Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 1
Average Mileage:
34,759 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 7 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #100

Feb 272012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

About 2/27/12 received safety recall notice, M35/NHTSA 12V-527, called 800 # person said should receive letter end of March to schedule appointment with Jeep. No letter, no call from Jeep, I called superstition springs Jeep, person said part not available will call when is. 4/24 called 800 #, person said must wait for part. 6/15/12 Jeep said still no part. 11/8/12 called Jeep, mgr said part here 11/20/12..took Jeep in for repair 11/20/12....service kept car entire day and when picked up service said still no part. 1/30/13 received second safety recall notice, called superstition springs Jeep service, said still no part will call when it comes in. 8/8/14 received third safety recall notice, called superstition springs Jeep service, no return call. The air bag on our Jeep is making very strange noises. For safety reasons we must get this repaired immediately. We are so concerned that the bag will deploy while driving. Please help us get this taken care of. We are at risk of someone be seriously hurt or possibly loosing their life.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #99

Aug 072014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags). The contact stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Menifee, CA, USA

problem #98

Aug 062010

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded the reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had experienced the failure. The air bag light was viable on the instrumental panel. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #97

Jan 082013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number:12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact has not experienced a failure.

- Alabastor, AL, USA

problem #96

Aug 062012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
In 2012 we received our first recall notice from Chrysler group llc. I responded by setting up an inspection appointment with them. They later cancelled the appointment. In 2013 I received the 2nd recall notice. I set up another inspection, they inspected the vehicle and told me that they did not have the part on hand to make the repair. They would order the part and call me. They never did call back. I called them later that month to check on the part and they stated they never received the repair part. Now I get a third recall notice. This is a company vehicle that Transport many passengers throughout the year. We are indangering lives. I have expressed this to Chrysler and they never respond with a repair. Please help.

- Dodge Center, MN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #95

Apr 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • 172,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who replaced the air bag system orc module but the failure recurred. The contact also received three notifications of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags). The contact was waiting for instructions from the manufacturer to get the dealer to remedy the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 172,000.

- Coatesville, IN, USA

problem #94

Jul 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The contact stated that the failure occurred after having the vehicle serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Port Jefferson Station , NJ, USA

problem #93

Jun 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 152,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, there was a chime inside the vehicle as the air bag warning light illuminated. Additionally, the rear passenger side air bag deployed inadvertently. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was to be repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bag) two years ago prior to the incident but the part was not available to do the repair at the time. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 152,000

- Bermingham, AL, USA

problem #92

May 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • 179,913 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed for the recent failure or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 179,913.

- Coatesville, IN, USA

problem #91

Jun 302014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
While driving North on I-75 from manatee county to tampa to go to work, both side air bags self-deployed. I had the car towed to ferman Jeep on sr 54. I called Chrysler and was told that the incident had been elevated and that an investigator would go out and call me within one business day. I called the next day and was told that the issue had been escalated and that I would be called within 1-2 business days, meaning Thursday. I called Thursday and was told I needed to wait until 8pm that evening. No call. I called Saturday requesting an update on my vehicle. No call. I called this morning Monday July 7, requested to speak with a supervisor and was told that was not possible. I have no update on my only form of transportation and am desperate to understand, if my vehicle can be fixed. I need temporary transportation. I commute 100 miles in this vehicle every day. I need help escalating my case to the proper people. Thank you.

- Parrish, FL, USA

problem #90

Nov 012011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have received a safety recall notice from Chrysler group llc instructing me to contact a local Chrysler jeepdrid dealer to resolve this problem. I have contacted two dealer, one in jamestown, NY and one in cory, pa. I get the same run around from both dealer. They don't have the and will order them and call me to schedule an appointment. I waited six months on the dealer in jamestown before contacting the dealer in cory, pa. I explained my problem to the service manger and ask if they could do the repairs. That was 2/5/14, he assured me they could do the repairs and would order the parts needed. As you can see that has five months and still no word. Please advise me on what I should do to resolve this issue. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sherman, NY, USA

problem #89

Mar 122014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Immediately after the vehicle was serviced for NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags), the air bag indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer stated that the air bag control module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 72,000. Updated 8/14/14 the consumer stated the dealer advised the airbag control module had a short and needed to replaced. Updated 08/26/2014

- North Palm Beach , FL, USA

problem #88

May 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to no follow up on the parts for airbag system recall and air bag light is on.

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #87

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) had surpassed the reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced any failures at this time.

- Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #86

Jan 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bag), however the part needed to complete the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Poulsbo, WA, USA

problem #85

Jan 082013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician performed repairs for recall NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The remedy failed to repair the problem. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 125,748.

- South Burlington , VT, USA

problem #84

Oct 262012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to occupant restraint control module filter circuit recall notice. The consumer no longer owns the vehicle, because his daughter was involved in an accident and the vehicle was totaled and destroyed by his insurance company. The consumer believed the death of his daughter was possibly due to a faulty vehicle.

- Hot Springs, NC, USA

problem #83

Feb 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to occupant restraint control module filter circuit recall notice and unsatisfactory customer service at dealership. The consumer was informed the recall would take 2 hours to complete. However, when the consumer returned to the dealer, the vehicle was not ready. The consumer found it unacceptable to 5 hours to have the recall done. The dealer informed the consumer other things came up, that had to be taken care of. The dealer informed the consumer, the vehicle would not be ready, as previously stated.

- Harmony, PA, USA

problem #82

Mar 112014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 59,086 miles
A safety recall number M35 was issued Feb 2013 and has not been complied with as of this date 11 Mar 2014. Repeated calls to Chrysler customer service have failed to get any results.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #81

Jan 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bag) but was unable to have the vehicle repaired because the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hiram, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?