Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,540 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #57

Nov 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vent controls failed to work upon using the button to turn on the heat. The contact stated that the vents blew cold air repeatedly. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop who diagnosed that the recirculation door assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #56

Jun 042013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she received NHTSA recall campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) over a year ago. The dealer was notified several times but the parts were not available which she considered to be a major safety issue especially since her air bag warning lamp was illuminated. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 86,000. The current mileage was 91,000. The transmission, windows, fan relay switch, and emergency brake. Also, the radiator was leaking and all of the shocks for the tail gate lift, failed. Updated 02/24/14 updated 3/12/14

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #55

Sep 012011

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I as well as many other people am having problems with my power windows cords and regulators breaking I have put over $400 in one window and now have 2 more broken. Chrysler states first that because I am the 4th owner they cannot help me, then states that because of my cars year (2002) and mileage (126K) they cannot help me.

- Dallas, NC, USA

problem #54

Apr 062006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Failure causes windshield to fog up and driver cannot see roadway. All ac and heater functions fail. This is the 5th failure after repeated repairs. The vehicle is unsafe to drive.

- Foresthill, CA, USA

problem #53

Oct 012010

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
The defroster blows cold air randomly while driving in the winter. Causes the windshield to fog, then freeze while driving. This is a very common issue and easy fix, but requires removing the entire dashboard assembly. To replace a $5 piece of plastic. This is a common issue and a safety problem and should be covered by the dealer.

- Clark, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #52

Mar 122011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 109,370 miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited. May 2010 front passenger side window fell down while driving. March 2011 back driver side window fell down while driving with my 4 year old daughter on that side. Went to dealer said it would cost $800 to fix both windows. The way it sounds this is happening alot. It needs to be recalled. Had to drive 30 minutes in 20 degree weather home with daughter in car. Something things to happen asap. To much money to be spending ever 6 months to a year.

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #51

Dec 262010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Electrical system:wiring:interior/under dash. NHTSA campaign id number : 01V288000 my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee is having electrical issues of this nature. Car lost directionals and heater/defroster, brake lights on highway. All electrical related.

- Nahant, MA, USA

problem #50

Oct 052009

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Same common problem that has occurred on thousands of Chrysler/Jeep Grand Cherokee's. the blend door actuators that regulate hot and cold air fail so that heat stops working entirely. This also means the defrost stops working which is a major safety hazard when driving in wet and cold climates like the winter months in Washington state. I recently drove over one of our mountain passes and could not see anything because it was snowing and I could not defrost the windshield. The repair costs $1600 at a Chrysler dealership.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #49

Oct 012009

Grand Cherokee

  • 156,000 miles
Climate control system blend door failure.

- Harpers Ferry, WV, USA

problem #48

Dec 122007

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
Heater/ac blend doors have detached from the shaft attached to the electric motor. The doors circulate conditioned air to the cab and are responsible for defrosting the windshield. The windshield no longer defrosts causing visibility issues during the winter months.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #47

Feb 182010

Grand Cherokee

  • 127,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I don't understand how the NHTSA can ignore the problem with the HVAC blend door assembly unit on the wj Jeep. How can having no heat and no defroster not be a safety issue. I live in Maine and can not afford the estimated $1200 repair to fix this widely known defect. Try driving in 15 degree whether with snow on the roads and no defroster. Guess what happens? your breath causes the windows to fog hence to the point on no visibility. I slid off the road after hitting a snow bank on the side because I could not see and was trying to scrape the quarter inch on frost on my window off. This is ridiculous Chrysler needs to do something.

- Naples, ME, USA

problem #46

Feb 202009

Grand Cherokee

  • 86,000 miles
Visibility-defrost.

- Citrus Heights, CA, USA

problem #45

Dec 012009

Grand Cherokee

  • 85,222 miles
The heater / defroster stopped blowing hot air out on both passenger and driver's side of vehicle causing dangerous conditions while driving in cold conditions. I live in Colorado and the other day even the inside rear view mirror was frozen and was no use.

- Conifer, CO, USA

problem #44

Oct 022009

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles
The heater on my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee only works approx. 25% of the time. The person I purchased it from said it only happened to her every so often, but that it had gotten worse. Since I've owned it, it has continued to get progressively worse. I'm concerned as winter is approaching and I'll need to see out the windshield and will need a heat defroster for it living here in Nebraska. This is a long known problem and I'm shocked that Chrysler has not recalled this problem as it poses major safety implications. I've worked on cars for 15 years and have never heard of a heater going bad. As any mechanic out there, heaters don't go bad unless the whole heater core is bad, in which case I'd have a floor full of anti-freeze, which I do not have. My Jeep has not lost an ounce of fluid and runs at perfect operating temperature. It's an obvious electrical problem that Jeep should be held accountable for! there are numerous posts on numerous forms with hoards of people having the same problem that Jeep is charging $1500 to fix. Talk about a scam!!!

- Springfield, NE, USA

problem #43

Oct 152008

Grand Cherokee

  • 98,000 miles
In the fall of 2008, my son and my wife exited the front of the vehicle and closed their doors. Within a second or two, both of them heard a bang but saw nothing wrong, as they were both at the front of the vehicle and unable to see their side windows. After returning to the vehicle, my son noticed his window was not up as he had left it. He was unable to raise the window normally so a cold trip home followed. A quick investigation revealed a failed window regulator. Since I was not going to pay someone a ridiculous amount to replace the part, I did it myself after finding a window regulator at a local parts store. Since the vehicle was not operating when the failure of the window regulator occurred, safety was not an issue relative to operation. However, since the failure was undetected at the time, or if it had happened after walking away from the vehicle, there was obviously a safety issue relative to an unsecured vehicle. The vehicle was open to anyone or anything wanting to enter it. It also created a potential for further damage from inclement weather. In August 2009, the driver side window regulator failed. The driver and front passenger side windows had been lowered to help cool the inside prior to driving. When the windows were raised, only the front passenger window responded. The driver side window would not raise. The vehicle was driven home where I replaced the window regulator. The same part failed in both instances. This part is obviously insufficient for its purpose. A failure of the window regulator and subsequent dropping window could easily cause enough distraction to initiate a moving incident. Whoever owns the Jeep trademark these days needs to fix this problem and issue a recall before there is an accident, a driver returns to a ransacked vehicle or worse, there is a car jacking by an unknown and uninvited passenger.

- Elizabeth City, NC, USA

problem #42

Feb 092008

Grand Cherokee

  • 96,000 miles
While driving home last year I rolled my driver side window up and heard a loud bang. I at first thought that someone had hit my vehicle with a large rock but then the window dropped down into the door. When I got home, I went online and found quite a few complaints about the window regulators failing in Chrysler Grand Cherokee and the fact that Chrysler is aware of the issue but refuses to cover the repair. I also found that these problems could have been prevented if they'd just used a 25 cent piece of metal instead of the plastic piece they used. Because I could not afford the $400 + it would cost to have this repaired, I found the instructions online and bought the replacement regulator and replaced it myself. However, all the complaints I read about say that all the windows will fail at some point. I have neither the time or even the money to get them all replaced. I think this is something that Chrysler should address. Had I been on the interstate when this happened, it quite possible that the bang of the piece failing would have been enough to cause me distraction and lead to an accident.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #41

Jun 112009

Grand Cherokee

  • 91,000 miles
My window regulators keep failing one at a time in my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The first time it happened on a major highway and there was a loud bang in which I thought I hit something. Then my window fell in the door providing me no protection on I-95. Most recently, in June 2009, my passenger window failed during a major electrical storm (evening of June 11, 2009 in wilmington, de) leaving myself and car soaked with no protection.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #40

Jun 102009

Grand Cherokee

  • 115,000 miles
Three of four power window regulators have failed suddenly and without notice, all within a year of each other with the most recent being last week. Each time it occurs, there is a popping sound followed by the window dropping into the door. I have so far been fortunate to only have this happen when driving at speeds <30mph and without my child or dog being in the vehicle; however, there's still that 4th window with the same faulty plastic component that has been failing. I replaced the first window regulator at full cost at the dealership when it happened last year. When the second one went out, I didn't fix it because of the cost and the fact that it was a rear window. After the third one failed, I got suspicious. The service manager at the local dealership has stated that he has seen this issue on numerous occasions mostly with the Liberty model, but on the Grand Cherokee as well. It is obvious that Chrysler is aware of the issue; however, each agent I spoke with on their help line tried to downplay the issue like it was a freak occurrence and that there was no reason for a recall. Based on the research I'm now seeing online and the comments from the service manager, I know this is not the case.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #39

May 012009

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
Visibility: Defroster/defogger system:windshield:blower.

- Newburgh, IN, USA

problem #38

Jan 272009

Grand Cherokee

  • 89,000 miles
My 2002 Jeep Cherokee started blowing heat only on the drivers side and cold air on the passenger side. The windows were constantly fogging up making driving only possible by lowering the windows to reduce fogging. Now, I have no heat and the mechanic says it is my blower doors and that this happens to alot of Jeep. We had to abandon the vehicle during a snow / freezing rain even last week and then couldn't drive it for the next several days due to freezing conditions. I have replaced the heater core due to fogging windows 2 years ago and the ac had to be charged constantly to stay cool. This is dangerous to drive and you freeze during cold times. I always have to make sure precip in not expected whenever we drive this vehicle during winter months. Jeep owners need help with this...! now my passenger window wont go up either.

- Purcellville, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?