Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,267 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Jun 182016

Grand Cherokee

  • 162,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. When attempting to remove the keys from the ignition, the engine was still running. Due to the failure, the battery was changed twice. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 162,000.

- Moscow Mills, MO, USA

problem #36

Apr 172016

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,000 miles
The wire harness going to the driver door is not long enough so when you open the door the wires will become lose or disconnect as a result in the power locks, power mirrors, power windows, evic center to malfunction and the all the dome lights remain on. And I'm not the only vehicle to have had this problem there are hundreds wrote on the Jeep forum.

- Buckley, MI, USA

problem #35

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled intermittently without warning. In addition, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who replaced the alternator, the fuel pump, the oxygen 2 sensor, and the cam sensor, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 121,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #34

Jan 052011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering leak.....left turn signal failure it works occasionally.

- Slc, UT, USA

problem #33

Feb 262015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 129,143 miles
I was traveling on a side street in huntington, wv about 30 mph when all of a sudden the motor shutdown everything shutdown and I tried to move the Jeep out of the line of traffic. This is very difficult since there was no power to the vehicle. I was headed toward I-64 on the on ramp when all of a sudden it happen again. Car were coming toward me and with much difficulty I manage to get it partially out of the road. I finally got it started back up and it happened on two other occasions. I am afraid to drive my Jeep. I need help in knowing what to do. Autozone put the instrument to help diagnose the problem and check indicated the battery is good. What should I do?

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #32

Sep 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 150,000 miles
Intermittent failure of right stop light and taillight even after bulb replacement.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #31

Jan 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Heat stops working - issue with doors inside engine - spoke with mechanic said very common on these vehicles and should be recalled.

- Johnston, RI, USA

problem #30

Dec 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 158,000 miles
Vehicle stops running while driving, power steering stops working as well as the power brakes. Dangerous on highway. Had the crank sensor replaced due to this problem. Thought the problem was resolved but the same problem happened again on 12/22/14.

- Duxbury, MA, USA

problem #29

Jun 122013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
I was driving about 40 mph on a four lane highway in traffic when my car engine suddenly shut off. The brakes seized up, but I was able to get the car was able to get the car off on the shoulder. After trying several time to restart the car, I called for assistance. By the time assistance arrived, I was able to start the car and I drove it approximately five mile to my Jeep dealer. They found that the crank sensor was faulty and that was why the engine had shut down. The cost to replace the sensor was $275; however, because shutting down the engine caused the breaks to seize up, the breaks and calipers had to be replaced increasing the total cost of repairs to $1567. If I had been driving at highway speed when this occurred I would probably not be writing this letter.

- Green Brook, NJ, USA

problem #28

Jun 172014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 136,000 miles
Cannot get the power windows to work..after closing & opening the driver door and turning the inside lights off & on it works very rarely.. this started in early June 2014.... this is unsafe when my grandchildren are in there car seats and the windows decide to malfunction.. I am afraid they could exit the Jeep while it is moving causing injury or even a fatality !!!

- Meadville, , PA, USA

problem #27

Jun 202014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 152,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving down the highway at speed the engine stopped working along with auxiliary systems such as power brakes and steering. The tachometer slowed to 0 RPM and we were able to pull car off the side of road. Upon stopping, the car restarted and no odb codes were identified. This occurs randomly through has a tendency on cold starts after vehicle has been sitting for while. Since loss of all power it is a tremendous safety hazard.

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #26

Jan 112013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
In April 2007 I purchased a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee from jacky jones Chrysler in hayesville nc, in January 2013 I received a recall notice M35 concerning the air bag problem was to be repaired, as of 1/14/2014 after trying to get this resolved for a year, still nothing has been done and I keep getting a runaround, can you help me get this resolved? [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hayesville, NC, USA

problem #25

Dec 052013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 99,200 miles
I first received a recall notice in Jan 2013 and have made numerous attempts to have the recall corrected to no avail through a registered Chrysler dealer. I am told the parts are just not available as of yet. I was traveling down the road for approximately 30 minutes at 45 mph when suddenly the airbag light came on. It stayed on for almost 10 minutes then went off, then came back on again within 5 minutes. I was very frightened since the recall notice states that it is possible for the airbag to inadvertently deploy after the airbag light comes on. I called the dealer again as soon as I returned home to advise them and remind them they had me on a list. However, I was told the parts are still not available, so they gave me a toll free number 800-992-1997 which I called and was told once again that as of now the parts are not available and to just continue driving the car. I hope the airbag does not deploy while I am driving causing a heart attack or fatal car crash.

- Huddleston, VA, USA

problem #24

Aug 182009

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 53,795 miles
Since August 18, 2008, 4 window regulators on my Jeep Grand Cherokee have broken. Twice, I have already paid over $800 at your dealership to have this fixed. Recently, both of my rear window regulators have broke and I have had to tape my windows up since I cannot afford $800 out of pocket right now. This is obviously a well known Jeep Grand Cherokee problem. I have known of others having this problem with their Jeep Grand Cherokee as well. I have already had numerous problems with my Jeep that have cost me several thousands of dollars to fix. I don't think I should have to continue paying for my window regulators to be replaced when my windows are used as much as any normal car window should be used. I only work ten minutes from home and don't abuse my vehicle.

- Dyer, IN, USA

problem #23

Mar 272013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 182 miles
The vehicle was parked. A fire began from underneath the driver's seat which is believed to be an electrical fire. It destroyed the seat and surrounding area. No one was in the vehicle at the time. It appeared to smolder for several hours. The fire was detected early enough so that the entire vehicle was not affected.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #22

Jun 212012

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air conditioning unit failed to cool properly. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the compressor would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The following day the failure recurred. The mechanic then rewired the air conditioning unit but to no avail. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 70,000.

- Villa Park, IL, USA

problem #21

Mar 012013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,100 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the right directional blinker failed. The blinker remained illuminated constantly. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic or repairs performed. The failure mileage was 44,100 and the current mileage was 44,885....updated 08/22/13 the consumer stated when he un-locked the door with the key, the hazard lights came on. He changed all the bulbs and the blinkers, but the lights stayed on. He was unable to use the blinkers, and he had to un-hook the battery for a couple of hours. The tail lights were also replaced, but they still didn't work.

- Grand Island , NE, USA

problem #20

Dec 032012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 240,000 miles
Had my Jeep for about 4 years now, and I've recently had many issues with it. For one, there's a recall, which parts are not available right now for an orc sensor. The recall letter said there may be a chance that it could cause an electrical distress on the computer. Now, I don't know if these caused many electrical issues or not, but I'd like to see something done about it. Around later November 2012 I took the Jeep to get the ac/heater work because it wasn't working. Paid $400, labor and parts. Also got my signal lights fixed, because they weren't working either. Few months pass, now its March 2013. The signal lights work when they want, even after getting it fixed. The right signal light works fine, the left works when it wants. My driver foglight went out. I don't have a bad bulb so what is it" few weeks later, driver headlight goes out. Again, no blown bulb. Few more weeks pass, and my ac/heater stopped working again. Why" also, the driver tail light, at times goes out. No bad bulb. I feel as if I give it more time, the problem is just going to get worse. We need to look into this problem.

- Reidsville, GA, USA

problem #19

Nov 112011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
Driving along, car simply cuts off. No warning. Solution is to disconnect battery cables, wait about 5 minutes, reconnect and restart. Dealers are baffled. No known reliable fix. Very dangerous if on bridge, interstate or tunnel. Especially a problem at night, as "fix" involves shutting off all lights including hazard warning lights.

- Lanexa, VA, USA

problem #18

Aug 172011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While stopped at a traffic stop, the contact noticed that the driver side turn signal was not illuminated. The contact replaced the fuse for the turn signal however, the failure continued after the repair. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing or repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 05/02/12 the consumer stated on occasion, the right blinker failed to operate as well. The flasher relay was replaced with a bran new part, which worked for about one week. Updated 05/04/12

- Schertz, TX, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?