10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
31 / 2
Average Mileage:
44,060 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 18 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #97

Mar 012013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the parts were not available for repair to the vehicle. The contact had received the recall notification approximately six months ago. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/04/13

- Lake Villa, IL, USA

problem #96

Oct 142013

Grand Cherokee

  • 92,000 miles
To whom this may concern, I received a first time notice about 6 months ago from Chrysler, stating there was a safety recall on my vehicle, specifically the occupant restraint control (orc). The notice states that I would get a followup recall notice in the mail when I'd be able to schedule my appointment, but for the past 6 months I haven't received nothing. I have also called Chrysler multiple times, and they keep saying they haven't gotten the parts yet. Please give me a call at [xxx]to let me know what the status is, as this is a huge safety hazard. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Randolph, MA, USA

problem #95

Aug 082011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I received a recall notice over 1 1/2 years ago on the Jeep Cherokee airbag system occupant restraint control module and every time I call the Chrysler dealership they tell me it's not in yet. I find it hard to believe that something that can cause an accident has taken so long to replace. I would appreciate any help you can give me to get this resolved. It shouldn't take this long!! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bluffton, SC, USA

problem #94

Apr 102013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags). The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired in the spring of 2013 but the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Wilks Barre, PA, USA

problem #93

Oct 042013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
I have received the official pre-recall notice informing me that the above vehicle was part of the federal government recall and that the official recall notice will be following (estimate of pre-recall notice 9/2012). I have regularly visited multiple (four) Chrysler-Dodge dealerships just to hear service personnel to say that there is no repair kit available from Chrysler yet? is or is there not a recall and or recall replacement parts available.

- Brooklyn, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #92

Mar 132013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags ) in March of 2013. The contact stated that he contacted the dealer numerous times to have the vehicle repaired but they stated that they did not have the necessary parts available to complete the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- South Dennis, MA, USA

problem #91

Mar 182013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags ) in March 2013. The contact stated that he attempted to contact the dealer to have the vehicle repaired but they stated that they did not know when the parts were going to become available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted two additional times and also stated that they did not know when the parts would be available. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 12-05-13

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #90

Sep 032012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) but was advised that the parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Succasunna, NJ, USA

problem #89

Apr 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 230,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The recall letter was received April 2013. The dealer advised that the part was not available for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chcago Heights, IL, USA

problem #88

Dec 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall notice ten months ago. The manufacturer advised that the part was not available for repair and they did not know when the part would become available. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Sault Ste. Marie , MI, USA

problem #87

Sep 162013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) in the mail several months ago and stated that the dealer informed him that the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Frederick , MD, USA

problem #86

Jan 052013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received NHTSA recall campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The manufacturer and the dealer were contacted and stated the part was not available for repair. The air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000.

- Pendleton, IN, USA

problem #85

May 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and they were unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced any failures.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #84

Nov 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
This vehicle is subject to recall 12V527000. 10 months later, there is no fix from Chrysler. We live in a safety inspection state. This vehicle cannot pass safety inspection with the air bag light on all the time. Our past safety inspection expired 8/31/13. Note that in our state, the safety inspection sticker is much larger than the registration sticker. It's easier for the police to detect expired safety than expired registration. We cannot legally drive this vehicle now & every consumer protection Agency I've called tells me we have no recourse. This vehicle cannot even be sold here, except for parts!!!! we need to have something to drive while Chrysler figures out how this can be fixed, but it seems they're allowed to assign the B team to this problem part-time - as long as they say they're working on it, who cares if a lot of people are stuck with long-term illegal vehicles. This is one heck of a way to treat customers, and there must be some **quick** avenue of redress for us, because we need a car now.

- Kihei, HI, USA

problem #83

Jan 152013

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact attempted to make an appointment to have the vehicle serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The contact was informed that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 119000.... updated 10-17-13

- Eden , NY, USA

problem #82

Mar 152013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4. The contact received recall notice NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and attempted to make an appointment for the remedy. The contact was informed by the dealer that the part was not available. The air bag warning light was also illuminated. Manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The vehicle was neither repaired nor service under the recall requirements. The approximate failure mileage was 75000.....updated 10-21-13

- Hodges , SC, USA

problem #81

Apr 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The air bag warning light was also illuminated. The dealer advised that the part was not available for repair to the air bags. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 136,000.

- Satellite Beach , FL, USA

problem #80

Jun 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) and the part needed to complete the repair was unavailable. The authorized dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rensselaer, NY, USA

problem #79

Oct 062011

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) and the remedy part remained unavailable. The manufacturer had not been notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Belcamp, MD, USA

problem #78

Jan 072013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the part was not available for repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure but was concerned of the safety consequences. The current mileage was 125,000.

- Gloucester, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?