Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
27 / 2
Average Mileage:
44,012 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 21 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Apr 082010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Jeep Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag module recall notice and seeks reimbursement. The consumer stated Chrysler first informed him, he would receive a refund within 60 days, from the time he sent the invoice in, back in January. However, when the consumer contacted Chrysler months later, he was informed, he would not receive a refund. Recall # 12V527000.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #29

Dec 112012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The contact called the dealer and the manufacturer in an attempt to schedule an appointment for the recall service however, neither could advised the contact on when the parts needed to complete the service would become available. The vehicle was not serviced. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Forney, TX, USA

problem #28

Dec 122012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated after receiving a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) the contact called the dealer to make an appointment. The dealer stated the part was not available to remedy the vehicle and they had no idea when the part would be available. The contact stated it's been four months since the contact received a recall notice. The contact also called the manufacturer regarding when the part would be available. The manufacturer also did not give a date regarding when the part would be available to remedy the vehicle. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 09-18-13

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #27

Jan 012013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags: Inadvertent bag deployment) and contacted the dealer to secure an appointment for recall service. The contact was advised by the dealer that the parts needed to complete the repair were not yet available. The dealer was unable to provide an estimated time for the recall parts to become available. The manufacturer was not contacted. The current mileage was 80,000.

- Jackson , MI, USA

problem #26

Dec 012010

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the driver and passenger side front air bags deployed inadvertently. The air bag warning light illuminated as the failure occurred. The contact sustained injuries to the ribs, left breast and the right arm from the air bag deployment. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) after the failure occurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 100, 000. Updated 10/18/13

- Bay City , TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Jan 022013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 ( air bags) and was very concerned since he believed the failure specified in the notice was a very serious safety issue and the parts were not available. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was made aware of his concern but they were not able to provide a time frame of when the parts would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 114,000.

- Newport , RI, USA

problem #24

Feb 062012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recibi el primer "safety recall M35/NHTSA-12V-527 airbag system occupant restraint control module. El dealer me requiere la segunda noticacion para poder areglar el vehiculo Y todavia a la fecha de hoy no le he recibido yo hice el primer complaint con ustedes el dia marzo 2013 Y el numero de complaint ES10503125. Gracias.

- Ponce, PR, USA

problem #23

Feb 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Cherokee Laredo. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 02V099000 (air bags). The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired under the recall but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact also mentioned that the notice was received 3 months ago. The manufacturer was contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dickson , TN, USA

problem #22

Jan 092013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags). The manufacturer was contacted but was unable to provide an expected date for the parts to become available to complete the recall repair, as mentioned in the recall summary. The contact had not experienced failure.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #21

Dec 152012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the occupant restraint control module was defective and would have to be replaced but the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #20

Nov 292012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag warning light would intermittently illuminate. In addition, the anti-theft system would malfunction. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags). The contact spoke with the dealer and was advised that the parts needed to complete the recall repair were not available. The dealer was not able to provide a date in which the parts would become available. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 101,000.

- Holiday, FL, USA

problem #19

Feb 062012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
I receipt safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527 on February 2013, every day call to the office dealer and said, I am not receipt the part. Please call again. I have problem because the airbag warning light is permanent on. Thank you so much for your attention and this problem.

- Ponce, PR, USA

problem #18

Nov 202012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I was sent a letter from Chrysler about my Jeep Grand Cherokee airbag problem. In November of 2012 this vehicle, which is driven by my 20 year old daughter, had the airbag light illuminate. I contacted our mechanic here in bend, Oregon and he informed me that the airbags were not functioning and that immediate attention was needed to repair this problem. I did not allow my daughter to drive the car and had the repair made at a cost of about $500 dollars. Shortly after this repair, I received the recall notice from Chrysler and talked to my mechanic who confirmed that this is exactly the repair that was made. I send Chrysler the repair bill as they stated on the recall form. Two weeks ago I received a phone call from Chrysler informing me that the parts are not available to fix this problem and they are not sure of what is causing the problem, therefore they will not be refunded for this repair. Chrysler is trying to delay or deny this very serious safety issue and I do not appreciate the way this was handled.

- Bend, OR, USA

problem #17

Jan 072013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice approximately two months ago saying the vehicles air bags may deploy without notice or incident. I have repeatedly called to get this corrected and have been told that the part is not available. I called the Chrysler headquarters and was told that the part has not yet been manufactured and there is no timeline for when the part may come in.

- Warwick, NY, USA

problem #16

Feb 012013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag light malfunction in vehicle. The consumer stated the air bag light illuminated and a tone would sound 2-3 times. It happened on and off for a couple of months. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. However, the technician was unable to find a problem.

- Jonesboro, AR, USA

problem #15

Nov 302012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Chrysler announced a recall of my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee M35/NHTSA 12V-527 informing me that there was "a small chance of an electrical overstress could occur and if this overstress condition occur, it could cause damage to the orc computer chip causing the airbag light to illuminate, followed almost immediately by an inadvertent deployment of the front or side airbag! inadvertent deployment of the airbags may increase the risk of injury and the possibility of a vehicle crash." Chrysler intends to repair my vehicle, however; the part is currently not available. Why is it taking Chrysler sooo long with producing this part"?" I contacted my local Chrysler dealership only to find out, the dealer had no knowledge of this recall and could not advise if my vehicle was even safe to drive. This is extremely poor customer service and needs to be resolved, asap. It would appear since this vehicle is more than 10+ years old Chrysler does not have any intentions on the repair and does not want to accept liability if an accident occurs while I am driving it. Again, extremely poor customer service!!!!!!!

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #14

Nov 082011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
In November 2012, Chrysler and you announced a recall of my and just under a million other 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee M35/NHTSA 12V-527. It is now three months later. About three weeks ago, I received a recall notice, telling me, firstly there was a recall (does it really take two+ months to notify me?) and that Chrysler was hoping the parts for a permanent fix, currently unavailable, would be available as quickly as possible -- with absolutely no hint of how long this might be. Does it really take more than three months to manufacture and distribute a part involved in a safety recall -- "a small chance of an inadvertent deployment of the front...or side airbag! inadvertent deployment of the airbags may increase the risk of injury and the possibility of a vehicle crash." And, as for NHTSA, shouldn't you be prodding Chrysler to hasten the completion of this recall?

- Newton, MA, USA

problem #13

Nov 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number:12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The manufacturer advised that the new part might be available in March of 2013. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was not available and the current mileage was 120,000.

- Beaverton , OR, USA

problem #12

May 202012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
Was driving and all of a sudden the air bag light and check engine light came on. Now they wont go off. Check engine light has been hooked up to computer but all it says is that there's an emissions leak but no one can find it. The air bag light wont go off.

- Campbell Hall, NY, USA

problem #11

Sep 032012

Grand Cherokee

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated the air bag light illuminated constantly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated there was a recall but his VIN was not included. The recall NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module). The manufacturer was notified but did not offer any assistance since the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Cumming, GA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?