If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
99,775 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Jun 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • 137,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

All of my dash gauges go out at any given time. There will be a beep and then the speedometer and all the rest do not register. The ck engine light will be on and the fuel light. The power windows will not go down, the ac will not work, radio, and now head lights are being affected and nearly caused me to crash. I have been terrified !! I worked and saved to get a new ignition switch installed hoping since it powers so many places at once that it would work, but after $174.40 and a week without transportation I picked my car up today and after driving it about 15 miles it started doing the same thing. Now I am reading that many people are having similar problems with this make and model and finding your site gives me hope that maybe I will get some much needed help. Thanks for any help you can give to me it is greatly appreciated

- Mineral Wells, TX, USA

problem #28

May 222014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 206,254 miles
As with many other posts, the vehicle just shut down while driving on the parkway. Pulled off the road put the car in park restarted, waited a minute drove another 20 miles home, no problem. This has happened before in the driveway, or just leaving the house but never on the road. Have replaced ignition switch, both O2 sensors distributor cap, rotor and wires. Fuel pressure is good. Don't expect a fix from Chrysler, there are many posts here and online with no fixes. Just thought I'd add my experience to the mix. Time for a new car!

- Brookhaven, NY, USA

problem #27

Mar 252011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 163,506 miles
The Jeep stalls for no reason. Just stops running. It was repaired three times before I acquired it. I have done the same repairs twice to no avail. I was told there was a recall and was also told I'd be notified but have not to date. I just replaced the computer brain and the coil yet again.

- Carson City, NV, USA

problem #26

Dec 032012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 178,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car stalls without warning while driving. Happens at any speed, from 70 on the highway to 5 mph on our road. No warning. Internet search indicated many Jeep owners with same safety issue and no permanent fixes. Have taken to independent auto mechanic and have replaced ignition components (ignition coil, plugs, wiring, distributor cap and rotor and crank sensors) with no results to correct issue. This is very serious and dangerous condition that needs to be addressed by manufacturer.

- Dunwoody, GA, USA

problem #25

Nov 012012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle lost power and stalled without warning. The contact merged to the shoulder and restarted the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 200,000 and the current mileage was 225,074. Updated 1/29/13

- Ripley, MS, USA

problem #24

Aug 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled and the check engine warning light illuminated.the contact moved the vehicle off the roadway and was able to restart as the vehicle resumed normal operation. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the ignition coil needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified and advised the contact to take the vehicle to the dealer for further inspection. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Skokie, IL, USA

problem #23

Sep 082011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 158,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Jeep first stalled while traveling through town, then progressed to stalling/shutting down while traveling at any speed, slowing down for a traffic light, or stopping at a traffic light or stop sign. There is no rhyme or reason as to when it chooses to go erratic. Instrument panel lights blink off and on, sometimes remaining off for several minutes. I have replaced all the sensors on the vehicle, fuel pump, alternator, etc. Before replacing the fuel pump I took it to the local Jeep dealership where I was eventual told, on my third visit that it was a problem with the wiring harness and that the wiring harness could not be replaced as they were no longer available. The problem is becoming a daily problem now, along with the skipping, missing, completely stalling, it back fires. I have replaced a total of 3 mufflers with the muffler shop refusing to replace another until I have the underlying problem fixed.

- Green Cove Springs, FL, USA

problem #22

Mar 162011

Grand Cherokee

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact was driving approximately 25 mph and approaching a traffic stop when the engine stalled without warning. Upon restart, the vehicle resumed normally. The failure recurred sporadically and the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who advised that the failure was contributed to the PCM and wiring harness. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #21

Mar 012011

Grand Cherokee

  • 190,000 miles
My 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo has been stalling intermittently for a while this particular instance I was driving on an interstate I was slowing down with traffic behind me to turn right. As I was entering my turn the Jeep lost all power I did not have the ability to control steering and my vehicle ran off the roadway crashing into a ditch.

- Mannford, OK, USA

problem #20

Jan 252010

Grand Cherokee

  • 76,510 miles
While driving the Jeep the engine would just stop running. It would usually start again by turning the key but not always. Took to local Jeep dealer & was told it was the PCM PO351 which I paid to replace. At 76800 miles 02/17/2010 the same problem happened & the same dealer said sometimes they get a bad PCM & it was replaced under warranty. The Jeep is towed behind a motor home & at 78558 miles 08/30/10 the exact same problem happened while in the state of wa. The Jeep dealer there said "found coil primary stored in PCM" so I paid for a coil/ignition 8035004 replacement. While still in wa & approximately 200 miles later the engine stopped running again just as it did before. I decided to tow it back to phoenix & not drive it until someone else attempted to fix the problem. An independent garage on 01/03/2011 at 79503 miles stated in part "found engine would stumble & code PO351 would set when ignition coil harness connector is tampered with. Replace connector. Wiggle connector at PCM can cause stumble. Internal defect causing shutoff. PCM still under warranty. Part on national back order" checking the internet for similar problems shows the same problem occurring numerous times going back many years so this is not new a problem to Jeep. Having the engine just quit randomly is a safety issue & has been going on for too many years as evidenced by the internet information. Current mileage is 79729.. 01/31/2011 & no parts available.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #19

Jan 162009

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph the vehicle stalled. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who stated that the computer had a short in the ECM and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Since the vehicle was repaired every sensor and module malfunctioned. The contact replaced various parts in the vehicle even the engine and none of them have remedied the failure. The contact did not call the manufacturer. The contact was concerned since the vehicle stalling could result in a crash. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #18

Aug 082008

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle's owners manual was missing information regarding the fuse diagram, the location, and labeling of the fuses. The current and failure mileages were 86,000. The consumer stated the electrical sensors failed. Updated 09/15/09.

- Lake Oswego, OR, USA

problem #17

Dec 012008

Grand Cherokee

  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle completely shut off. The failure occurred over ten times leaving the contact with no power. An independent mechanic could not find the cause of the failure. The second time the failure occurred, the mechanic insisted that the asd relay and ignition coil needed to be replaced. After replacing the asd relay and ignition coil, the failure recurred. The latest occurrence was when she drove from a parking lot and tried to drive forward and the vehicle shut off. The dealer or manufacturer have not been notified. The current and failure mileages were approximately 137,000. Updated 020209 updated 02/03/09.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #16

Nov 022008

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,540 miles
While making a left hand turn in heavy traffic Jeep stalled almost causing accident. This happened at 38,000 miles and continues at 100540 miles, if less than half a tank of fuel it will stall and also the dash cluster will read incorrectly. This failure could cause someone to be injured or death as it happens at ransom. User reports that keeping fuel tank full cuts down on the shutoffs to one or two a year.

- Pennellville, NY, USA

problem #15

Oct 292008

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 137,000 miles
1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee, 2wd, 4.0 liter inline 6, automatic transmission. User has replaced many engine electrical and ignition parts, as well as fuel pump assembly, some relays, and the Jeep continues to stall in traffic, when turning corners, when backing up, has intermittent stalling when driving, and is posting various computer codes. I have already spent $700 on diagnostic and parts replacement, yet the problem persists. When driving the engine periodically cuts out and RPM's drop to zero. If this happens in heavy traffic or during an evasive maneuver someone could be killed. This is an ongoing and dangerous problem that my mechanic can not fix, and based on my research on the internet it is a widespread and perplexing design-related problem with this era Jeep Cherokee and grands.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #14

Jun 012008

Grand Cherokee

  • 201,000 miles
My 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee stalls unexpectedly and sporadically. It seems to happen more often after it's been sitting and not being driven for 3 or more hours, but has occurred at any time or temperature. I've taken it to 3 different mechanics, one who specializes in Jeep and spent hundreds of dollars trying to fix the problem to no avail. No one seems to know why or how this problem is occurring. The following parts have been replaced: Idle air control valve, plugs, wires, distributor cap, asd relay, crank sensor, cam shaft position sensor. I've even had the mechanic try the "magic fix" that I've read on many forums about the screws on the ECM being too long. Nothing. I'm getting so frustrated because it's really dangerous when it just shuts off. Most of the time, it will crank right back up if it happens at idle and if it happens during acceleration, most of the time, it will shut off briefly and come back on before I can get stopped. I don't want ot get rid of the vehicle, but I want some answers. I find it hilarious that Jeep/Chrysler uphold that they aren't aware of any stalling problems that have been reported on the vehicle. That's the number one problem your will find on most Jeep forums...intermittent stalling. Please help!

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #13

May 152008

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,000 miles
Intermittent stalling at highway speeds, at stops, in intersections and off ramps and usually won't start again. Dealer may have found the problem after three years that being the on board computer.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #12

Dec 202006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 116,000 miles
I own a 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, 4.0, inline-6, 2wd with 118,000 miles. My 98 jgc started stalling randomly; on acceleration, deceleration, highway, stoplights, etc. It would always start back up and run again, but the stalling would happen at any time. No codes would register either. The idle air control motor and ignition coil was replaced, but the problem continued. I replaced the ignition wires, distributor cap, spark plugs, rotor and throttle position sensor but still the same. Out of desperation, I replaced the crankshaft sensor and checked for loose and rusty connections. This is very dangerous.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #11

Oct 102006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Interior lights click on and off, also factory alarm goes off, noted when colder outside temperatures are present and/or a heavy dew concentration is present. Brought to car dealership three times, multiple repairs, problem still exist.

- Plainville, CT, USA

problem #10

May 202006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles
Vehicle parked for the night at 11pm 5/20/06. This morning at 6am while leaving for work an engine fire was noticed. Contacted 911 and they sent fire fighters to put the fire out. Currently unable to open to hood because the latch is melted. Had no recent signs of vehicle problems. Fire looked to be mainly on drivers side. Replaced parts in past such as tires, lights, brakes (6 times), transmission (Jan 2006), differential, rotors, calipers, battery (3 times) and accessories. Don't know if the engine is repairable at this time.

- Spotsylvaina, VA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?