have had numerous problems with my nav system going dark (won't display until engine restarted) - lost settings. Rear dvd has totally gone out. Dealer says there is a code for "lost communication with radio" due to an open short. Last incident: 04/11/2012 (51000 miles): On interstate 75 mph - took foot off the accelerator to slow down and felt like the engine had died (lost momentum and was coasting). I applied the gas and the RPM's O the engine increased but the car did not gain speed. Felt like transmission had disengaged. The car jerked forward like the transmission reengaged. Momentum was returned for about 1 second then disengaged again. The second time, the engine died and I had to coast to the side of the interstate. Car restarted and I was able to continue down the road. After driving for another 3 hours, the "service 4WD" message came up on the display. Pulled to the side of the road, turned the car off and back on, same message came up. Continued driving to my destination - message cleared. After the car sat in the parking lot for several hours, went back out and started it, the message was gone and has not reappeared. Dealer had car 6 days - there are no codes in the system. They can not duplicate issue. Vehicle dying on freeway is very dangerous and I have small children, please investigate.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #15

Mar 222012

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact had taken the vehicle to the dealer twice and had been informed that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The failure mileage was 52,000 and the current mileage was 53,000. Updated 06/06/12 the consumer stated that the vehicle randomly stalled while slowing down, accelerating, or when the brake was applied. She was informed the reason for the stalling was unknown since there were no codes. She also had electrical problems involving the windows and sunroof. The windows/sunroof opened/closed unprompted. Updated 06/07/12

- Mount Sinia, NY, USA

problem #14

Dec 142011

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Water leaking into interior of vehicle from sunroof, affecting electrical components., windows and instrument panel components damaged. Rodents per dealership (snethkamp) damaged electrical wiring to brake lights (P) and engine damaged.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #13

Aug 012010

Commander

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start. After numerous attempts, the contact was able to successfully start the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, but they were unable to diagnose the failure. The failure continued. The contact also stated that the vehicle began to stall while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V059000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #12

Oct 172011

Commander

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that after putting his key in the ignition the vehicle would not start on an intermittent basis. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer nor had it been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 68,000.

- Troy, MO, USA

problem #11

Aug 312011

Commander

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander overland. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall and lose all power, similar to the failures listed under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V059000 (electrical system). The dealer did not offer any assistance and the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The current and failure mileages were 100,000.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #10

Aug 012009

Commander 8-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
This vehicle has an intermittent electrical issue, periodically all of the dashboard warning lights will flash on and then all of the electrical systems will fail - including the speedometer and other instrument gauges, the turn signals and the other lights, the windshield wipers, the radio, and everything else. Usually everything will reset after the vehicle has been parked, shut down, allowed to "rest" for several hours, and restarted. This event has occurred 8 or 9 times since the original incident. After the most recent incident the radio speakers went down one by one and you can no longer use the radio, however you do sometimes get a loud static sound over the speakers - even though the radio is turned off. I contacted the dealership after the original incident and was told that when this failure event occurs the system would "reset itself" without intervention, and that I would have to pay a diagnostic fee if I brought the vehicle in for testing, so I have been putting up with this ever since. However, now that other related systems are failing permanently I am not willing to put up with it any longer, I am concerned that eventually everything else will fail permanently including the instruments, turn signals, windshield wipers, etc. The consumer sent an E-mail requesting to add additional info. Yesterday, 07/21/2011, this vehicle stalled out twice while in operation while my wife was running errands in normal city traffic. In both cases she was able to steer the vehicle to the side of the road using the vehicle's momentum and was she was able to restart the vehicle a short while later. This is the first time that the complaint issue has actually resulted in the vehicle stalling out while in traffic. It is also the first time that the complaint issue has occurred in such rapid succession - for the last couple of years the frequency has been once every 3 or 4 months, now it is becoming once or twice a week (or in this case, in a day). Unable to add the last few lines of consumers sentence as there is a character limit. 07/22/11

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #9

Jun 012011

Commander

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. While driving any speed, the contact stated that the vehicle would suddenly stall without warning similar to NHTSA campaign id number: 08V059000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to the dealer; however, they were unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was 72,000.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #8

May 182009

Commander

  • 5,225 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. The contact stated the vehicle would continuously fail to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer at least nine times and they were unable to locate the cause of the failure. The dealer replaced three starters and four computer modulators yet the failure persisted. The manufacturer was contacted who stated they would return his call but had not. The failure mileage was 5,225 and the current mileage was 13,800.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #7

Jul 262010

Commander

  • 62,001 miles
My adult children's 2008 Jeep Commander engine has quit running, while they are driving, eight times in the past 4 months. (7/26/2010 thru 11/26/2010). The last time the engine quit running my son was driving the car, he was able to restart the engine with the car in drive (turning the key multiple times). They have had many issues with warning lights flickering and/or staying on. They have taken the Jeep to waldorf Chrysler Jeep dealer 8 times due to engine failure. They have repaired module wiring, replaced the starter and turned the core, performed routine check up and maintenance, run/start circuit repaired, throttle and gasket repaired/replaced twice, currently in the repair shop. Dealer would only provide rental car if the kids paid for it. Also took the Jeep to Dodge dealership in waldorf 8/2010, they could not find a problem.

- Bahama, NC, USA

problem #6

Aug 022010

Commander

  • 32,800 miles
2008 Jeep Commander limited- I was driving appx 50 mph and the power shut off. Lights went off, ac went off, kids dvd went off... the car completely shut down! steering wheel started locking up. I was able to coast to the side of the road immediately before the steering wheel completely locked up. Luckily when I placed the car in park, it started back up.

- Lithia, FL, USA

problem #5

Jul 272009

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,664 miles
2008 Jeep Commander. Consumer writes in regards to several issues with vehicle the check engine light and traction control light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The dealer could not diagnose the problem as there were no fault codes. Two days later, the dealer replaced the crank sensor. Four months later, the check engine and traction control light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. One week later, the same lights illuminated and the vehicle stalled. On December 2, 2009 the vehicle stalled again. The check engine light and traction control light continued to illuminated for several months. The stalling continued as well. The consumer also had problems with the vehicle hesitating at times. The dealer replaced the power train control module. They also replaced the stream O2 sensors and rest the controller.

- Coal City, IL, USA

problem #4

Apr 272010

Commander

  • 46,285 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the front control module failed so the vehicle did not start. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership twice for repair but the dealer could not correct the failure. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in recall 08V059000 (electrical system). The contact called the manufacturer and filed a claim and was told that he would receive a call back. The current and failure mileages were 46,285. Updated 07/28/10.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #3

Mar 012010

Commander

  • 67,777 miles
Chrysler has a recall on electrical systems on the 2008 Jeep Commander. The recall details loss of headlights, wipers, blinkers, and for the engine to stall. But they are only covering it on certain vins. Our 2008 Jeep Commander has suddenly experienced all these problems. My husbands head lights went out in the middle of driving in the dark. The wipers quit working, we have no blinkers, and the engine keeps stalling. We called the Chrysler corporation and they refuse to take our Jeep in on the recall, yet acknowledged it had all the signs of the recall, they said it had too many miles. We have three small children and the recall states that it is a serious problem and could cause a crash. So what are we too do know?

- Lawrenceburg, KY, USA

problem #2

Oct 192009

Commander

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled 5 times since it was purchased. When the vehicle stalled, it would completely shut down. When trying to re-start it, everything but the engine would power up. On 02/16/2010, the vehicle shut off while she was driving 10 mph and she still has not been able to re-start the vehicle since the complaint was filed. She had not taken the vehicle to the dealer. She called the manufacturer and inquired about recall 08V059000 but was told that her vehicle was not included. The vehicle had not been repaired to-date. The vehicle identification number was not available at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was approximately 65,000. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #1

Oct 012008

Commander

  • 12,000 miles
On Saturday Oct. 25 at 10am we were driving the Commander and all of the warning lights came on and stayed on. The radio and accessories cut off as well. The Commander was serviced again on Oct. 27 for this issue and they replaced the wireless ignition again. November 4, 2008 the Commander stalled at 10:30am while it was stationery and then again at 11:05am while at a stop light. November 4, 2008-November 6, 2008 the Commander stayed with the dealership over the course of two days to see if they could duplicate the problem. November 14, 2008 my wife was driving the Commander at 12:30pm and was stopped at an intersection. She began to slowly lift her foot off the brake pedal and the engine revved up and the Commander went flying into the intersection. December 8, 2008 the vehicle sat idle in park for less than two minutes before the engine stalled out. All accessories remained on and the ignition switch remained in the żonż position, but the engine was stalled. December 15, 2008 while sitting at a stop light, the Commander began to shake and the RPM gauge slipped below a reading of 0.5. this is a problem that has been ongoing with the Commander. December 20, 2008 at approximately 10 am and was stopped at a stop light. The engine of the Commander revved up while she had her foot on the brake pedal. The engine rev lasted approximately two to three seconds in length going up to 2.5 RPM. December 29, 2008 brown and wood serviced the Jeep again and installed a purge valve/solenoid. It was serviced from 8:30am-9:30am. December 30, 2008 my wife got into the Commander at approximately 5 pm this evening. She started the Commander and left the vehicle in park while completing a telephone call. Within three minutes of starting the vehicle the engine stalled. January 5, 2009 my wife was driving the vehicle at 12:10 pm. She was stopped at a red light and was preparing to resume driving as the light turned green when the Commander's engine stalled.

- Winterville, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?