Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,446 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #87

Aug 142006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated when the brake pedal was depressed, there was a violent vibration throughout the brake pedal. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer who determined the brake rotors were rusted.

- Braintree, MA, USA

problem #86

Jul 272006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
For over a year the front brakes have squeaked (a rubbing noise) when driving (not during braking, which stops the noise). Dealer claims nothing could be found. Took the car in today to have tires rotated an balanced. Dealer claims the front pads are thin and crumbling and that both pads and rotors need to be replaced. Dealer states the front rotors are too thin to be turned. This is unusual since the rotors were replaced in 2000 under recall 00V136000. The SUV has been driven 90,000 miles since then - the pads have been replaced - the rotors have not been turned previously. Related to the recall, other users report too hard pads with too soft rotors. In one driving style this leads to excessive heat that warps the sub-par rotors. In my driving style the pads get hot (which causes them to crumble eventually), not hot enough to warp rotors, but sufficient to grind away the rotors leading to premature failure of both parts. If rotors can get so thin they can't be turned (having never been turned), then the combination of crumbly pads makes for a dangerous combination. Since dealer is aware of complaints about too-hard pads and too-soft rotors from these and its other make/models... it appears this mismatched combo is intentional. Dealer should replace or heavily discount premature failure parts. Dealer claims all wear is normal and 90K life for rotors is good (and probably is statistically if you include 15K life of recalled defective rotors). The recall repair replaced one part of the defect combo with another defective part, just less prone to rapid failure if driven easy, I.e. it fails premature to normal life of similar parts across industry. I elected to wait on replacing parts until I could gather more info. I came across other reports and complaints for Chrysler with the pad/rotor combo.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #85

Oct 012004

Grand Cherokee

  • Manual transmission
  • 81,000 miles
While making a left turn right front brake hub came off the rotor. The resulted in consumer losing control of the vehicle. Consumer had to continuously pump the brake pedal until the front left brake stopped the vehicle. Dealership replaced the front brake rotors, and hub plate. This occurred due to the defect described in the front brake rotor recall 00V136000, but consumer didn't live in the recall states listed. Separation due to corrosion.

- Linden, VA, USA

problem #84

Sep 052003

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee, VIN [xxx] recall number: 00V136000, dated May 10, replacement of front rotors due to possible corrosive damage -took Jeep to tyson's Jeep, Inc. On October 5, 2000, asked them to check the brakes squeaking. No mention of the recall. Brake pads replaced and front rotors refaced (mileage = 40,893) -took Jeep back on November 29, 2000, asked them to check the brakes again still squeaking. Also asked about the recall. Not able to recreate the squeak. We were told that we were not eligible for the recall and that all brakes squeak. We were also told that Jeep had done research on these brakes and determined that different drivers get different results and that we must handle our vehicle harshly. (mileage = 44,007) - took Jeep back on March 13, 2002, asked them to check the brakes again there is even more noise and now it sounds like paper is stuck between the brakes. This time rear brake pads replaced, rear rotors turned at a cost to us of (mileage = 56,780) - took Jeep back on March 11, 2003, asked them to check the brakes again squeaking yet again. Told that they checked the brakes, could not find a problem(mileage = 69,532) - took Jeep back on September 4, 2003 for the 75,000 mile check up. We did not ask them to check on the brakes this time even when I hear something and ask them to check they never find a problem. [xxx] called to tell us that our front brakes and rotors were corroded and rusting and needing replacement. When asked about the recall, he said that our rotors had been replaced in accordance with the recall on July 14, 2000. When informed that we had been told that we were not eligible for the recall and the front rotors had been turned on October 5, 2000, less than 3 months later, he stated that he did not know and he did not work at tyson's Jeep then, but the records showed that we had the recall replacement on July 14, 2000. (mileage = 75,000) information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #83

Oct 102002

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • 59,800 miles
The transmission is leaking and has a high probability of failing in the next 30 days according to the repair facility. The front disc rotors were just replaced because of warping and shuddering while stopping while stopping at speed over 30 mph. Ph **dimsii IVOQ entry posted after 12/12/02 cut over to artemis**768318

- Leander, TX, USA

problem #82

Mar 272003

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I had my front brake rotors replaced at 67,220 miles - at that time the front brakes were shot, yet the rear brakes had 50% life remaining (appears to be undue pressure placed on front brakes. After only 5,000 miles, the vehicle pulsated while braking. So at 73,091 miles at had front brakes resurfaced, at which time the mechanic acknowledged that the brakes were already showing signs of over heating and were already warped. I had rear brakes done (even though they had sufficient life remaining) at the same time in case that contributed to the problem. I now have 16,000 miles on the front brakes (10,000 miles after first resurfacing), they again are pulsating strongly, and require undue pressure from my foot to make them work appropriately....especially on the highway. I consider this a serious safety hazard and as a result of the engineering and/or manufacturing of the brakes.

- Lino Lakes, MN, USA

problem #81

Dec 012002

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake rotors continually wrap. Wraped at 10,000, 18,000 27,000, and now again at 38,000. Chyrsler refuses to admit to a problem. Front rotors replace by recall and also have wraped. Service bulliten was also performed for this problem and still failures have occurred.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #80

Aug 212002

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
NHTSA recall 00 V 136 000/manufacturer's recall 879 concerning front brake rotors. Excessive wear of front brake rotors and pads. Rotors are showing sign of heat cracks. Dealer notified. Feel free to provide any further information.

- Saugatuck, MI, USA

problem #79

Jul 082002

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
Original rotors were recalled in July of 2000. Vehicle had 17,140 miles at time replacement rotors were installed. At 29,140 miles on vehicle dealer informs me that replacement rotors need to be replaced are not able to be resurfaced. I find it unacceptable that new rotors lasted less than 13,000 miles.

- West Haven, CT, USA

problem #78

Dec 012001

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
When stepping on brakes, they pulsate. Consumer feels rotors are bad.

- St. Cloud, MN, USA

problem #77

May 232000

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle vibrates and pulls to the right when the brake is applied, possibly due to rotors problem. The consumer received recall on the same problem and got rotors replaced. A year later the brake problem reoccured and the rotors had to be resurfaced. However the problem was still not fixed.

- Wolcott, CT, USA

problem #76

Oct 132001

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
4 sets of rotors warped causing pulsation. Nlm

- Livingston, TX, USA

problem #75

Dec 262001

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Rear axle overhaul/ rotors warped.

- Stockbridge, GA, USA

problem #74

May 232000

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The vehicle vibrates and pulls to the right when the brake is applied, possibly due to rotors problem. The consumer received recall on the same problem and got rotors replaced. A year later the brake problem reoccured and the rotors had to be resurfaced. However the problem was still not fixed.

- Wolcott, CT, USA

problem #73

Aug 012001

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Experienced vibration in front of vehicle. Consumer applied brakes, and there was pulsation. Dealership was notified. Dealer indicated that four rotors needed to be replaced. Rotors have been replaced twice before at 13000 miles.

- Atlantic, NY, USA

problem #72

Aug 012001

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Brake rotors were rusting. Dealership has examined vehicle and informed consumer that this vehicle was not affected by recall 00V136000. Please provide any additional information / attachments.

- Coon Rapids, MN, USA

problem #71

Jul 122001

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
The brake rotors failed twice. Nlm

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #70

Jul 272001

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
During routine inspection rear rotors and pads were found to be corroded and had to be replaced. There was a recall on the front rotor and disc and the consumer is concerned that the rear brakes should also be recalled. Nlm

- Mckees Rocks, PA, USA

problem #69

Aug 092001

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
Vehicle was serviced by dealership on 8/9/2000 for a recall issued by Jeep regarding defective from brake rotors. Rotors were replace by dealership, along with a charge of $100 for new pads (vehicle only had 23,175 miles). Brakes worked fine prior to the recall, however since the repair they squeak from time to time and had begun to get worse. On 8/9/2001, the vehicle was returned to the dealership to resolve the problem. Dealership refushed to replace parts, commenting "it is a know problem the Jeep have a problem with their front brakes. It is not uncommon for a Jeep with new brake pads to eat through the rotors in less than 9,000 miles. It you want it fixed you will have to pay for the repairs." The repair invoice now states "vehicle needs rotors, customer decline at this time" because I will not pay them to fix a known Jeep defect. Problem was then brought to the attention of chysler customer service whose solution was that I be required to pay another one of their dealerships $75 for inspection of the brakes so that they could process a report. Their response was that they would work with me to review the parts, however it would be my responsibility to pay for the $75 inspection. I am now stuck with the option of paying chyrsler an addtional $75 (with no guarantee that they will even fix the problem that they created) or pay for the repairs out of my own pocket. Replacing one set of defective rotors with another set of defective rotors is not closure on a recall.

- Franklin, MA, USA

problem #68

Aug 092001

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
There is a vibration in brakes when stopping. Steering wheel will also vibrate when using brakes. Contacted dealer, and dealer stated needed rotors replaced. The front brakes have been replaced two times and dealer will not replace the rear brakes.

- Bellaire, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?