Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,902 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee cooling system problems

cooling system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #50

Mar 262007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact owns a 2002 Chrysler Jeep Grand Cherokee. The vehicle was overheating and the fan was vibrating. The failure mileage was 115,000. The contact had the fan assembly replaced, and approximately one month later he received a recall for the fan assembly. The contact mailed the receipts to DaimlerChrysler. The manufacturer denied reimbursement because they believed that the fan blades did not need to be replaced. The contact has the repair invoice. The current and failure mileage were 115000. Ak the consumer stated the Jeep has ran perfect since the repair but daimler Chrysler refuses to honor their recall notice. Updated 08/13/07

- Silver Spring , MD, USA

problem #49

Jun 142006

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Customer has concern about recall F-25- electric radiator fan** the vehicle's fan broke.

- Trujillo Alto, PR, USA

problem #48

Jun 102006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Safety recall F25-electric radiator fan.

- Weatherford, TX, USA

problem #47

Feb 032007

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall for my Jeep grcher Laredo-VIN 1J4gx58S82C29xxxx to replace the plastic fan belt. The dealer tamiami Chrysler Jeep miami fl, claimed they did not have the part in stock. After three call over a two month period, no response form the deal to fix. In the meantime the fan belt fractured and separated and damaged the radiator. We took the car to the dealer and they fixed the problem, but charged us $387.34.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #46

Dec 232006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
- while driving at 10 mph the blade from the cooling fan popped off and penetrated the radiator. The mileage at the time of failure was 33000. The contact was concerned because she felt that vehicle should be covered under NHTSA recall 06V199000.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #45

Oct 252006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Unable to remedy safety recall F25 - electric radiator fan.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #44

Nov 082006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated a NHTSA recall letter #F25 for the engine and engine cooling: Cooling system: Fan, was received two months after the electric fan blade module was replaced. The manufacturer refused to reimburse the contact due to the module being replaced and not just the fan blades. Updated 1/19/2007 - the vehicle had been overheating as a result of the failure.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #43

Jun 232006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,169 miles
My wife & I own a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee that we purchased new. We had overheating problems with the vehicle and took it to our Chrysler dealership June 23, 2006 to have it repaired. The dealership determined that among other things, the cooling fan was not working properly and needed to be replaced. I had researched the problem and learned from your website that on June 6th, , 2006 Chrysler group announced that it was recalling our Jeep cooling fan for potential separation of the fan blades (attachment). I told our repair advisor of the announced recall and despite having an unrelated problem with the fan I didn't want to pay to replace a part that Chrysler was going to replace per the recall. He told me that because Chrysler had not completed the administration of the recall I would have to cover the cost of repairs but would be reimbursed when the recall made it through the system. On August 30, Chrysler completed the administration of the recall; I followed the instructions for reimbursement and was reached by a Chrysler customer service representative by telephone. The representative stated that I was not going to be reimbursed for repairs because the recall notification occurred August 30 and I had replaced the recalled fan June 22nd for an unrelated problem. I stated that the recall was announced June 6th; I replaced the fan after that date; my statement fell on deaf ears. I believe Chrysler is failing to live up to the recall; Chrysler should reimburse me for the replacement of the cooling fan plus labor because I had replaced it at my expense more than two weeks after the recall was officially announced. I should not be castigated because Chrysler took greater than two months to administer the recall. Please contact me with what you feel is the proper remedy.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #42

Oct 162006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles
: the contact stated a NHTSA recall letter # 06V199000 regarding the engine and engine cooling: Cooling system: Fan was received after the fan blades fractured and caused damage to the radiator and the engine, while driving 5 mph. An independent service dealer replaced the fan and repaired the radiator. Then the vehicle was towed to the service dealer for repair to the engine. The manufacturer was notified.

- Alexandria, KY, USA

problem #41

Oct 302006

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Consumer complaint requesting reimbursement for electric radiator fan on 2002 Grand Cherokee. The failure occurred while the vehicle was being driven 65 mph. The fan broke it caused damage to the radiator which caused the vehicle to overheat.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #40

Apr 062005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,414 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving 35 mph, there was a loud clunking noise heard from the front end of the vehicle. This was followed by the temperature warning light illuminating, and the engine overheating. The vehicle was towed to a service dealer, who determined that the cooling fan had separated. The radiator fan, the shroud and the radiator were all replaced. There was a NHTSA recall # 06V199000, which pertains to the engine cooling fan. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Plum, PA, USA

problem #39

Jun 022006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
: the contact stated the engine overheated and cracked the radiator due to the radiator fan having fractured into pieces. The service dealer was contacted for repairs. The contact heard of a recall for the same issue in a news report, but was informed by the service dealer and manufacturer that there was no such recall in effect. At a later date the manufacturer was notified of a NHTSA recall #06V199000; regarding engine and engine cooler, cooling system fan by the contact. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #38

Aug 252006

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
: the contact stated while the vehicle was started with a child with down syndrome standing outside of the vehicle, the fan blades broke resulting in a loud pop. The blades dented the radiator and broke the shroud. The contact expressed concern regarding the safety of her child during this incident. In June 2006, the vehicle was taken to the dealer for a noise and it over-heated. The dealer could not determined the problem with the vehicle. The contact believes the incident was related to the recent failure.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #37

Aug 262006

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle's cooling system fan went out. The vehicle had the same symptoms as described under recall 06V199000. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer stated they will not reimburse the contact.

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #36

Aug 252006

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On 6/19/06 we took the Jeep in to ancira Jeep on 281 N. because of overheating and a rumbling noise. They checked it out and found nothing wrong with the fan or motor and paid $80.50. Now on Friday 8/25/96 we heard a loud pop sound and then the car started to overheat, stopped the car until it cooled down and checked the water levels in the radiator. On 8/26 had a mechanic look at it and found the that all the blades to the fan were broken off and had broken the radiator shield and dented the radiator. We can not drive the car if it is overheating and looking at all the complaints it is clear that this is a major recall issue that needs to be 1-800-853-1403 for close to 2 hours during my breaks and still have been unable to get some assistance. I do have a reference # and will keep trying later after I get out of work. Please, please we need assistance, my son needs his car to drive to college and we his parents have to work. Thank you for any assistance.

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #35

Aug 232006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,566 miles
Large vibration in car was noted along with noises emanating from under the hood. I lifted the hood to find the radiator and shroud shaking violently and pieces of plastic was thrown from the fan at me!. it seems one of the blades broke off subsequently causing the fan to be out of balance and break apart destroying the shroud --blades also went into the radiator and damaged it as well.

- Manhasset, NY, USA

problem #34

Aug 152006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,980 miles
: the contact stated while parked with the engine running a noise was observed under the hood. After inspecting the vehicle the plastic blades of the electric motor fan separated and penetrated the shroud and radiator. There was a recall #06V199000 pertaining to the engine and engine cooling:cooling system:fan. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. The manufacturer was contacted.

- Englishtown, NJ, USA

problem #33

Aug 242004

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
My Jeep experienced the failure in the NHTSA campaign id 06V199000 prior to the recall. At the time, I contacted Chrysler to see if this was warranted part. They advised me it was not and that I should have the car repaired on my own. In 6/06, I saw the announcement of the recall. I have contacted Chrysler numerous times regarding the recall and been told that my VIN # is not included in the recall and that they cannot help me. What recourse do I have to be reimbursed for my out of pocket expenses for a product failure that was recalled?

- West Islip, NY, USA

problem #32

Aug 132006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 15 mph, there was a popping noise from under the hood. The steering wheel vibrated, which prompted the contact to take the vehicle to a private repair shop. The certified mechanic determined that the cooling fan had separated and destroyed the fan shroud. The pieces also damaged the radiator, causing a major coolant leak. The repair shop replaced the cooling fan, radiator, and the fan shroud. There was a pending NHTSA recall # 06V199000, pertaining to the cooling system fan. The recall was expected to begin during August 2006. Updated 10/25/2006 - the manufacturer reimbursed the consumer for the cost of the repairs.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #31

Aug 082006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,187 miles
I have a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee that the fan blade came apart on and went through the radiator and I am told by two dealers that there is no recall out. The old parts were available to fix it.

- Edwardsville, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?