Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,571 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #17

Nov 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall regarding the tow hitch to protect the gas tank in rear end collisions. I took the vehicle to hertrich of pocomoke, my closest Jeep/Dodge/Ford dealer and they supposedly performed the recall and everything checked out ok with the factory hitch. I took the vehicle home, and several months later was under the Jeep performing some maintenance. When I looked up, I noticed that the tow hitch was severly rusted in some spots, and there were chunks of rust inside the hollow tow hitch. I have been unable to get them to do anything about it, contacting them, and the manufacturer several times.

- Pungoteague, VA, USA

problem #16

Feb 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I have a car that was recalled for buyback. I called fca on 3 occasions and they refuse to buyback the vehicle.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #15

Oct 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Monroe Dodge Chrysler monroe Michigan refused to perform related recall repair on my vehicle last year, said it was too rusty and would do nothing. I called same dealer last week and spoke with female service mananger 9(gloria?) at 734 242 6370 who advised she is unaware of any consent agreement. My info indicates on 7/26/2015 enforcement action document requires the vehicle be actually rated as to the amount of rust, and in most situations the hitch can be installed after proper welding, rust removal, etc. Is done. Please contaact me, preferably by phone and in writing, about what can be done. The dealer will not acknowledge any further actions they will take, nor acknowledges the 7/26/2015 enforcement action.

- Monroe, MI, USA

problem #14

Feb 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This vehicle is a safety hazard!!! it just dies at any speed. My daughter and her newborn almost went off the road at highway speeds twice now. Just about everything has been changed and the problem is still there. Why is nothing being done to rectify this problem"??? just go to any Jeep forum and you will find a multitude of people pouring their hard earned money into this same problem and still no fix. What does it take to to get all of these potential killer SUV's fixed??? a certain amount of deaths????????????"

- Soulsbyville, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 182013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Vehicle was rear-ended while stopped at a traffic light.....vehicle backed into another vehicle that was also backing up..

- Mount Airy, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Jul 022011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 114,700 miles
I purchased this car new, and in July of this year pulling into a border check point, the entire vehicle stared to shake violently, I thought I had blown both front tires. After a close inspection by the border patrol they could see nothing wrong, so I proceeded to my destination. I had the same violent shaking at no matter what speed I was going, it was a holiday weekend so I simply drove to the side of the road and drove 10 miles to get off of the freeway. Went to a truck stop and called the dealer they informed me that it would not harm the vehicle and that I could drive it into town (approximately 19 miles). It has been worked on several times, so far I have had a complete inspection, alignment, tires taken off and remounted and balanced, two days ago they put new tires on. From all of the information I have found on the internet, anyone would be a little crazy to buy this product. Hopefully they get mine fixed before it kills someone. I now have Jeep product that has been branded with the name of death wobble. Makes one really feel safe. I also saw many accidents caused by this same problem. Why are these vehicles still allowed on the highway?

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #11

Jan 102003

Grand Cherokee

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicles' rear end pinion gear is making a noise. The mechanic indicated that they were going bad and needed to be replaced or the entire rear end needs to be re built.

- Wagener, SC, USA

problem #10

Nov 262002

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
No summary.

- Hollis, NH, USA

problem #9

Feb 252002

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Engine check light stays illuminated while driving. Dealer has reset vehicle twice and light has illuminated again. Consumer adds that failure codes were transmission 3rd gear and fuel sending unit.

- Kingston, MA, USA

problem #8

Sep 262001

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Engine check light comes on dashboard, and when she puts it in gear it makes a clunking noise.

- South Hadley, MA, USA

problem #7

Nov 201998

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sensor in dash failed causing rear lights to malfunction.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #6

Feb 011999

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Gasket failure in engine causing oil leakage, oil indicator failed to detect lack of oil on two occasions. Mjs

- Bonita, CA, USA

problem #5

May 241999

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
Mechanic contacted Jeep dealer and was told that although 250,000 Jeep had this problem, this particular model was not affected. No safety defec tmentioned in the summary.

- Edgewood, NM, USA

problem #4

Nov 121998

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While getting out of the vehicle and walking to the trash can, consumer had the vehicle in park and the vehicle popped out of park into reverse and hit another vehicle. Occurred twice, first time driver was able to stop vehicle. The consumer is having problem's with the tranmission, which is not shifting into gears. And the check engine light keep coming on.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #3

Mar 141998

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
The vehicle was purchased on 3/6/98. I began experiencing electrical failure on 3/14/98. The vehicle was returned for non-operative horn and electrical shock on 3/20/98 to benke Chrysler-Plymouth Jeep Eagle. The technician worked on the vehicle for 1 1/2 hours but was unable to find the problem. I was advised to bring the vehicle back or take it to another service center closer to me. I took the vehicle to nolf Chrysler Dodge Inc. On 3/30/98. The technician advised both horns to be faulty with internal shorts. The horns were ordered and replaced a week later. I continued to have severe shocks which I was advised by Jeep dealers were static discharge. On December 15th I was awoke by the constant sound of the horn blowing on my vehicle. The police arrived a short time later. I disconnected the battery to stop the horn from blowing and then contacted benke Chrysler-Plymouth Jeep. I was advised to disconnect the horn relay. The vehicle was then driven to gibsonia (without a horn, once again). The technician worked on the vehicle for 2 hours and I was advised the horn relay was defective. I was awaken again at 11pm by the sound of horn going off at my home and once again the police arrived. There seems to be no known cause to date for this defect. The horn blows for no apparent reason while setting idle and does not shut off till horn relay is pulled or battery is disconnected.

- New Bethelehem, PA, USA

problem #2

Sep 131998

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
No failure described.

- Petaluma, CA, USA

problem #1

Apr 241998

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The Jeep Grand Cherokee does not have a door indicator light. When contacting the dealer, dealer stated that it was not part of vehicle.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?