Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,940 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Compass engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Compass:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Compass Owner Comments

problem #16

Oct 142016

Compass

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Exited car with car keys in hand leaving car unlocked with windows all up walked about 10 feet away car starts by itself and then locks the doors I run back to car unlock it put the key in ignition and turn it off and quickly exit car it hasnt done this again been about 2 weeks ago now I M notified of airbag recall with no solution very scarey understand this type vehicle cranked up and back over owner please help was waiting to take it back to dealer in titusville fla yet I now live 3 hours away scared to drive this new car but have no backup

- Lake Placid, FL, USA

problem #15

Aug 012016

Compass

  • 17,000 miles
The vehicle is 2years old with 18000 miles, 3 safety recalls, kelly Jeep has had the vehicle for 8 weeks, we picked it up twice only to bring it back the next day, can not fix the problem, very dangerous shuts off while you are driving, safety issue, we would like to get a new vehicle

- Revere, MA, USA

problem #14

Jul 172015

Compass

  • 25,440 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Compass. While driving the vehicle 50-55 mph for approximately one hour, the vehicle independently decelerated to 15 mph. The transmission failure indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stated that the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the failure was caused by a safety feature to prevent the engine from overheating due to excessive driving. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 25,440.

- Cranford, NJ, USA

problem #13

Apr 082016

Compass 4WD 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Compass. While operating the vehicle, smoke and flames emitted from under the hood. The fire department extinguished the fire. No injuries were reported. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 07/12/16

- Johnston, RI, USA

problem #12

Sep 082015

Compass

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Compass. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, the vehicle started shaking as the etc warning indicator illuminated and the engine stalled. The vehicle did restart. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the diagnosis was unknown. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #11

Jul 012015

Compass

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Compass. The contact stated that the engine stalled numerous times, while driving. The vehicle lost acceleration and the check engine warning light illuminated, while driving at approximately 30 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the computer software was reprogrammed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 52,000.

- Montague Township, NJ, USA

problem #10

Jun 232014

Compass 4-cyl

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Compass. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start and the key hesitated to turn to the on position. The oil pressure warning light illuminated. The contact stated that when the vehicle did start, it did not accelerate over 5 mph for the first mile driven. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 22,000.....updated 01/13/16 the consumer stated the problem is still occurring. Updated 1/22/16.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #9

Jan 012015

Compass

  • 2,000 miles
I was driving approximately 10 miles an hour in a parking lot and my engine stalled and began to smoke. I reached out to the dealership where I purchased my vehicle first and no one would return my car. There is an additional recall that impacts my vehicle which has to do with the hijacking of the vehicle navigational system/blue tooth. I cannot get resolution from the dealership. State line Dodge Chrysler Jeep dealer #45636/45636

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #8

Jul 092015

Compass

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Compass. While driving at 20 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that the vehicle was able to restart after the initial attempt. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 33,000.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #7

Mar 072015

Compass

  • 6,495 miles
I was slowly pulling into a parking space in front of local pharmacy. As I was about to put the SUV into park the vehicle suddenly accelerated with my foot on the brake and then jumped two curbstones and went across the front entrance to the store and then hit a parked Toyota SUV and pushed the vehicle back four feet and then finally came to a stop.

- Franklin, MA, USA

problem #6

Jun 252014

Compass 4-cyl

  • 12,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have initiation switch problems. The engine will need catch when the steering wheel isn't perfectly straight while the vehicle is in park. I can shift to other gears from, park but the engine will not start. If the steering wheel is straight, I have no problems.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #5

Jun 212014

Compass

  • 20,114 miles
I've bought on August 2014 from an italian dealer model Jeep Compass crd 2.2 model 4X4. Driving Saturday 21 June on the highway in Milan-italy, the engine suddenly shut down, leaving me hold in the middle of the highway rows, with extreme danger for my me my family and the vehicles arriving. I was simply told by the dealer that the issue was a chip. Even they didn't want to make a test drive on the road. Only when I barely asked forcing them to do it, they agreed. As I heard about us recalls from Chrysler Jeep Compass 2014 models due to the same issue, what can I do here in italy" just hoping that my and lives of my family is now safe and no more depending on a chip which shut down the engine during driving suddenly" please let me know!

- Milano, AL, USA

problem #4

May 012014

Compass 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased a 2014 Jeep Compass for my daughter from palmer's airport Hyundai in mobile al in February 2014. We have been having several issues with this vehicle. It started out not wanting to crank properly. It was then taken to roundtree dealership in mobile where tech [xxx] stated they could not find anything wrong with it. About 2 weeks later she took it to brooks motors in jackson al. They stated they started the Jeep approximately 50 times and found no problem. We then contacted Chrysler corps. To see if they could help. She has been speaking with [xxx] about the Jeep. About 3weeks ago the air conditioner stopped working properly. We were then supposed to take it back to brooks for repair and would receive a loaner until repairs were made. When she arrived they pretended they knew nothing about her coming and treated her very rudely so she left and contacted [xxx] once again. [xxx] then instructed to her to take it to [xxx] in daphne al. With an appt. And was supposed to receive a loaner if needed. My daughter arrived at 8:00 am and asked for [xxx] who did not know anything about her appt. A tech named [xxx] went ahead with appt. After inspecting the vehicle he told her they had to send info up to Chrysler to see what repairs could be done because this issue has been seen in other vehicles and would call her and let her know. [xxx] called her back the next day stating there was nothing they could do no recall has come down yet as to how to fix crank issue and ac. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sunflower, AL, USA

problem #3

Apr 262014

Compass 4WD 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
On 4/26/2014 I was driving on a 4 lane road at 30 mph when car started acting sluggish and jerky. I pulled to the farthest right hand part of the road and car then completely died. Was able to coast to the shoulder and 3 men assisted me in pushing car out of the of the road. Car would not start and had to be towed/ flatbed to dealer. Car is 8 months old with approx 11, 000 miles. The dealer stated it was the ignition coil. When they tested it they found no spark, dtc for coil ionization P2302. Tested and found no power at coils. Tested and found blown fuse, replaced fuse and tested, blows fuse after 30 seconds. Tested and found 4 coil melted/grounded. Coil would not come out due to meltage. Had to break coil and remove debris from tube. They replaced coil. Dealership stated they have not come across this before. Received vehicle back on 4/29/2014.

- Bloomingdale, IL, USA

problem #2

Feb 122014

Compass 4-cyl

  • 365 miles
I bought my car 2/5/14, brand spanking new (only 35 miles on it). I was stopped at a stop light at night far away from my home waiting for it to turn green. At this point the car has about 365 miles on it. The car jerked a few times but sounded like it was about to take off, like it was shifting by its own. Car did not RPM. It stopped jerking however happened again a few seconds later. When the light turned green, the car would not go anywhere. I had to press on the gas for a long time before the car decided to move or even shift into a gear. Car would move but only in 1st gear, it RPM'd all the way to 4. the temperature gauge showed that the car got hotter than usual. Once I found a safe place to park, I idled into a angle parking spot and by then the car wouldn't move anymore - solid engine light came on. Once I got a hold of the dealer they gave me instructions for towing. As soon as the car was put on the flatbed tow truck, all you could see was transmission fluid all over the ground. It looked like blood, everywhere. That happened on 2/12/14. It is 2/25/14 - car is still at the dealer waiting to be fixed, apparently parts are national backorder and I am angry. I had my car for 8 days; dealer has had it going on 13 days now. At least, though, I am thankful it did not happen on the expressway or what not. I could have died. The transmission is not safe; could potentially cause an accident.

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #1

Dec 272013

Compass 4-cyl

  • 130 miles
Vehicle was driven at 60 mph on interstate. Vehicle's engine stalled causing sudden drop in speed to 25 miles mph. Vehicle was then pulled to a complete stop, placed in park, then turned off. Once the vehicle was restarted engine light was illuminated. Vehicle was then driven off of interstate where it stalled an additional 4 times within 10 minutes of operation.

- Lacey, WA, USA

Not what you are looking for?