Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
27 / 2
Average Mileage:
44,012 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 13 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #190

May 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA recall campaign: 12V527000 (air bags). The contact mentioned that the first notice was received in December of 2012 and a second notice was received in January of 2013. The manufacturer was contacted on numerous occasions where it was advised that the parts for the recall were not available. The dealer was unable to perform the recall repairs due to parts not being available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Burkfield, WI, USA

problem #189

Mar 222011

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,000 miles
TL- the contact owns 1996 and 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice and took his vehicle in for repairs and was told that parts are not available. -hb

- Felicity, OH, USA

problem #188

Jan 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received two recall notifications for NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags). The contact stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Felicity, OH, USA

problem #187

May 102014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 150,674 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took my vehicle to bill bryan Chrysler in friutland park Florida, after making appointment for Saturday 5/10/14 at 8am, checked my vehicle in. My vehicle was service from 8am- 1130am air bag light was still on, new my gear shift, was cracked, I had siliconed it. Now today 5/15/14 I am at work and I just notice that my emergency brake back cover was broke, now this I do not understand there was nothing wrong with my E-brake handle, I understand that this is a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee, but I really don't think my vehicle should have been treated like that, I do know that there is a big problem here in the South, or maybe it's Chrysler it's self but I really don't think a vehicle service, and a broken part after being returned to the customer, I do think that someone should have said something pertaining to the broken part, I would never have anything serviced by Chrysler at all, the better business people should know how bill bryan Chrysler in friutland park treats it's customers no matter weather it's a recall appointment or not.

- Leesburg, FL, USA

problem #186

May 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • 129,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact's vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and was taken to an authorized dealer, who performed the recall repair however, the air bag sensor warning light was illuminated. The contact stated tha the air bag warning light did not illuminate prior to the recall repair being performed. The vehicle was scheduled for a diagnostic test with an authorized dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 129,000.

- Campbellsburg, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #185

Apr 232014

Grand Cherokee

  • 103,000 miles
NHTSA recall 12V-527 states that an electrical overstress condition could damage the occupant restraint control (orc) module, causing the air bag light to illuminate and possible air bag deployment. On April 23, 2014 the local Chrysler dealer made a wiring change to address the recall notice, but the air bag light remained on. The local dealer claims that the air bag module is defective requiring approximately $450 to replace it. If the condition of the recall could cause damage to the orc module, why wasn't it included as part of the recall by Chrysler?

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #184

Feb 112014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to airbag and seat belt problems. The consumer stated the parts finally arrived after waiting for five months, he took the vehicle to the dealer to have the air bag and seat belt light rectified, since they were on. When he arrived to pick up the vehicle, he was informed, the recall did not resolve the problem. He was informed the air bag would not properly deploy in the event of a collision, if the air bag light was on. After further diagnosis of the problem, the dealer informed him the occupant restraint control module would have to be replaced. The consumer stated the original orc module was defective, he believed it should have been covered under the recall. Status update. Updated 06/17/14

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #183

May 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to a faulty air bag sensor. The consumer stated the air bag illuminated back in 2011. He received a recall issue in June 2013. When he went to the dealer, he was informed the parts were not available. In February 2014, the parts arrived and the sensor was replaced. However, the light illuminated again 4 days later. The consumer returned to the dealer, and was informed the air bag sensor was bad and it needed to be replaced at a cost of$200.

- Frankenmuth, MI, USA

problem #182

Apr 282014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the passenger's side air bag warning light was constantly illuminated with or without a passenger occupying the seat. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and was repaired three times due to the recurring failure. The contact stated that the vehicle was still exhibiting the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure and current mileages were unknown. Kmj updated 6/27/14 updated 07/08/2014

- Englewood, FL, USA

problem #181

Nov 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) but was advised by the dealer that the part needed to complete the repair was not available. The contact received the first recall notice a year ago and had recently received a second recall notice for the same repair. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide a reasonable timeframe for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. the contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mahanoy, PA, USA

problem #180

Apr 162014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 158,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rollover accident and no airbags deployed. Left hand injured from the broken glass. Unable to sleep due to the incident. Recall was sent but the part was never in or issued prior to the crash.

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #179

Apr 142014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the air bag wiring harness needed to be replaced and was repaired under NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags). After the repair, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 07/15/14 MA the consumer stated the occupant restraint module needed to be replaced an was not covered under the recall. Updated 07/18/2014

- Two Harbors, MN, USA

problem #178

Jun 292013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to airbag system occupant restraint control module recall issues. The dealer informed the consumer, the part was not available, due to it being on back order.

- Bayside, NY, USA

problem #177

Mar 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact was driving approximately 25 mph and crashed into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained neck and back injuries, and a police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Arverne, NY, USA

problem #176

Apr 072014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
I called the Jeep dealership in brooklyn park, mn, to schedule work related to the ocr module recall notice we received in the mail from Chrysler. The Jeep dealership stated they do not have the parts to perform this recall and do not know where we can go to have the work done. Thus, per the written recall notice, we are completing this online complaint form. We would appreciate help to determine how we can get this recall work completed on our 2002 Jeep. Thank you in advance.

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

problem #175

Feb 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 83,082 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number:12V527000 (air bags) but was advised by the dealer that the part needed to complete the repair was not available. The contact had received the notice months ago and had continued to contact the dealer to no avail. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the seatbelt sensor, right front sensor needed to be repaired in addition to the orc module repair pertaining to the recall. The vehicle had not been repaired and the sensor light had continued to illuminate at random for the airbag. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 83082.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #174

Mar 032014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag system recall notice and vehicle starter problems. When the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, for the recall, the dealer informed the consumer the vehicle wouldn't start. The dealer stated a starter was needed.

- Waverly, IA, USA

problem #173

Oct 152012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
It has been a year and half since I received my first notice that my Jeep had a recall. Safety recall M35/NHTSA 12-527. I have contacted my Jeep dealer at least four time in the last 12 months and was told there wasn't any parts for the repair or recall. How long do I have to wait for the repair as Chrysler does seem to care if there are any parts to fix this recall.

- Derby, KS, USA

problem #172

Feb 082011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated his air bag light came on and continuously stayed on. The contact stated that the manufacturer repaired the failure, however the failure recurred. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 05/12/14 updated 05/15/14

- Hodges, SC, USA

problem #171

Mar 082011

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags ) was performed the recall repairs but the air bag warning light remained illuminated after the repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 125,000.

- Holiday , FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?