10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
31 / 2
Average Mileage:
44,060 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 13 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #197

Aug 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Forsyth, GA, USA

problem #196

Jan 072013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received recall notices for NHTSA campaign numbers: 12V525000 (seats) and 12V527000 (air bags) however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #195

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to airbag light illuminated. The consumer stated the air bag light illuminated two months after the vehicle was purchased. The air bag light was on the day, she test drove the vehicle. However, she was assured the issue would be fixed.

- Sheboygan Falls, WI, USA

problem #194

Jun 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • 52,410 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that after having the vehicle repaired under recall NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The dealer and manufacturer were made aware of the failure. However, decline to offer an alternative remedy. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 52,410.

- Lutherville Timonium, MD, USA

problem #193

Mar 012011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Airbag recall (M35 / NHTSA 12V-527). After repairs were completed on 03/26/2014 the airbag and seatbelt warning lights still on. Dealer was not able to repair the defect. On 06/16/2014 dealer still not able to identify the cause and asked for $250 to further inspect the car to determine the cause. Dealer wrote on paperwork "no communication from orc need more time (and money) to diagnose. Customer declined at this time". I received the first notice in Jan 2013 and the official recall months later. No parts were available for months. As soon as I received the recall notice I took the vehicle to the dealer. How can it take almost two years (from fall 2012) and still no solution to the problem? it is obvious that the manufacturer is delaying the repair as much as possible to reduce overtime the number of repairs.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #192

Feb 282014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 144,145 miles
Airbag recall (M35 / NHTSA 12V-527). After repairs were completed the airbag warning light was on. Dealer stated that I had brought it in that way - not true. So I'm not sure if the problem has actually been fixed. Dealer needs to complete repairs by fixing the cause of the warning light being on.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #191

Mar 012013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 169,456 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sent a recall notice, but seems parts are still not available..... have airbag light on and off and afraid of bags inflating.

- Oldsmar, FL, USA

problem #190

May 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA recall campaign: 12V527000 (air bags). The contact mentioned that the first notice was received in December of 2012 and a second notice was received in January of 2013. The manufacturer was contacted on numerous occasions where it was advised that the parts for the recall were not available. The dealer was unable to perform the recall repairs due to parts not being available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Burkfield, WI, USA

problem #189

Mar 222011

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,000 miles
TL- the contact owns 1996 and 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice and took his vehicle in for repairs and was told that parts are not available. -hb

- Felicity, OH, USA

problem #188

Jan 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received two recall notifications for NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags). The contact stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Felicity, OH, USA

problem #187

May 102014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 150,674 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took my vehicle to bill bryan Chrysler in friutland park Florida, after making appointment for Saturday 5/10/14 at 8am, checked my vehicle in. My vehicle was service from 8am- 1130am air bag light was still on, new my gear shift, was cracked, I had siliconed it. Now today 5/15/14 I am at work and I just notice that my emergency brake back cover was broke, now this I do not understand there was nothing wrong with my E-brake handle, I understand that this is a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee, but I really don't think my vehicle should have been treated like that, I do know that there is a big problem here in the South, or maybe it's Chrysler it's self but I really don't think a vehicle service, and a broken part after being returned to the customer, I do think that someone should have said something pertaining to the broken part, I would never have anything serviced by Chrysler at all, the better business people should know how bill bryan Chrysler in friutland park treats it's customers no matter weather it's a recall appointment or not.

- Leesburg, FL, USA

problem #186

May 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • 129,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact's vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and was taken to an authorized dealer, who performed the recall repair however, the air bag sensor warning light was illuminated. The contact stated tha the air bag warning light did not illuminate prior to the recall repair being performed. The vehicle was scheduled for a diagnostic test with an authorized dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 129,000.

- Campbellsburg, IN, USA

problem #185

Apr 232014

Grand Cherokee

  • 103,000 miles
NHTSA recall 12V-527 states that an electrical overstress condition could damage the occupant restraint control (orc) module, causing the air bag light to illuminate and possible air bag deployment. On April 23, 2014 the local Chrysler dealer made a wiring change to address the recall notice, but the air bag light remained on. The local dealer claims that the air bag module is defective requiring approximately $450 to replace it. If the condition of the recall could cause damage to the orc module, why wasn't it included as part of the recall by Chrysler?

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #184

Feb 112014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to airbag and seat belt problems. The consumer stated the parts finally arrived after waiting for five months, he took the vehicle to the dealer to have the air bag and seat belt light rectified, since they were on. When he arrived to pick up the vehicle, he was informed, the recall did not resolve the problem. He was informed the air bag would not properly deploy in the event of a collision, if the air bag light was on. After further diagnosis of the problem, the dealer informed him the occupant restraint control module would have to be replaced. The consumer stated the original orc module was defective, he believed it should have been covered under the recall. Status update. Updated 06/17/14

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #183

May 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to a faulty air bag sensor. The consumer stated the air bag illuminated back in 2011. He received a recall issue in June 2013. When he went to the dealer, he was informed the parts were not available. In February 2014, the parts arrived and the sensor was replaced. However, the light illuminated again 4 days later. The consumer returned to the dealer, and was informed the air bag sensor was bad and it needed to be replaced at a cost of$200.

- Frankenmuth, MI, USA

problem #182

Apr 282014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the passenger's side air bag warning light was constantly illuminated with or without a passenger occupying the seat. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and was repaired three times due to the recurring failure. The contact stated that the vehicle was still exhibiting the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure and current mileages were unknown. Kmj updated 6/27/14 updated 07/08/2014

- Englewood, FL, USA

problem #181

Nov 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) but was advised by the dealer that the part needed to complete the repair was not available. The contact received the first recall notice a year ago and had recently received a second recall notice for the same repair. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide a reasonable timeframe for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. the contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mahanoy, PA, USA

problem #180

Apr 162014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 158,000 miles
Rollover accident and no airbags deployed. Left hand injured from the broken glass. Unable to sleep due to the incident. Recall was sent but the part was never in or issued prior to the crash.

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #179

Apr 142014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the air bag wiring harness needed to be replaced and was repaired under NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags). After the repair, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 07/15/14 MA the consumer stated the occupant restraint module needed to be replaced an was not covered under the recall. Updated 07/18/2014

- Two Harbors, MN, USA

problem #178

Jun 292013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to airbag system occupant restraint control module recall issues. The dealer informed the consumer, the part was not available, due to it being on back order.

- Bayside, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?