Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,350 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #40

Sep 152004

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving ABS light came on. Vehicle lost brake power. When the vehicle shut off and came on it reset itself. This happened intermittently.

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #39

May 182004

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
When the consumer attempted to brake, the pedal went to the floor, causing extended stopping distance. There was numerous repairs that the vehicle needed; the windshield wipers, gas cap(s), new keyless remote and the temperature gauge did not work. Recall# 02V053000. The consumer discovered there was a recall regarding the power assist, the consumer was original told there would be no charge and then later was told the charge would be $400.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #38

Oct 202002

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The front rotors have been a problem right before 2000 miles. The dealer have changed them on two or three times in the past and I have three time. The last time recently, I had to change the rotors three times before I got some that weren't worped. They only lasted for less than a month before they were overheated and warped again. I should not have to go through this all the time for a product that should be better than that. Chrysler has a responsibility to provide quality rotors that will last. Presently, the warped rotors are on my Jeep and I don't know what else to do. I have tried after market and they are worst. Thank you

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #37

Feb 011998

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittently the vehicle would vibrate while applying the brakes. The brake pedal would go to the floor and cause an extended stopping distance. Dealer is aware of the problem. Mr there is an exhaust type of noise emitting from the vehicle.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #36

Aug 112002

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
While taveling on highway applied brakes and vehicle took off with excessive speed into traffic. Dealership was aware of problem.

- Addison, IL, USA

problem #35

Oct 052001

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While slowly backing up with trailer attached vehicle suddenly accelerated. Trailer jack knifed and crashed into metal building. Consumer had brakes applied. Then, shifted to drive. Vehicle accelerated to 35-40 mph, and headed towards a lake. Consumer shut off engine to stop vehicle. Damage to vehicle was $ $5000, damage to building unknown. No injuries.

- Oakdale, MN, USA

problem #34

Aug 092001

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was serviced by dealership on 8/9/2000 for a recall issued by Jeep regarding defective from brake rotors. Rotors were replace by dealership, along with a charge of $100 for new pads (vehicle only had 23,175 miles). Brakes worked fine prior to the recall, however since the repair they squeak from time to time and had begun to get worse. On 8/9/2001, the vehicle was returned to the dealership to resolve the problem. Dealership refushed to replace parts, commenting "it is a know problem the Jeep have a problem with their front brakes. It is not uncommon for a Jeep with new brake pads to eat through the rotors in less than 9,000 miles. It you want it fixed you will have to pay for the repairs." The repair invoice now states "vehicle needs rotors, customer decline at this time" because I will not pay them to fix a known Jeep defect. Problem was then brought to the attention of chysler customer service whose solution was that I be required to pay another one of their dealerships $75 for inspection of the brakes so that they could process a report. Their response was that they would work with me to review the parts, however it would be my responsibility to pay for the $75 inspection. I am now stuck with the option of paying chyrsler an addtional $75 (with no guarantee that they will even fix the problem that they created) or pay for the repairs out of my own pocket. Replacing one set of defective rotors with another set of defective rotors is not closure on a recall.

- Franklin, MA, USA

problem #33

Jun 222000

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
Consumer has been trying to contact dealer since June of 2000 for a recall letter that was received on vehicle. Consumer does not specifically state which recall, however there is only 1 in the recall database from a year ago and that is dealing with the rotor:disc hub, a dealer 30 miles away resolved recall issue.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #32

Mar 152000

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
At 27,700 miles I was told the rotors were warped and needed new front brakes. I have never owned a car that needed brakes that soon... ever! I was just told that at 45,704 miles, the rotors are again warped and I need new front brakes. Why? Chrysler has offered a new set of rotors, but no assurance they will last longer than the 18,000 miles the last set lasted. "off the record" and employee told me the brakes on the Grand Cherokee are not adequately cooled. I have 3 other vehicles with 80,000 + miles on them & only one has had replacement brakes at 82,000 miles. The seat back "jumps" back a cog or so on occasion. The dealer cant' even give me an estimate as it is very expensive and involves rebuilding the drivers seat! I think Chrysler should fix it as it was obviously defective in the first place. Never had a car do this either. Kinda hard to drive when laying on one's back!

- Lake Stevens, WA, USA

problem #31

Apr 092001

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Rear brake rotors are prematurely wearing, cause unknown. Also, when applying brakes a loud noise occurs, and pedal goes to floor, causing extended stopping distance.

- Mcdonald, PA, USA

problem #30

Mar 162001

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During hard braking the antilock brakes pulsed once and then there was no brakes causing an accident.

- Gainesville, VA, USA

problem #29

Mar 192001

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While traveling and when depressing brake pedal noticed loss of braking power. Vehicle was serviced. Consumer states brake lining had become detached from backing plate, dealer stated this is normal wear even though the balance of the lining material fell off when the brakes were examined.

- Marietta, OH, USA

problem #28

Jan 262001

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle would accelerate on its own after shifting into gear. Engine would rev up when first starting up, and would remain until vehicle was shut down. Vehicle was very hard to stop due to brakes not working properly.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #27

Apr 021999

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
Dealership said these defects were not covered fuel sending unit sends wrong level of gas in tank, brakes failed pulsated full brake job was done, rear windsheild wiper doesn't work at times.

- Katonah, NY, USA

problem #26

Oct 302000

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Front brake pads constantly wear out due to the defective (ABS) system that does not work, causing front brakes to do all the work. Dealer has been contacted.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #25

Sep 191999

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
While driving about 55 mph stepped on brakes pedal to stop vehicle, but did not stop. Could feel pedal pulsating. Then, rear ended another vehicle. Just got a recall notice on the front brakes.

- Watertown, MA, USA

problem #24

Jul 022000

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
Approx. 6 months ago, gasoline leaked from tank to garage floor. Fumes entered home. We were awake and quickly moved vehicle and ventilated home, before fumes reached burning fireplace. Dealer replaced a plug and promised it would never happen again. 7/2/2000 gasoline leaked in garage while family was sleeping. Fumes contaminated entire home. Wife taken to hospital for exposure. Dealer now states the plastic tank misformed but will not advise why. Service manager, steve, states he has seen this happen before, but refused to install a metal tank. We have advised that we do not want the truck back and fear for our family's safety. Vehicle is currently at dealer. In 1998, this vehicle shut down in the middle of a highway due to the same problem other consumers mentioned on your complaint page. The dealer is also performing the brake recall work. I feel this plastic gas tank is extremely dangerous, since it misformed and leaked on it's own. If the dealer makes us bring the truck back home and finish the lease, we are afraid to operate the vehicle or put it in our garage. Please help.

- Turnersville, NJ, USA

problem #23

Jul 042000

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
While driving could step on the brakes pedal and could feel the brakes pulsing.a technician repaired the front brakes.

- New Millford, CT, USA

problem #22

Oct 201997

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
On Jan. 20, 2000, while traveling at approximately 10mph I taped the brakes and the vehicle slid off the road into a tree dispite my efforts to maintain control.

- Upper Marlboro, MD, USA

problem #21

Nov 011999

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
Rear rotors needed to be replaced after 15,000 miles because they were warped. Front rotors needed to be replaced after 12,000 miles because they were warped. The steering wheel would shake when braking because of this problem.

- Rosedale, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?