Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.1

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,579 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #122

Dec 172007

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee with several problems. Consumer states that he has had the heater, power steering pump, brake calipers, and rotors repaired or replaced. Consumer stated rotors were replaced twice after the warranty was up.

- Elgin, IL, USA

problem #121

Jul 012007

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
I own a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee that has 2 potentially dangerous issues with it. Due to a manufacturers design flaw, the brake lights malfunction on a regular basis. The light shorts itself out when the headlights are turned on leaving me with no brakes at night. In addition, the door lock actuator in my rear passenger door has broken. Since Jeep saw fit to only provide a key on the drivers door, this rear door neither locks nor unlocks which would result in a potentially lifethreatening situation if I were involved in a wreck and was unable to exit the vehicle from this door. My cooling fan broke, I replaced with a non-oem model which chewed a hole in my radiator after 100 miles. Replaced radiator and fan. Radiator broke after a year, re-replaced. After searching online I found that these are fairly common problems and not the result of some action on my part.

- High Springs, FL, USA

problem #120

Jan 032007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50 miles
On 2001 I bought a brand new Jeep Grand Cherokee limited from a Jeep dealer, little after I bought it I noticed a vibration when applying the brakes, but I did not think there was anything wrong, brand new and my first 4X4 I thought it was the way 4X4 works. Until about a year ago that I received a letter about a demand made to Chrysler from some other owners of Grand Cherokee that have the same problem and when they went to have it check at the dealer they were told that there was a problem with an uneven surface of the brake rotors. Chrysler never took any action about this factory defect and denied repair of defect. After I received this letter I took my Jeep to the dealer to have it check and I was told the same problem with the front disk rotors was causing the vibration on my car. I contacted DaimlerChrysler by mail on October 2006, asking them to repair the factory defect and they never answer back, then I called them by phone to their customer relations center at 1-800-992-1997 and asked for an answer to my problem but they denied paying for any repair since I was out of the warranty period and I asked for a written decision but it was also denied and only given a reference number 15833938 for my inquire on 1-3-2007. As I said earlier in this letter, I was unaware of any real brake problem with my vehicle until I was contacted by a letter from a third party with the same problem as I dated June 1, 2006. DaimlerChrysler never contacted me about this problem or did any recall on this and that is why I was out of the warranty period. Thank you for reading my complaint and hope something can be done about it so this big corporation take responsibility for their products.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #119

Nov 292006

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rotors, calipers and brakes need cut or replaced anywhere from 1 to 4,000 miles. As of this date, this is my 7th time! a pulsation in braking... the manufacturer has replaced or cut the rotors 6 times, the drive once, the calipers once and the brakes one or two times... I went to an independent on 11-29-06 and had 2 rotors replaced, 2 resurfaced/cut and brakes replaced with 26,500 miles on vehicle. A 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited.

- Murrysville, PA, USA

problem #118

Feb 012006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
Purchased the car used August 2005. First noticed a vibration in the steering when braking around February 2006. Took in to mechanic for oil change and had brakes changed. Was advised that the rotors were warped and needed replaced.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #117

Aug 162006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,713 miles
: the contact stated while braking the steering column vibrated. The harder the brake pedal was applied the more the steering column vibrated. The vehicle was taken to the dealership in 2003 and the rotors were replaced. The vibration returned and the dealership stated the rotors need to be replaced a second time. The vehicle was located in a salt belt state. Updated 10/25/2006 -

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #116

Jul 152005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a new Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo in may of 2001. In July 2005, I noticed a pulsation in the brake pedal when decelerating from highway speeds greater than forty mph. The dealer said the rotors were warped, and recommended replacing the front brake rotors and brake pads. The cost would be over $300. The car has 13,00 miles. But it is over 3 years old, so repairs are not covered under any warranty. This problem is very common, and appears to be linked to the calipers as well as the rotors. Replacing the calipers with design, as well as the rotors and pads reportedly eliminated recurrent problems. Is a recall justified to correct this problem?

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #115

May 032006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
: the contact stated while applying brake pressure at high speeds, there was a pulsation and an increased stopping distance. The vehicle was seen by a dealer and the rotors were replaced. Afterwards, the brake pulsation continued to persist.

- Murrells Inlet, SC, USA

problem #114

Apr 062006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 7-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
: the contact stated when the vehicle reached between 8,000 and 10,000 miles, the rotors begin to warp. The vehicle's rotors were previously warped 10,000 miles before the last occurrence. This primarily occurred while driving 40mph and above. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection. The dealer determined this was normal wear of the rotors; however, the dealer suggested resurfacing the rotors again.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #113

Jan 052006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,400 miles
: the contact stated while applying brake pressure the front of the vehicle the steering wheel and the brake pedal vibrated. The dealership replaced or resurfaced the rotors and replaced the pads three times. The repairs temporarily solved the problem, but it recurred. The local dealer is unwilling to complete further repairs.

- Eugene, OR, USA

problem #112

Nov 092005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. window regulator faulty: 1st incident occurred 9/2003 at 40,000 mi; driver window fell down due to faulty window regulator. Although warranty had expired, manufacture replaced, charged me $50 deductible. 2nd incident occurred 11/05 at 79,700 mi.; front passing window, it fell down due to faulty window regulator. Dealer stated known problem, as did daimler Chrysler, but told me I would have to file a complaint with NHTSA. Was told that is what extended warranty is for. (they apparently do not back their product and are not quick to resolve known defects.) 2. 12/2004 transmission problems (clutch ring): Car would not go in reverse; shifting rough. Was told known problem and was told I was lucky that it wasn't the whole transmission. Repairs approximately $600. 3. brake problems: Warped rotors/calipers/pads replaced at 24,000. I am currently on 3rd set of brakes (just now have 80,000 mi on car). Last set did not last a year. Premature warping, squeaking brakes, rattling car, steering wheel, just like the other complaints listed at NHTSA. Have had a few near accidents due to the shaking. Replaced at my expense except for the 24,000 mi job. 4. emissions code on check engine light: Due to faulty gas cap. Dealer charged me $100 for the diagnostics, and almost 18 for a gas cap. I have never heard of such a think, and feel it is something the mfg should be responsible for since it is an environmental issue. Again, was told I was lucky that it was only a gas cap?? why should I feel lucky when I spend $28,000 for a car that has known issues with the model and the mfg acts as if they didn't care, and tells me I should pay $2500 for an extended warranty. No, they should fix the known problems. We pay that much under the misconception that they stand by their product. As a result, I have problems with tires wearing out sooner than they should and front end alignment issues.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #111

Mar 012003

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee. It has defective brake rotors. Chrysler replaced them once at no charge. At 24,000 miles had to replace the two front rotors on March 2003. After driving another 25,000 miles the front and rear rotors had to be replaced. Currently, consumer is having all four rotors replaced again. A total of six rotors were replaced on this vehicle. Due to the defective rotors consumer had to replace the calipers. Consumer noticed with this line of vehicle there have been a lot of problems with the rotors.

- Westerly, RI, USA

problem #110

May 162005

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited. Had front brake rotors replaced twice due to warping and DC paid eventually as warranty or good faith by DC or dealer (last was due to new service bulletin); brake rotors still warping in service at 39,000 miles--dealer refaced rotors again (3rd time) and at my request replaced rear brake pads--not warranty work or good faith; I had to pay $400. Dealer admits rotors still may only last 5,000 miles since DC Jeep has poorly underdesigned the braking system. Why won't DC Jeep fix problem and reimburse for repairs to inferior equipment?

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #109

Aug 172002

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,622 miles
The brake rotors have been replaced/resurfaced three times. The pads have been replaced, and they still do not stop the vehicle the way they should. The manufacturer offered no help, and the dealers have done all they could do. The rotor become warped and the vehicle would shake violently at 50-60 mph. The consumer was made aware that there were many 2001 Jeep with this same problem. The brakes pulsate when stopping, the vehicle pulled slightly to the left and when hitting bumps, the leaking front steering damper was replaced and both front rotors were resurfaced.

- Lynn, MA, USA

problem #108

Mar 052005

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
Consumer complained about a brake rotor problem. Took vehicle back to the dealer on 3 separate occasions, and was informed that it was possible that the pads were different from the pads that were recommended for this vehicle, giving the driver a spongy effect when applying the brakes. Consumer contacted the manufacturer, who was not trying to remedy this brake rotor problem.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #107

Dec 272002

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,736 miles
The front brakes in the consumer's 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee failed twice within 62000 miles. The consumer stated the manufacturer makes faulty rotors that warp, that caused the front brakes to pulsate so bad the consumer had difficulty coming to a stop.

- Danville, IL, USA

problem #106

Oct 072002

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
The rotors on my 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee warped at 12,000 miles. Chrysler replaced the front brake pads, calipers, and rotors. The rotors warped again at 29,000 miles--only 17,000 miles later. During both failures, there was a noticeable pulsating, shaking sensation from the front end when braking at speeds of 30-35 mph and above. The key event leading up to the failure was use of the brakes--unfortunately the brakes are a very integral component of my Jeep--as they are for the many other owners of 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee who are experiencing this very same failure over and over again. Brakes that don't work or perform the way they are designed and intended to work are a huge safety issue. I implore you to issue a recall since Chrysler will do nothing past the 12,000 mile point. Chrysler must be forced to repair these vehicles with quality parts or someone is going to become another vehicle fatality statistic.

- Warrensburg, MO, USA

problem #105

Mar 152005

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
Consumer complained about a brake problem. The rotors warped, causing the brake pads to wear out prematurely and effect the brake performance. Vehicle is currently out of warranty. Provide further details.

- Sandston, VA, USA

problem #104

Oct 012002

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,864 miles
While driving 45 mph brakes were applied and the vehicle vibrated uncontrollably. Vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection, and mechanic determined that the rotors needed to be replaced, and replaced them three times. However, the problem recurred. Manufacturer notified. Problem occurs every 6-8,000 miles.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #103

Sep 012002

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Vehicle vibrated/shook severely when braking from 40 mph or more. Consumer stated the front rotors warped, and /or out of round every 10,000 miles. Dealer was notified.

- Castro Valley, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?