Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
27 / 2
Average Mileage:
44,012 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 17 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #110

Aug 292013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 149,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Chrysler issued a recall on the air bag system occupant restraint control module (safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527 in Nov of 2012. Owners were notified of the recall in Jan of 2013. As of today Nov 20, 2013, according to my local dealer, Chrysler still has not made parts available to make the repair. This is unacceptable for a defect that according to the recall could cause "inadvertent deployment of the airbags and may increase the risk of injury and the possibility of a vehicle crash." In addition in August of this year my air bag warning light came on and the dealer determined that the vehicle required replacement of the air system occupant restraint control (orc) module. Chrysler refused to pay for the repair even though the recall specifically states that the orc module "has a small chance of experiencing an electrical overstress condition. Should this overstress condition occur, it could damage one of the orc's computer chips. A damaged chip could cause the air bag light to illuminate..." I had to pay out-of-pocket $620.89 for the repair, which Chrysler again refused to reimburse me after my follow up attempts to seek reimbursement.

- La Mesa, CA, USA

problem #109

Nov 012013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag system occupant restraint control module recall notice. The consumer stated he received the recall notice one year ago. He visited the Chrysler dealer twice, only to be told the parts were not available.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #108

Nov 182013

Grand Cherokee

  • 106,195 miles
Air bag light on had dealer diagnose as "right front impact sensor" I have been looking to buy a Jeep and this was the third one I had looked at with an airbag light on I think the sensor is faulty and should be recalled for the safety of drivers.

- Machesney Park, IL, USA

problem #107

Oct 062010

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A vehicle recall notice was received 13 months ago advising of imminent airbag deployment in vehicles which have airbag warning lights on. This description fits my vehicle. Over 13 months later, and none of the Jeep dealerships in the denver area have ever received parts for this repair. I would like to file a complaint against Chrysler regarding the failure to fix recalled units. 13 months is a bit extreme. And on top of that, new recalls have since been announced regarding the plastic fuel tank. I doubt that I'll ever see that repair...

- Broomfield, CO, USA

problem #106

Jun 012012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag control module recall notice and seeks reimbursement for repairs. The consumer stated it has been one year, since the air bag recall was announced and Chrysler has yet, to remit compensation. In June of 2012, the air bag warning light illuminated and it remained lit whenever, the vehicle was driven. The code in the ECM showed that there was an issue with one of the sensors for the orc module. As there was no alternative, the consumer was forced to replace the defective module with a new updated module. The consumer submitted his original receipt and proof of payment by mail to Chrysler as instructed. Rather than receiving the reimbursement within 60 days as written in the notice, he was instead contacted by Chrysler who refused to pay for the replacement. He was informed that since the supplemental jumper harness was not yet available they would be unable to compensate him.

- Orefield, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #105

Nov 152012

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated he received NHTSA recall campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and that the parts were not available. The contact also mentioned that while driving 75 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The manufacturer was notified ten times. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #104

Jul 012012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the part for NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) was not available and an arrival date could not be given. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 1/07/14 the consumer stated as of November 2013 the parts to repair the air bag were still unavailable. Updated 1/22/2014

- Normal, IL, USA

problem #103

Feb 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) but was informed that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and was also unable to provide an arrival date. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Kingston, OK, USA

problem #102

Jan 162013

Grand Cherokee

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall notification in January of 2013. The contact stated that he had experienced the air bag warning light failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated the part availability date was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 92,000 and the current mileage was 98,000.

- Griffin , GA, USA

problem #101

Jan 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the parts were not available to have the vehicle service per the recall. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #100

Dec 202012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed to complete the recall service was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Raytown , MO, USA

problem #99

Apr 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The manufacturer and dealer were contacted and stated that the parts were not available for repair and they were unable to provide a time frame for availability. The contact was concerned because the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 133,000.

- Bluffton, SC, USA

problem #98

Aug 102011

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags), in which the vehicle was included and stated that the part needed for the recall service was unavailable. The authorized dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had been waiting for the part to become available for two years. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bluffton, SC, USA

problem #97

Mar 012013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the parts were not available for repair to the vehicle. The contact had received the recall notification approximately six months ago. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/04/13

- Lake Villa, IL, USA

problem #96

Oct 142013

Grand Cherokee

  • 92,000 miles
To whom this may concern, I received a first time notice about 6 months ago from Chrysler, stating there was a safety recall on my vehicle, specifically the occupant restraint control (orc). The notice states that I would get a followup recall notice in the mail when I'd be able to schedule my appointment, but for the past 6 months I haven't received nothing. I have also called Chrysler multiple times, and they keep saying they haven't gotten the parts yet. Please give me a call at [xxx]to let me know what the status is, as this is a huge safety hazard. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Randolph, MA, USA

problem #95

Aug 082011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I received a recall notice over 1 1/2 years ago on the Jeep Cherokee airbag system occupant restraint control module and every time I call the Chrysler dealership they tell me it's not in yet. I find it hard to believe that something that can cause an accident has taken so long to replace. I would appreciate any help you can give me to get this resolved. It shouldn't take this long!! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bluffton, SC, USA

problem #94

Apr 102013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags). The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired in the spring of 2013 but the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Wilks Barre, PA, USA

problem #93

Oct 042013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
I have received the official pre-recall notice informing me that the above vehicle was part of the federal government recall and that the official recall notice will be following (estimate of pre-recall notice 9/2012). I have regularly visited multiple (four) Chrysler-Dodge dealerships just to hear service personnel to say that there is no repair kit available from Chrysler yet? is or is there not a recall and or recall replacement parts available.

- Brooklyn, MI, USA

problem #92

Mar 132013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags ) in March of 2013. The contact stated that he contacted the dealer numerous times to have the vehicle repaired but they stated that they did not have the necessary parts available to complete the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- South Dennis, MA, USA

problem #91

Mar 182013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags ) in March 2013. The contact stated that he attempted to contact the dealer to have the vehicle repaired but they stated that they did not know when the parts were going to become available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted two additional times and also stated that they did not know when the parts would be available. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 12-05-13

- Staten Island, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?