Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 1
Average Mileage:
75,434 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #16

Aug 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At every stop there is a noise in the air bag compartmen

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #15

Dec 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at unknown speeds, the seat belt locked without warning and failed to retract. The contact had been awaiting repairs under NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician verified that the parts needed for repairs were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 130,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #14

Jan 092016

Grand Cherokee

  • 191,446 miles
Occupant restraint control recall - I just had this part replaced at a Jeep dealership. When I turned my vehicle on, I noticed that both the airbag and seatbelt lights are still on. I immediately went back into the dealership and spoke with the service employee and they stated that they were only authorized to replace the module and refused to tell me whether the problem was resolved or if my airbags are properly functioning. How can I know for sure if the problem has been resolved if the lights which indicated the problem are still on?

- Winter Springs, FL, USA

problem #13

Feb 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 113,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer was not made aware of the delay. The contact's VIN was associated to the recall as of February 16, 2015. The contact stated that both the air bag and the seat belt warning lights illuminated. The manufacturer was contacted and informed that the part was not available until 2016. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 113,000......updated 02/10/16

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #12

Dec 132014

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the driver seat belt became inoperable. The contact stated that the seat belt buckle was sticky, which made it difficult to latch and disengage the seat belt. The failure recurred every time the seat belt was used. The vehicle was not taken to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Park Ridge, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Jul 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I have never been notified on any of the recalls on this Jeep after looking at recalls airbags can deploy when driving then see in the recall this evening on the news.

- Searcy , AR, USA

problem #10

Jun 292015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a recall on this vehicle that has been outstanding for well over 6 months and parts are still showing "unavailable". this is quite absurd given we are talking about the operation of the seat belts on this car.....updated 11/13/15 updated 1/25/16

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #9

May 062015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Re NHTSA case [xxx]: NHTSA referred me to fca today about recall notice R06. Fca had mailed a important safety recall notice (R06) in Feb indicating they would write later regarding when parts are available. Fca's amanda AQ070 indicated today the remedy still is being researched. This may now. The Feb notice indicated the parts are not available and "every effort would be made to obtain these parts as quickly as possible" and I would be notified when the parts are available". it appears then that fca has completely misled me by indicating in the February letter that a permanent remedy requires parts and they would notify me when they are available. How could they make efforts to obtain parts if the remedy is still being researched? I have received no communication whatsoever from fca about any parts to remedy the R06 recall. I read in the newspaper recently that fca has been very slow to remedy past recalls. I submit that this is clearly a good example of how they mislead and delay in order to avoid covering their cost to recall and repair and make their products safe for the public. The favor of a reply would be appreciated from NHTSA but especially fca.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #8

Apr 022014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
My son was killed while he had his girlfriend drove my Jeep. They ran into tree going appox.35 mph.the airbag did not go off on the passenger side and the seatbelt unlatched. He was the only one injured and died later that day.

- Westfield, IN, USA

problem #7

Sep 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
We received a safety recall notice, notification code M35 / NHTSA 12V-527 regarding the orc module in my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. We contacted the dealer and the dealer installed the orc module filter circuit as the recall instructed; however, the issue was not resolved and now my airbag warning light and seatbelt indicator light are illuminated on the front dash console. The issue is not resolved and the dealer claims that the orc module filter was not intended to fix any issues with the airbag and SRS?dealer wanted to charge me a diagnostic fee and a repair fee. The information that was provided in the recall notice and the lack of responsibility taken by the dealer does not make any sense.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #6

Aug 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I received a manufacturer recall notice close to one year ago. I have contacted the Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge dealer several times. Each time I attempt to schedule an appointment, I get the same response. I'm simply told, they do not have the parts in stock needed to fix the defect. Along with, they haven't a clue as to when the parts will come in. According to several notices I have received throughout the year regarding the safety recall of my vehicle, this defect could cause myself to crash without warning. Knowing each day I drive my vehicle, I am putting my life at risk, is very unsettling. I am just confused as to why the national traffic and motor vehicle Safety Act continues to send multiple safety recall notices for my vehicle. When at the same time, the responsible party to my solution, just shrugs it off like it's nothing to worry about. All because, "the parts have not come in yet", still. Can you please provide me with a solution? I really do not know what I am supposed to do when the dealer is unable to remedy this defect. Thank you

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #5

Jul 242014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
This is the only way I can find to lodge this particular complaint. I am taking my Jeep in on 7/28/14 for a safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527. I was told that I will have to rent a car because their lot rentals are not used for recall fixes. I would like to complain vigorously! we, the consumer, are not responsible for these oversights on the part of the manufacturer, so why are we responsible for any $ output to fix them" don't refer me to the dealer. I know it is up to individual dealers. Wouldn't it be a nice P.R. opportunity, for the manufacturer to pick-up these costs" I think your image needs some buffing! I am going to mail my receipt to you and see what comes of it. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #4

Mar 012011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Airbag recall (M35 / NHTSA 12V-527). After repairs were completed on 03/26/2014 the airbag and seatbelt warning lights still on. Dealer was not able to repair the defect. On 06/16/2014 dealer still not able to identify the cause and asked for $250 to further inspect the car to determine the cause. Dealer wrote on paperwork "no communication from orc need more time (and money) to diagnose. Customer declined at this time". I received the first notice in Jan 2013 and the official recall months later. No parts were available for months. As soon as I received the recall notice I took the vehicle to the dealer. How can it take almost two years (from fall 2012) and still no solution to the problem? it is obvious that the manufacturer is delaying the repair as much as possible to reduce overtime the number of repairs.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #3

Feb 112014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to airbag and seat belt problems. The consumer stated the parts finally arrived after waiting for five months, he took the vehicle to the dealer to have the air bag and seat belt light rectified, since they were on. When he arrived to pick up the vehicle, he was informed, the recall did not resolve the problem. He was informed the air bag would not properly deploy in the event of a collision, if the air bag light was on. After further diagnosis of the problem, the dealer informed him the occupant restraint control module would have to be replaced. The consumer stated the original orc module was defective, he believed it should have been covered under the recall. Status update. Updated 06/17/14

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #2

Mar 012013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
Safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527 orc module airbag light is "on" and "seat belt" lights. Warning lights are on and do not go off. I took the car to the dealership in roswell, N.M. and they informed me the parts were unavailable and that Chrysler would contact me. To date this has not happened. The danger is a inadvertent deployment of the front airbags.. damage to the computer chip. The problem has now involved the seat belt warning lights to stay "on".

- Roswell, NM, USA

problem #1

Sep 122005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,501 miles
September 12, 2005 my husband was involved in a motor vehicle accident in our 2002 Jeep Liberty when a car made a left hand turn in front of him. When the cars impacted the seat belt failed to restrain him resulting in his face hitting the steering wheel. My husband suffered facial trauma and whiplash as a result. Chrysler was contacted on 9/19/05, and they did indicate that someone would contact us with in 48 hours so that they can come take a look at the vehicle. Other than that nothing has been done to correct the problem.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?