Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,838 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Compass engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Compass:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Compass Owner Comments

problem #19

Apr 042016


  • 32,000 miles


I purchased the 2007 Jeep with low mileage for my child's first car. Upon the first refuel the car has experienced stalling within a hal mile of refueling. The car was returned to the dealer several times, as well as to the neighborning Jeep dealer. Time after time I was advised the issue could not be duplicated. Today upon refueling the car stalled upon leaving the gas station again. There appears to be a significant amount of complaints and research online that I was shocked to learn a recall had not been issued for this extreme safety issue. The stalling occurs at a different time leaving no gas station, at the first moment of idling, after traveling a short distance. This is a safety concern for any driver although extremely so for a newly licensed driver.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #18

Dec 022015


  • miles
I have been experiencing a problem with my car cutting off, especially while stopped at a red light more often than not on local roadways. If it doesn't completely shut off the sensation to cut off is definitely felt. I originally thought it was the spark plugs and had those replaced, however, the situation continues to persist. I have been told on one or more occasions it may be the fuel pump. I was recommended I take my vehicle directly to the dealership. The other issue that is also very pronounced is the noise my engine makes while idling. It can best described as a loud whirling sound but not quite a rattle. I have never heard my car sound so noisy. I have noticed perhaps in the last 6 months the windshield wipers come on involuntarily without me engaging their use. I have searched Jeep's website regarding any recall information on these aforementioned issues but to no avail.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #17

Jan 192016


  • 125,000 miles
Whenever the gas tank is filled up, upon driving 1-2 miles away from gas station on the highway or any road, the engine sputters and stalls. Today the entire engine shut off and locked up. Luckily I was not in heavy traffic at the time.

- Lawrenceburg, IN, USA

problem #16

Jun 122013


  • 146,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Compass. While driving at approximately 50 mph, the vehicle experienced acceleration failure. The vehicle accelerated when the brake pedal was depressed. It was also difficult to view the odometer. The contact stated that this was a recurring failure. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to find a failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 146,000. In addition, on September 15, 2013, the power steering failed and the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle stalled, but was able to restart. The contact stated that this was a recurring failure. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the control arm and bushing failed. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 153,000.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #15

Jan 312015


  • 78,000 miles
After refueling, vehicle starts up and drives as normal for a short time until reaching the first stop or stoplight, at which point the engine returns to idle. The engine will begin to sputter/weaken (full foot on the gas but reacts as if it is only down 1/4 of the way), the oil light turns on, and then subsequently dies while still in drive. This has happened at least 5 times since this first occurred on Jan. 31, 2015. Every time it occurs, it is immediately after refueling, despite using different gas stations and brands. First even occurred while I was turning left from a light into another parking lot. (sputter, then died) another event was while I was idling at a red light. (engine completely died) the most recent event occurred while I was driving 45 mph down the road, and it began to sputter and weaken after then making a right hand turn, upon which I pulled the car over in the road, turned the engine off and then back on again. It would have been incredibly dangerous if I had been on a highway.

- Englewood, OH, USA

problem #14

Mar 302015


  • 65,000 miles
I bought a 07 Jeep Compass from a private dealership less than a year and a half ago and took it to a mechanic before purchasing and no problems were found. On Tuesday of last week a weird noise was coming from the engines hike driving around town and after taking it to a local dealership/service repair center the issue was in my transmission and it needed to be replaced completely...updated 05/19/15

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #13

Sep 302014


  • 172,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Compass. While driving at 65 mph, all the lights on the instrument cluster panel failed to function and the headlights dimmed, which diminished the contact's visibility. In addition, two weeks later while driving at 60 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The engine warning light illuminated and fuel cap was displayed on the message board. The windshield wipers also activated independently and the radiator fans continued to function after the key was ejected from the ignition. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 172,000.

- Conneaut, OH, USA

problem #12

Mar 182015


  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Compass. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 25 mph, the vehicle stalled and all the warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the key needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000. The VIN was not available.

- Karney, NJ, USA

problem #11

Dec 022014

Compass 4-cyl

  • 167,000 miles
While driving on I-30 at 70 mph, my Jeep just died. No warning sign of any kind, just completely shut down, which almost caused several wrecks. I got to the median, waited about 10 minutes, it started and I drove about 20 more miles, then it happened again. This has been going on for about a month, took it to the local mechanic where it was put on the computer, couldn't find anything wrong. I had him (mechanic) keep it till it happened to him. Finally it did, took the fuel pump off and the plug was melted, as well as melted a hole in the fuel pump. He stated he is surprised we didn't blow up. I plan on taking the burned plug & pump to the Dodge house on Monday, very dangerous vehicle!

- Athens, TX, USA

problem #10

Oct 042010


  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Compass. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the engine stalled and the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 111,000.

- Salem, VA, USA

problem #9

Mar 092011


  • 75,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Compass. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, there was a sudden increase in engine rpms and the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred when either the accelerator or brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. In addition, the contact mentioned that the side air bags failed to deploy after being involved in a crash. The contact did not sustain any injuries and a police report was not filed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Compton, CA, USA

problem #8

Sep 132014

Compass 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
Since about November 2011, my 2007 Jeep Compass has stalled out after refueling when I fill the gas tank. It does not stall out if I do not fill the tank all the way. It has been inspected by two different Chrysler dealerships in 2012 and 2014 and both falsely accused me of overfilling the tank. No one has been able to fix the problem.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #7

Aug 232014


  • 114,422 miles
I was driving into the parking lot at walmart and the car actually turned itself off. I coasted into the parking spot and waited a few minutes. I turned the ignition again and the car turned on and then turned back off. I call aaa and they towed the car to ntb. They hooked the car up and stated they couldn't find a problem. They started the car and it started fine. After I left, I got maybe 3 miles down the road and the car turned off. I called ntb and they were ice enough to come to where I was. They were able to start the car; however, as soon as he backed up to turn around the car stalled again. He told me to leave the car, but it's hard to do that when they themselves don't know what's wrong and have no clue as to the cost. We sat for 10 minutes and the car started with no problem. I drove home with no more incidents. For the next 4 days nothing happened. On the 5th day, in traffic on 459N which is heavy and crazy, the car just shut off again almost causing the car behind me, who was too close anyway, to hit me. I pulled over and had the car towed home where it's sitting now. I have gone out to crank it and it turns over, but I'm not driving it. I have an appointment this Saturday to take it to a Jeep dealership on grants mills way to see if they can find exactly what's wrong wit this deathtrap. After looking at forums online, this is a huge problem. It's not just me.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #6

Jul 182014

Compass 4-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
I was driving in my neighborhood then went over a small bump and my car stopped. I lost power steering and all my dashboard lights came on. Once the vehicle stopped I took the key out of the ignition and tried to start it again. I had power but my engine would not turn over. This happens on a daily basis. My car starts when it wants too. I have no control or way of knowing if and when my car will start. I've driven it too and from work, then went to drive it later in the day and my engine will not turn over. I have power but the engine won't turn over. The esp light stays on my dashboard before it starts, if it starts it remains on the entire time while I'm driving. I have taken it to autozone and the ignition switch is something that is a problem. Anyone else having these problems?

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #5

Jun 072013

Compass 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Going into left hand turn lane to turn left, coasting, stopped at blinking light to turn proceeded and car stalled. This has happened at least 4 times since the last time being a few weeks ago. I called Chrysler directly and made a complaint. Had to put the car in park in order to restart the vehicle. Everything just locked up. Date is approximate along with mileage.

- Houghton Lake, MI, USA

problem #4

Dec 012013


  • 55,000 miles
2007 Jeep Compass stalls after refueling. This occurs not only then but about three to four more times while driving down the road after refueling. On two occasions this happen while entering back on to the highway, while trying to accelerate up to speed. This forced me to quickly restart the engine so not to be rear ended from behind by other vehicles. I checked with the dealer who told me to call Chrysler and let them know only to find that my vehicle was not on recall.I was told to take my Jeep into the dealer to have it fixed and if it was later recalled they would return my money. I do believe that Chrysler is risking the safety of the general public just because they are not up to speed with recalling all the effected vehicles as they are informed of the defect. If this is the kind of customer service that Chrysler is offering why would anyone want to come back.

- Dingmans Ferry, PA, USA

problem #3

Sep 152013

Compass 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Compass. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after waiting a few minutes however, the failure recurred four times. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. Approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- Creve Coeur, MO, USA

problem #2

Sep 012011

Compass 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
We bought our Jeep Compass in January 2007. Approx. Date for this problem is Sept 2011. Our Jeep started acting like it was going to stall when stopped at a light or when in motion. At other times, it wouldn't start after multiple attempts. Most times it would start. One day it did not start at all and we decided to take it in to the dealership the next day. That morning, it started, but we still took it in. The engine light was on also. We told them we think its the battery because we had issues with that already (battery replaced in 2010 and again in, I think, 2011, something in the Jeep was draining the battery). Long beach ca dealership. I think they charged us a fee to hook it up to the computer, they could not find the problem, and said it was not the battery. They said if it happens again, to bring it back. Over the past year, the stalling increased and the Jeep was not starting correctly. Aug 1, 2012, approx. Mileage 104,000, we tried to start our Jeep, and it wouldn't start at all. We had it towed to biloxi ms dealership and we told them this had happened before. The engine light was on again and another light I cant remember what it was for. They hooked it up to their computer and it told them it was the fuel pump. They proceeded to start to replace it, but, before they did, they came to us and had us look at the connector switch for the fuel pump. It had melted, had burns on it, and had melted through the pump. Why this is not a safety recall is beyond me when I see others have this same problem! the mechanic said we were lucky this thing had not caught on fire while we were driving it!! and even more disturbing, the fuel pump is located under the backseat! what if we had our grandson with us and it caught fire, or even worse, exploded? anyone with a Jeep Compass with these problems should have their fuel pumps looked at immediately!

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #1

Apr 132012

Compass 4-cyl

  • 56,500 miles
Car stalls out at red lights, numerous similar problems on the web, no solution. No engine light comes on just runs rough when stopped and stalls out, afraid I am going to get reared. Garage cannot find problem.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?