Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,713 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Dec 012002

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger side HVAC blows cold air only.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #29

Mar 132008

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,785 miles
The blend doors on my 2002 grand Jeep Cherokee have broken and no heat to defroster or to interior car. Jeep mixed problem in 2004 models but refuses to issue a recall. This is a major problem/safety issue since windshield will not defrost and cause potential accident. Many people have left messages to your website about this over the yrs. Why are you not doing anything" does someone have to die first" I guess so. Thanks.

- Shohola, PA, USA

problem #28

Dec 052007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,500 miles
I own a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland with 44,500 miles. The events leading up to the failure of the ventilation system were (1) rapid fogging of front windshield, (2) fogging of front passenger windows, (3) failure of passenger heat while still maintaining driver heat function, and (4) only cold air release on passenger side of Jeep. Consequently, (1) the windshield and front windows do not defog, and (2) no heat whatsoever comes from the passenger side floor and dashboard ventilation system. In addition to the fogging there is a leak of antifreeze, hazardous material, coming into the vehicle driver and passenger areas, due to defective heater core. To correct this problem, a "blend air door" is necessary and a new heater core at a cost of approximately $1,700 inclusive of 7 hours of labor. According to the certified service department at the local Jeep dealer and online forums, this has become a very common problem for 2000-2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee limiteds/overlands with dual zone ventilation systems.

- Lawrence, MA, USA

problem #27

Oct 112006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problem started right after I purchased my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited in Oct 2006. Passenger side heat vents started blowing really cold air. Took it to a mechanic..he said the blend doors were bad. It was not covered under warranty. Well I got the dealership I bought the Jeep from to pay for it which was around $900. Well then in Jan 2008 my heat started turning on and off by itself. Finally yesterday 1/30/08 my heat just stopped working. I called my warranty provider..of course this is not covered. I called Jeep dealership said it will cost $1200 to fix the everything. It is -24 degrees outside and my window keeps fogging up then freezing..a total safety issue. I do not have this type of money to fix it. I have called Chrysler and I did not get anywhere with them. Same voice recorded message. I have looked over and over to see if this problem with the heat was common and it is really common for 2002 jgc limited. Someone needs to do something. This is totally uncalled for.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #26

Dec 202007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
Heating/ac non-functioning. Blows only cold air. Jeep Grand Cherokee 2002. Started @ 75,000 mi with only cold air on passenger side, 1 year later only cold air both sides. Jeep dealer wants $1200 to replace a "blend door" behind the glove compartment. Many other Jeep owners with same problem.

- Ocala, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Nov 202007

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Heat doesn't work at all and the ventilation system creaks loudly.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #24

Dec 232007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Broken blend doors and actuator in heating system on 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #23

Nov 202007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact noticed that the heating and cooling system did not work. She called the local dealer and they instructed her to bring the vehicle in for inspection. While driving at an unknown speed to the dealer, she noticed freon rising from the instrument panel. As a result, other components of the engine and engine cooling system began to fail. The air conditioning and heater no longer worked. The dealer stated that not only had her blower motor and resister failed, but the heater core, evaporator core, actuator, and blend door (which no longer provided heat on the driver side of the vehicle) were corroded as well. The dealer further stated that the freon from the instrument panel originated from the evaporator core, indicating the presence of ethanol (toxic gas). The manufacturer has not offered any assistance and stated that the failures were due to lack of maintenance. Currently, the estimated cost that the contact has spent on repairs is $2,000. The vehicle is at the dealer and has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 91,000 and current mileage was 91,350.

- Dover, NH, USA

problem #22

Nov 202007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
First there was the recall on the electric radiator fan, and now consequently the heater, or blower doesn't produce hot air. There has been multiple hundreds of these similar problems within the past year check this link to secure the validity of this argument www.topix.com/forum/autos/Jeep-grand-Cherokee/tserat48371icob68/P14.

- Lake Geneva , WI, USA

problem #21

Nov 232007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles
I have a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited and always heard noises from the vent since I bought the Jeep, got it checked out when it was under warranty and they did something to the actuator. A little over a year ago I had coolant leaking into my car on the passenger side, had to get a new heater core ($800) then when they finished no heat was coming out, it was the blend door so they had to redo all the work in getting in there ($350 after I complained), 3 months ago, same problem heater core leak ($920), now 3 months after that I have no heat, took it in last week, blend door problem and $730. I have no heat in my Jeep!! I cannot believe they do not have a recall for this problem with so many people having the same issue and I have had it twice! something should be done.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #20

Jun 202007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Heating sysytem problem in my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited (no heat at all).

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #19

Oct 242007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles
My heat stopped working in my vehicle and I can not defrost my windows.

- Weymouth, NJ, USA

problem #18

Jan 122006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2002 Grand Cherokee limited blows cold on pass. Side and hot on driver side. It has done this for some time. I found out that there are many Jeep doing this. Please help....

- Smyrna, TN, USA

problem #17

Oct 152007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,900 miles
My Jeep 2000 Grand Cherokee suddenly will produce no heat, this is a safety concern since the windows will not defog and can create serious visibility problems. The heating system will only blow cold air, which can suddenly create condensation on the window and entirely obscure visibility. There were no events leading up to the failure, it just stopped working. Upon a short bit of research, it seems to be a very common problem with Jeep Grand Cherokee's from 2000-2004 and Jeep will not acknowledge it as a manufacturing defect even though thousands upon thousands are having this same safety problem happen to them.

- Raymond, NH, USA

problem #16

Oct 262007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
We own a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The heating system stopped blowing hot air. When we took it in to the dealership they informed us that the blend doors were not functioning. They said this is a common problem on the Jeep and that cost to repair it would be in the neighborhood of $1200. Apparently the entire dash needs to be removed and this takes 6hrs of labor to accomplish.

- Rosemount, MN, USA

problem #15

Sep 082006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The heater has stopped working blowing only cold air out of the vents, doesn't properly defrost windows, so when driving on cold days the window fogs up causing a hazard, very difficult to see, almost hit some other cars because of the lack of visibility. Not to mention driving in a freezing car with my young child.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #14

Sep 302007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,200 miles
Heat not working on driver's side of car. Blower works sporadically and when it does work, cold air coming out of driver and center blowers. Heat does come out passenger side. Without defrost cannot drive vehicle in the cold. Had to bring in for service, just got $900 estimate to replace blend door and actuator. Have no choice but to pay this due to the climate I live in. This 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee has 71,00 miles on it.

- Wilmington, MA, USA

problem #13

Sep 152007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,850 miles
No heat from the passengers side of dual climate control systems well as odd odor. Would not clear the windshield of condensation. Jeep dealer recommended replacing the control unit ($500 plus labor) turns out the passenger side blend door was broken and the heater had to be replaced. The whole dash had to be removed, a $1200 - $2100 dealer job. I had the system repaired for about $850 at a private repair facility. This should not have happened to a vehicle with under 70,000 mile on it.

- North Reading, MA, USA

problem #12

Sep 282007

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The heater does not work on my Jeep, it blows cold air. I took it to a dealer and it will cost me anywhere from $1,600 to $1,800 to repair the blend doors. I see on many web sites that this is an extremely common problem. Why has Jeep not stood up and taken responsibility for this faulty equipment? I am a 20 year old and I do not have the income for the payment, insurance and the costly repair.

- Waynesboro, VA, USA

problem #11

Jun 012007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The dual-zone climate control on the Jeep Grand Cherokee overland stopped working. The 2 vents in the center of the dashboard respond to the climate control settings, and blow the appropriate temperature air. The remaining 3 vents in the dash, and 2 additional floor vents only blow air that is the temperature of the outside air., in the summer time, 2 vents blow cold air, and the remaining 5 blow hot air. And in the winter, the opposite happens; 2 vents blow warm air, and the remaining 5 blow cold air. This was my second Grand Cherokee that has had this problem, and my brother's Grand Cherokee has also had this same exact problem. Upon speaking with dealers, it seems like hundreds of trucks need to have this identical issue fixed. It was related to the blend doors, which ere part of the dual zone system.

- Hoboken, NJ, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?