Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 1
Average Mileage:
34,759 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 5 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #140

Jul 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 155,621 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have concerns about my airbag light, I have taken my vehicle to litha dealership for recalls, based on recall notice's. what concerns me is my airbag light keeps coming on. I go to the dealership and they say that they don't have any parts for this recall, they reset the computer for the airbag light and the light stays off for a short time then I take it back and they do the same procedure.I think the dealer ship placed a jumper wire so the light goes off. (light's back on.) I'm still driving with the airbag light back on, very distracting.

- Medfoord, OR, USA

problem #139

Dec 102013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clarksville, FL, USA

problem #138

Mar 182015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #137

Sep 202013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) and stated that the parts needed for the repair were not available. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Long Island City, NY, USA

problem #136

Jan 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Theodore, AL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #135

Feb 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Centuria, WI, USA

problem #134

Jul 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to produce the part for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Blanchard, MI, USA

problem #133

Nov 242014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
To whomever it may concern, I received notice of a recall of my vehicle in February of 2015. The safety recall number is R06 / NHTSA 15V-046 occupant restraint control module. I purchased this Jeep new and sincerely have concerns driving this vehicle knowing the safety risk in the air bag system. I have continuously for over 6 months been trying to get the air bag alarm/light to be fixed/repaired. Jake sweeney Chrysler Jeep, in cincinnati, Ohio, has told me the needed part has to be made. The part was to be delivered originally by 1/25/15 then it was changed to 2/25/15, then the date was moved to 5/30/15 and now I was told last week the delivery date is shown to be unknown. Please tell me what I can do to get the car air bag repaired! thank you. Concerned owner/driver

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #132

Jan 282014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #131

Feb 022015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received NHTSA campaign number:15V046000 (air bags) and stated that the parts were unavailable for an unreasonable amount of time. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. The consumer received the recall notice in January 2015. As of September 2015, the parts were still not available. Updated 01/05/16.

- Charlotte , NC, USA

problem #130

Apr 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Belleville, NJ, USA

problem #129

May 072014

Grand Cherokee

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 30 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated continuously. The vehicle was previously repaired and the failure recurred. The repairs were unknown. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the vehicle was not repaired for most recent failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Brookland, NY, USA

problem #128

Jan 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #127

Feb 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While parked, the front driver side air bag warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000. Updated 8/10/15 updated 12/23/2015

- Tyrone, GA, USA

problem #126

Jan 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #125

Jan 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Have had air bag recall for over a year part is never available have check with dealer 5 times recall R-06/nhtsa15V-046 air bag light is

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #124

May 012014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) however, the parts to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/17/15

- Tehachapi, CA, USA

problem #123

Apr 192015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
The driver and passenger side air bags deployed simultaneously while the 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee was traveling on a paved highway. This unexpected deployment occurred without the Jeep Cherokee suffering any form of impact whatsoever. The mentioned unexpected deployment resulted in injuries to the front passenger side occupant.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #122

Apr 292015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Travis City , MI, USA

problem #121

Jan 122015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V054000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/21/15 the consumer experienced a problem with the radiator, heat sensor, brakes and tires. Updated 07/28/15

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?