Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
27 / 2
Average Mileage:
44,012 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 18 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #90

Sep 032012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) but was advised that the parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Succasunna, NJ, USA

problem #89

Apr 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 230,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The recall letter was received April 2013. The dealer advised that the part was not available for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chcago Heights, IL, USA

problem #88

Dec 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall notice ten months ago. The manufacturer advised that the part was not available for repair and they did not know when the part would become available. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Sault Ste. Marie , MI, USA

problem #87

Sep 162013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) in the mail several months ago and stated that the dealer informed him that the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Frederick , MD, USA

problem #86

Jan 052013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received NHTSA recall campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The manufacturer and the dealer were contacted and stated the part was not available for repair. The air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000.

- Pendleton, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #85

May 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and they were unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced any failures.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #84

Nov 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This vehicle is subject to recall 12V527000. 10 months later, there is no fix from Chrysler. We live in a safety inspection state. This vehicle cannot pass safety inspection with the air bag light on all the time. Our past safety inspection expired 8/31/13. Note that in our state, the safety inspection sticker is much larger than the registration sticker. It's easier for the police to detect expired safety than expired registration. We cannot legally drive this vehicle now & every consumer protection Agency I've called tells me we have no recourse. This vehicle cannot even be sold here, except for parts!!!! we need to have something to drive while Chrysler figures out how this can be fixed, but it seems they're allowed to assign the B team to this problem part-time - as long as they say they're working on it, who cares if a lot of people are stuck with long-term illegal vehicles. This is one heck of a way to treat customers, and there must be some **quick** avenue of redress for us, because we need a car now.

- Kihei, HI, USA

problem #83

Jan 152013

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact attempted to make an appointment to have the vehicle serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The contact was informed that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 119000.... updated 10-17-13

- Eden , NY, USA

problem #82

Mar 152013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4. The contact received recall notice NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and attempted to make an appointment for the remedy. The contact was informed by the dealer that the part was not available. The air bag warning light was also illuminated. Manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The vehicle was neither repaired nor service under the recall requirements. The approximate failure mileage was 75000.....updated 10-21-13

- Hodges , SC, USA

problem #81

Apr 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The air bag warning light was also illuminated. The dealer advised that the part was not available for repair to the air bags. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 136,000.

- Satellite Beach , FL, USA

problem #80

Jun 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) and the part needed to complete the repair was unavailable. The authorized dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rensselaer, NY, USA

problem #79

Oct 062011

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) and the remedy part remained unavailable. The manufacturer had not been notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Belcamp, MD, USA

problem #78

Jan 072013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the part was not available for repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure but was concerned of the safety consequences. The current mileage was 125,000.

- Gloucester, MA, USA

problem #77

Aug 222013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) in the mail several months ago and stated that the dealer informed her that the parts were not available for the repair. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #76

Aug 162013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) in the mail several months ago and the dealer informed him that the parts needed to complete the recall service were not yet available. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Florence, AL, USA

problem #75

Aug 162013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) several months ago and was informed by the manufacturer that the parts were not yet available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Branchville, NJ, USA

problem #74

Jan 312013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and attempted to make an appointment for the remedy repairs. The contact was advised that the part was unavailable and there was no time frame given for availability. The contact stated that the airbag warning lamp illuminated sporadically. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 45,500....updated 10-24-13 the consumer stated the light no longer flashed it was on constantly. As of October 3, 2013 all parts were still unavailable in order to complete the recall. Updated 11/4/2013

- Lakeside, CA, USA

problem #73

Aug 012013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag recall notice. The consumer stated the air bag light recently illuminated, while driving. When he contacted Chrysler, he was informed they were working with a supplier.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #72

Aug 012013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag system occupant restraint control module recall notice. The consumer stated he received the recall notice back in January. However, the parts are not available.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #71

Aug 122013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 173,000 miles
I have a recall on my car I called the car maker the manufacturer told me that the parts were not available this is 8 month ago now my airbag light is lit I called them because the recall state this vehicles has a chance of experiencing an electrical overstress condition! it can damage one of the orc's computer chips this can cause the airbag light to light up and air bag to inadvertent deployment of front airbags increasing the risk of injury or of vehicle crash. I was told to take down to the dealer with the recall that way they can fix it. The part and labor is free of charge I called the dealer and I was told that I have to pay for it up front then reimburse the bill to the manufacturer for them to pay when they can. I do not have thousand of dollars that it will cost to fix the up front for this recall can some one tell me how to fix this problem.

- Oswego, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?