Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,060 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #75

Jan 052007

Grand Cherokee

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

No heat on passenger side in January 2007, September 2007 no air both sides, then November 2007 no heat at all from both sides. The Jeep has been in and out of the dealer all year with many issues, as employee of Chrysler, I love my Jeep that I purchased new, just not happy with the repair work needed all the time.

- Litchfield Park Avenue, AZ, USA

problem #74

Oct 212007

Grand Cherokee

  • 65,000 miles
The heater/air conditioner began working less and less efficiently. Now neither will work at all, causing my family to travel unless the weather is just right. Nothing the repairs cost $1400.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #73

Jan 012008

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
This is a complaint against NHTSA. It appears that even though 100's of consumers have complained about a certain problem with the air flow blend door on Jeep gc products nothing is done about it. It is obvious that this failure is a defect and not a wear and tear problem. I am sure there would be 1000's of complaints but not everyone knows about this site or they don¿T have a computer. It appears that this web site does nothing but allow people to vent about problems with their vehicles and nothing more is done about it or with it. Our tax dollars pay these people at NHTSA and we get nothing for our money. They don't care about how much money it costs you to fix something and they don¿T care if it could possibly cause you physical injury or emotional pain because if they did then they would have determined that this problem is a defect.. this is not the first time I have been personally affected by the actions, well lack of actions by the NHTSA. I feel it is a waste of time for anyone to file a complaint with the NHTSA since they do nothing with the information you give them. Have a happy holiday season all you Jeep Grand Cherokee owners.

- Chicago Ridge, IL, USA

problem #72

Oct 292008

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Blend doors failed on 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Cannot get heat, defrost windows, etc. This happen to our Jeep at 80,000 miles, but I have heard from many Jeep owners with the same problem, some happening as soon as 40,000 miles. This is clearly a manufacturing defect and is a safety issue if one cannot properly defrost windows. Cost is $1,200 to repair per dealership.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #71

Oct 102008

Grand Cherokee

  • 62,000 miles
Apparently there is a huge number of Jeep Grand Cherokee owners with defective blend door actuators. I am one of them. I own a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited and have no heat on my passenger side. No defrost, big safety issue. Dealer quotes over $1,000 to repair. I can't afford that!

- Aurora, OR, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #70

Sep 112007

Grand Cherokee

  • 115,000 miles
In the fall of 2007, the heat on the passenger side of 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee stopped working. I did some online research and this problem was so common that I easily found plenty of people with the exact same problem that were able to self-diagnose the problem using the Jeep internal computer to output the system faults. Using the same method to enter the azc self-diagnostic mode, the climate control display output the system fault codes 52-54-56. Since most of the consumers I've run into with this problem get that exact code, or have had the same problem diagnosed by a Jeep dealership service department, I already know that it will cost anywhere from $1000+ to be repaired, the majority of it being labor as the entire instrument panel assembly has to be removed. To address this problem, daimler-Chrysler released tsb 2400104 - new HVAC sub-assembly replaces blend or recirc door components. Each new sub-assembly consists of several individual components. The new sub-assemblies improve component reliability. It is recommended that the respective sub-assembly be installed if a blend air door(s), a recirculation door, a door link, or a sub-assembly housing requires replacement. These new parts cost less than $200 according to the bulletin, but I find it hard to believe that daimler-Chrysler expects their customers to pick up the tab on a design flaw. Especially a design flaw that is so labor intensive that even though the parts are less than $200, the final bill will be more than $1,000. A job so consuming that it wouldn't be wise to have it serviced by anything but a Jeep service technician. Not to mention some repair shops wont even take on the job due to the time and possible accountability of such a project. This is a major safety issue; not only because you lose the ability to defrost but of the effects extreme cold can have on a body too. The nhtsb needs to address this with daimler chrylser.

- Naples, ME, USA

problem #69

Oct 102006

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The A/C, and heater does not work properly!!! on my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited (wj), the heat does not work on the drivers side, there is a flap under the dash that is jammed shut, so the heat only works on one side!!! I got a quote to get this problem repaired, and it was 800-1200 minimum!!!!

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #68

Oct 062008

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,000 miles
This is in regards to the blend door issue on Jeep Grand Cherokee models that have the dual climate control. The fact that this issue is imminent in nearly every one of these vehicles is disturbing enough in itself, but what is downright unacceptable is that the average cost to repair ranges from 1000.00-1300.00!! this issue is so prevalent that 3 different Jeep site forums have had so many Jeep owners bring this up that it has become a posted issue. I have recently purchased a 2002 model and, knock on wood, have not experienced this issue. I believe it actually may have already been taken care of, but in the event that I am wrong, I can only hope and pray that DC/Jeep has stepped up and done what is right, and, at the very least, as a recall/tsb, covers a large portion of this repair.

- Pea Ridge, AR, USA

problem #67

Oct 112006

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles
The car does not blow heat on the passenger side. Apparently there is a well known problem with the blend doors and the actuators. It is very dangerous in the winter when the right side of the Jeep does not defrost because no worm air blows out. No visibility.

- Oshawa, 00, USA

problem #66

Aug 092008

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,765 miles
Brought my 02 Jeep Grand Cherokee in November 2007 had problems with the heat mode blowing cold out the passenger side vents. To stop this and make the passenger side feel the heat I had to tape up the vents on the passenger side. Well summer of 2008 began so I remove the tape from the vents. With the ac on the air flow was weak the as was recharged the driver side blew cold, but passenger side was weak. Around August turn on the ac nothing but a very weak airflow from both sides. The possible villains blend air doors and the air recirculation door. Cost from dealer to repair $1,000 to $1,200 the winter of 2008/ 2009 is approaching no heat and defrost. Could get dangerous. Pleas help!!!!!!!!

- Suitland, MD, USA

problem #65

Oct 312007

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The heat on the passenger side of the Jeep is blowing cold air in winter, even when it is set to maximum heat. The dealer told me that there is a service bulletin on the blend door and they want over $700 dollars to fix it. My question is if they know there is a problem with it from design how come they don't fix it for free and why should I pay for it when they knew they sold me a bad design. Also now the ac is blowing hot air and they are telling me it is the same problem with the blend doors. This is a safety issue since in the winter I can not defrost the front windshield and have to pull over to clean the ice and fog build up from inside the window.

- Oshawa, 00, USA

problem #64

Nov 072007

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,000 miles
HVAC unit in my Jeep wj, 2002, broke. Determined to be blend door and recirculation door malfunction. Common problem with very expensive repair!!!

- Reading, MA, USA

problem #63

Dec 012007

Grand Cherokee

  • 65,000 miles
Repeated climate control blend door failure on 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee.

- Bismarck, ND, USA

problem #62

May 192008

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Blend door failure in 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. May 19, 2008.

- Thomasville, GA, USA

problem #61

Mar 252008

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
I own a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited and it is equipped with dual climate control. I've noticed a funny noise coming from the bottom of the dash it almost sounds like a twisting or a clapping noise. Just recently I needed to turn on my heater because it was really cold out and for some reason although the temp was set all the way too high it was still blowing cold air from the driver side. However, the passenger side still worked fine. I bought this vehicle used and I know it will cost way more than I can ever afford for this repair. I have investigated this issue and understand that the problem is imminent to Jeep owners. I understand that the company feels it is not a safety issue but a luxury. However it is for most of us that own a SUV it is because we need to Transport our families comfortably. For that is what they advertise. I have a new born child and I think it is ridicules I can not Transport her in my Jeep because it is to cold for her and she would be at risk of getting pneumonia, because the Chrysler corporation has failed to take care of their customers. Please help us in making the company fix their inadequate climate control problem and live up to their expectations.

- Anthony , NM, USA

problem #60

Jan 212008

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,800 miles
Cold air blowing from passenger side vents and windshield defroster regardless of control or temp settings. Driver side temp adjustments work properly, but passenger side and windshield defroster controls do not provide any heat. Windshield does not defrost, as temp mix is not functioning for passenger vents or for windshield defroster. Problem has not been resolved.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #59

Jul 152007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
I purchased my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited 2 years ago, and 6 months ago, the passenger side blend door actuator died as well as broke the blend door itself upon inspection. This is a problem as it takes removal of the entire dashboard, draining and refilling the ac system and draining and refilling the antifreeze. I spent greater than 10 hours working on the problem. This is not just an isolated incident as there are entire websites set up to help fix the problem (www.wjjeeps.com/hvac_sub_assembly.htm). there are numerous message boards relating this problem, and even a company who sells a metal replacement to the plastic part.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #58

Nov 192007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
Climate control blend door failure - fogged up front window and nearly caused an accident.

- River Forest, IL, USA

problem #57

Sep 052007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
I own a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland edition with dual climate zones. When the heat is on, passenger side vents blow cold air. Driver side vents blow warm air. In looking on jeepforum.com, it appears that this is happening to most people who own this type of vehicle. It is a known blend door issue.

- St. Paul, MN, USA

problem #56

Feb 012007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
Heater blend door broken. No heat at all!! kind of dangerous if you can't defrost your windows because you have no heat. This is a very common occurrence for my model Jeep Grand Cherokee.

- Wabash, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?