Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.9

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,639 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #50

Jul 092004

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,288 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problem with brake rotors keep on warping, we have been to dealer numerous times for same problem, they work for a while and then warp. When driving on freeway when at freeway speeds braking feels like they skipping, sometimes shaking the steering wheel. Dealer still has not resolved the problem.

- Chino, CA, USA

problem #49

Jun 192007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
Brake rotor warpage.

- Fraser, MI, USA

problem #48

Apr 032006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,294 miles
- the contact stated that the brake rotors were replaced on April 3, 2006 at 21,294 miles. The contact emphasized that neither weather nor speed were factors in the brake failure. While driving at 40 mph the brakes would pulsate. After having the repair work performed the contact received recall concerning brake rotors. The contact stated that she would like to be reimbursed. Updated 1/29/2007 - all four rotors had warped.

- Stillwater, OK, USA

problem #47

May 012006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,871 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact complained about excessive wear on the brake rotors. The contact stated that he only has 20,000 miles on the vehicle. The contact received a letter from the manufacturer stating that the Cherokee model vehicles had failures due to defective front brakes, and that the contact should bring the vehicleto the dealership and have it checked. The contact brought the vehicle to the dealership on 8/11/06, and they test drove the vehicle which confirmed that all four rotors were out of ground and needed to be replaced, but the dealership would not cover the expense.

- Elizabeth, IN, USA

problem #46

Sep 232006

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2003 Grand Cherokee engine over heated when slowing down. The cooling fan relay and cooling fan module was replaced. The hood would not stay open. The dealer replaced the hood props. The front rotors were out of round.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #45

Sep 062006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
: the contact stated when the brake was applied, the pedal and the front end shimmied while traveling 50 mph. The dealership determined that the rotors were too thin to be filed down and needed to be replaced. Updated 10/25/2006 -

- College Park, MD, USA

problem #44

Aug 282006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while the brake pedal was applied, there was a vibration. The vehicle has not been inspected by a mechanic. The rotors were replaced. Updated

- Theodore, AL, USA

problem #43

Jun 092006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,600 miles
I own a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited with 16,168 miles. My driving pattern for the past year has been within downtown city limits and connecting freeways where speeds over 50 miles per hour are rare due to traffic congestion. On a recent interstate trip when I apply the brakes at speeds above 45 mph they pulsated and the front end would shake violently each time the brakes were applied. I immediately took the vehicle to a Jeep dealer for an inspection. The car had warped front brake rotors. Prior to proceeding with the repair I contacted daimler Chrysler to authorize the repair at their cost as the problem is a known design/manufacturing defect affecting 1999 through 2004 Grand Cherokee. After over an hour on the, phone they authorized replacement rotors as a goodwill repair albeit with the original defective rotor design. I learned from the dealer service rep their service department has replaced the rotors in about four thousand 1999 -2004 model Grand Cherokee. This is essentially a 100% failure rate. Any abnormal brake operation is a potential safety issue. Stopping distance will be increased by compromised inefficiency of the warped rotor against the disc. From a human factor standpoint the driver is distracted at a critical point in bringing the vehicle to a stop. Instinct may cause the driver to ease off the brakes to reduce the vibration thereby risking a collision or loss of control and veer into opposing traffic. I understand from the dealer there is an after-market fix to the factory rotors. Daimler Chrysler should on their own provided an engineering change to existing replacement rotors to correct the heat problem and in the absence of such the NHTSA should take appropriate action. Has the manufacturer filed an early warning report on the brake pulsation problem?

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #42

Mar 192004

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,424 miles
On 03-19-04 I took my Jeep for repair because the brakes were pulsating. On 07-12-04 I made a return visit because the brakes were pulsating again. On 04-13-05 I return because the brakes were pulsating again. The third trip to salerno duane came nine months later, on April 13, 2005 at 22,731 miles. Again, service advisor reported that the front rotors were rough and were resurfaced. When asked if this work would be covered by a warranty as well, which was obviously necessary due to past experience, manager said she believed it would be. When I requested documentation as proof to that statement, she refused. I then asked to speak to the service manager, a Mr. G who was, less than professional is an understatement, just plain rude is more accurate. He refused to warranty the work that had been done on my vehicle stating the problem was not salerno duane, but possibly a Chrysler defect. As of April 2006 I am experiencing the same problem of my brakes pulsating. I phoned salerno duane on April 5, 2006 and spoke to service manager and she informed me the work will not be warranted and I will be charged for the repairs. Being this is an ongoing problem I feel that this repair should be the car dealer responsibility. I am afraid to continue driving this vehicle for I feel it is very unsafe for my family and for other motorist and pedestrians on the road. I would very much appreciate you assistance in resolving this ongoing and unsafe problem. I have records and documentations for all these incidents.

- New Providence, NJ, USA

problem #41

Jan 272006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,382 miles
The front brake rotors became warped and needed to be replaced at only 23000 miles. The rotors warped because of heat build up during braking, and the dealer replaced them with vented rotors to avoid this in the future. Pads and all other brake components were fine. I have learned of several other Jeep gr cher owners who experienced the same problem, and I believe that a car of this size should have had vented rotors installed at the time it was assembled.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #40

Nov 152005

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,737 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When applying the brakes at high speed the vehicle would shake and vibrate violently. At low speeds using the brakes the vehicle would pulsate slowly forward while removing pressure from the brake pedal. The conditions continued to get worse especially the vibrations and shaking at high speed braking. I brought the vehicle back to the dealership at 19,000 (roughly) where they proceeded to tell me that the rotors were severely warped and would need to be replaced along with the pads. I asked why they are warped beyond serviceability and they stated this is a know problem. I wrote to diamlerchrysler as well trying to get some type of refund back after spending $550 on the parts and labor for something that I feel was a quality issue to begin with. They stated rotors warp due to various driving conditions. I disagree, it is poor quality materials being used. They will lose my business over this. The reason I bought a new vehicle was to avoid costly repairs for a few years.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #39

Sep 242005

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,900 miles
Touching the brakes at high speeds causes shaking and shuddering of the entire vehicle making it difficult to maintain control during emergency stopping. Brake rotors were replaced at 7500 miles and now need replacing again at 30000. The dealer says that all 2003 Jeep have this problem. They say that the problem is poor design of the factory rotors. I can not believe that emergency stopping and anti-lock brake function is not affected by this. Jeep says that this is just a nuisance. How can this not be a safety issue?

- Missoula, MT, USA

problem #38

Sep 012004

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
Consumer owned a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee, , it had 50,000 miles on it. Vehicle has gone through three sets of rotors. When braking the vehicle shook;. rotors were first replaced at 18,000 miles. The second time they were replaced 35,000 miles, and the rotors needed to be replaced again. Consumer stated the wheels were chrome, and the front were black like carbon has got on them. The rear wheels were still shiny. Three sets on the front and one set on the rear were replaced. The brake pads were effective, but the rotors were warped. The vehicle is currently at the Firestone service center.

- Bridgeport, CT, USA

problem #37

Sep 112004

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
My 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee has faulty brake rotors. When the brakes are applied at speeds above 35 mph, the car shakes and control of the car is lost. It does not stop properly or quickly. The dealer replaced the first set of rotors and brakes at 9,000 miles. The same problem is happening again at 17,000 miles. The dealer and chryslerdaimler Corp. Is not accepting any responsibility in the defective brake rotors. (the is a class action law suit against chryslerdaimler Corp. Currently).

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #36

Jun 242005

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 9,388 miles
The front brakes on the consumers 2003 Jeep Cherokee wore out irregularly.(nar) the front brake rotors caused the vehicle to shimmy excessively especially at higher speeds. Each time the vibration would take place, the front rotors would have to be replaced. The consumer requested a refund of repair monies. The chrome peeled off of the wheels.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #35

Jun 102005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My problems began at 9300 miles. Brakes pulsating and shaking in the steering. Front rotors where warped and needed to be resurfaced. Had front rotors resurfaced 2 times and replaced 1 time, all occured under 20,000 miles. At 21,000 miles the rear rotors where resurfaced and now I have to return to the service center for the fifth time with 23000 miles on my vehicle brakes are pulsating again. Found that there was a service bulletin that was issued on Dec.02 regarding front brakes pulsating during light to moderate brake application for 1999 to 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. This is due to excessive thickness variation of the brake rotors. Obviously this problem still exists in 2003 models and daimlerchyrsler still refuses to fix the problem at no cost to the consumer.

- Winfield Park, NJ, USA

problem #34

Jun 082005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have had to replace the rotors on my 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee twice now, after having them re-surfaced as well - none of which Jeep would cover under warrenty even though "it's a known problem".

- Moorhead, MN, USA

problem #33

Dec 162002

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
2003 model Jeep Grand Cherokee overland shakes at high speeds when braking approximately every 9,000 miles. Dealer replaced front brake rotors and pads at 9300 and 18,000 miles. Now vehicle has 24,000 miles, it shakes when braking again at high speeds and dealer states it is out of warranty. They may or may not repair the brakes this time. Brake rotors should not need to be replaced every 9,000 miles. The excessive shaking caused by the defective brake system could cause serious personal injury to occupants of the vehicle or others who are on the road.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #32

Jun 032005

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,034 miles
I own a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited, which I purchased brand new, and I have had to replace the front brakes and rotors at least four to five times. The car only has 43,000 miles on it and it is now in need of new front brakes and rotors again. Every time the brakes have been replaced, they have been done at no cost except for the last time. We had to pay for the parts and the dealer paid for the service. The dealer at that point advised us that we were on our own after that. Needless to say, we have been greatly inconvenienced by this and don't feel that it is fair to have to replace the brakes and rotors so often after normal use. Furthermore, we feel that this is a design flaw with the vehicle and we have been told by the dealer that they can't do much about this and that a lot of people have the same problem and that Chrysler hasn't stepped up to the plate to do anything. I feel that this is a serious potential safety threat and that we are one of only a few affected. Please advise

- Arlington Heights, IL, USA

problem #31

Jan 112005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
When the consumer applied the brakes, the vehicle started to vibrate severely. The consumer took the vehicle to dealership and was informed by mechanic that rotors had warped unevenly and excessively. The rotors replaced on 4/21/05.

- Venice, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?