Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 1
Average Mileage:
34,759 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 11 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Jun 032013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag occupant restraint control module recall notice. The dealer informed the consumer, the parts were not available. However, the dealer informed the consumer, the parts would be available by the end of March. As of May 2013, the parts were still not available. Updated 07/30/13

- Goldenrod, FL, USA

problem #19

Oct 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I received a recall notice from Chrysler corporation in October 2012 regarding defective airbag with the possibility it would deploy without warning. I was told my car would be repaired when the parts became available. It is now May 28, 2013 and the parts are still not available. I contacted my local Jeep dealer as well as Chrysler corporation. In the meantime, I am afraid and unable to drive this car for fear the airbag will deploy. It has now been idle in my driveway for more than seven months. I cannot drive this car and I cannot sell it with the knowledge that it has a very serious mechanical defect.

- West Deptford, NJ, USA

problem #18

Feb 032013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags); however, the remedy part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide an estimated date when the part would become available. The contact had not experienced failure at this time.

- Bound Brook, NJ, USA

problem #17

Apr 182013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact was driving approximately 65 mph when the air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who detected that the failure was related to the occupant restraint control module. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) however, the remedy part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide an estimated date for the part to become available. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Madisonville, LA, USA

problem #16

Jan 252010

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to airbag system occupant restraint control module recall notice 12V527000. The consumer never received any follow-up recall notice. He decided to have the repair done, at an independent repair facility. He is now seeking reimbursement. Updated 08/15/13

- San Juan, PR, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Dec 212011

Grand Cherokee

  • 164,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the driver and passenger frontal air bag deployed erroneously. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic which located the failure at the occupant restraining control module but the part was no longer available for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 164,000.

- Rex , GA, USA

problem #14

Nov 022012

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the highway, a light came on the dash, the air bags deployed and I lost complete control of the car causing me to crash into some trees and flip the vehicle. It was totaled. Spoke w/ owner but veh is no longer avail. Added VIN.

- Marquette, MI, USA

problem #13

Aug 302012

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, the air bag deployed erroneously. The contact sustained minor injuries as a result of the deployment. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection. The dealer was notified and stated that they had never heard of any such failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that they would send an investigator to further inspect the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #12

Jun 082012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stated that two months prior to the warning, the air bag was replaced because of failure. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer and was told that there were no problems found within the air bags. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 10/11/12 updated 10/15/2012

- Louisa, VA, USA

problem #11

Apr 262012

Grand Cherokee

  • 172,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the front passenger air bag deployed while parking. The contact then attempted to exit the vehicle and the front driver's air bag deployed, cutting her arm. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure and current mileages were 172,000.

- Palm Coast , FL, USA

problem #10

Jul 122011

Grand Cherokee

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact was driving 15 mph when both frontal air bags deployed simultaneously. There were no injuries. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that because the vehicle was eight years old, they would not be responsible for repairing the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted who send out an investigator to further assess the failure. The investigator advised that the failure did not deem involvement of the manufacturer and no further assistance would be provided. The vehicle was taken to three different mechanics who advised that there was an electrical failure that caused the deployment and that the vehicle could not be repaired. The contact was advised that the electrical system could be repaired but would only cause the air bags to deploy again. The insurance company also refused to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #9

Jun 062011

Grand Cherokee

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited. The contact stated that after parking the vehicle for several minutes both air bags deployed on the driver and front passenger side of the vehicle. No one was injured. The contact called the dealer where the vehicle was purchased and they offered no assistance. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Union City, PA, USA

problem #8

May 022011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 68,300 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated while driving 5 mph the air bag indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer determined that the passengers air bag sensor module was defective. The manufacturer assisted with some of the repairs, but the failure recurred. The failure and current mileage was 68,300. Updated 11/03/11 the mechanic found the wiring harness to the air bag module was extremely hot, which caused the air bag module to short out again. The short caused major damage and the module had to be replaced. The air bag light illuminated again. It was determined the wiring harness was broken due to the way it was installed when the vehicle was manufactured. Updated 03/08/12

- Pulaski, TN, USA

problem #7

Mar 292011

Grand Cherokee

  • 76,000 miles
While driving approximately 25 mph on a small city street, both front air bags on our 2003 Jeep Cherokee spontaneously deployed. There was no collision and no reason for the air bag deployment. The road was smooth and the weather was clear. Police checked the vehicle and verified there was no damage to the outside of the vehicle. My wife, who was driving the vehicle, appears to have only minor injuries but will be checked by a doctor today.

- Dayton, TN, USA

problem #6

Nov 152009

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles
Airbag light goes on and off randomly while driving. Is the airbag working or not? dealer couldn't confirm without a $1200 fee.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #5

Jun 132009

Grand Cherokee

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 5 mph on a dirt covered road, the engine began to rev excessively followed by unintended acceleration. The vehicle failed to slow down and struck a metal pole. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver was transported to the hospital and sustained moderate injuries to the neck and back. The police were called to the scene and filed a report. The vehicle was completely destroyed and was towed to an authorized dealer. The insurance company was notified and is investigating the failure. The cause of the failure has not been determined. The VIN was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 72,000.

- Sewickley , PA, USA

problem #4

Mar 102009

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl Diesel

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 40 mph, the driver's side air bag deployed unexpectedly followed by the passenger side air bag two seconds later. There was no impact, crash, bumps on the road, or sudden braking to cause the failure. The contact shifted into park and exited the vehicle. She expected the frontal driver's side air bag to deploy, but it never did. She called the manufacturer and they opened an investigation; however, they did not assume responsibility for the failures. The vehicle has not yet been repaired and the contact believes that the failure was due to a manufacturer defect. The current and failure mileages were 90,000. Updated 04-17-09 updated 04/21/09.

- Cambenston, MO, USA

problem #3

Apr 062005

Grand Cherokee

  • 30,000 miles
I was the only person in my vehicle at the time of the accident. I was pulling a trailer & going up a bridge at approximately 50 mph when I lost control & hit the guardrail. My entire driver side and front end on the driver side was smashed. It bent my frame as well, however, the air bags never deployed. I called Chrysler customer service # just to let them know that it happened, just so they would have a record of it. I have never been treated so rudely by a "customer service" rep in all of my life, he actually hung up on me when I asked for his name. I called back to report him and was disconnected again. I am not suing. Fortunately, I was not hurt. But I was surprised that you could have an impact that hard & severe and the air bags not deploy. I will be very surprised if my Jeep is not totalled.

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #2

Oct 222001

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
While driving at 60 mph suddenly the driver seat and door air bags deployed. Consumer sustained injuries.

- Bristol, RI, USA

problem #1

Dec 202004

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
I was at a bank drive through teller and had placed my vehicle into park to do my paperwork. When I finished I placed my foot on the break and placed the car into drive. The car took off like a rocket. I applied the breaks and the emergency break with very little or no effect. The car produced over 40 feet of skid then vaulted over a drainage ditch about 15 feet wide. It the impacted on the far side of the ditch with sufficient force to rip off my front license plate. The car continued to move until it struck a brick retaining wall. The ABS system and the air bags did not work at all. The total distance traveled was well over 200 feet.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?