Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 1
Average Mileage:
34,759 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 8 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #80

Feb 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dear sir/madam: This concerns the M35 recall relating to the Jeep Grand Cherokee (2003 in my case). Yesterday, 2-26-14, the dealership supposedly performed the fix to resolve the issue with the airbag system. This was the 3rd time that I had made an appointment after they had presumably gotten the parts needed to do the job. The previous 2 times, in March and September 2013, after getting to the dealership and considerable waiting, I ended being told that they could not perform the service because they did not have the parts--┐┐prior to March 2013, they said not to know what parts were needed. The problem I have is that the airbag warning light is still on and they refused to fix it alleging that the recall did not provide for that. I found this illogical. On the one hand, I believe the warning light comes on when there is a problem with the airbag system and, on the other hand, they are telling me that they have now fixed the problem with the airbag system. Around the time Chrysler Jeep informed of the problem, my airbag warning light turned on. It took contacts over a year's time with the dealership to finally have them "correct"Ł the problem and I am now left wondering if it has indeed been corrected. I would appreciate it if someone were to look into this.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #79

Feb 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to replacement of the occupant restraint control module. The consumer stated after waiting over an hour, he was given an invoice to pay $220 for a electrical diagnostic test. The air bag control module was not replaced. The consumer stated the air bag light is still on.

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #78

Dec 032012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
Our Jeep is subject to a recall. We received the notice in late 2012. We contacted the local Jeep dealer in accordance with the recall notice and they said they would contact us. They did not. We contacted them again about a month ago and they said they did not have the parts. We contacted Chrysler group, and they contacted the dealer. We were told that they would get the parts and contact us within 5 days. That was more than a month ago. We would like to get this resolved, but our local dealer seems unresponsive.

- Sedona, AZ, USA

problem #77

Feb 012013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have gone to cutter Dodge Jeep on ala moana blvd. On oahu and notified them of my receiving a recall letter. They informed me that the parts are on order and will be contacting me when they (parts) arrive. I was contacted by the dealership and was told to make an appointment to service my Jeep for the recall. When I brought my vehicle in for the service, I was informed that the dealership gets ahead of itself and sends out cards stating that the parts are in when actually they are not. Wasted time. So, they told me again that they would be contacting me when parts come in. This is my second notice from Chrysler notifying me of the same recall. I have yet to receive a call or letter from cutter Dodge Jeep on ala moana for this recall. I'm pretty sure that this is not a part that takes over a year to make nor be sent out to a dealership for something that could possibly cause an accident without warning. I would like to get this rectified, please. If there is another dealership that can take care of this for me then point me in the right direction. I am not sure if my Jeep is affected by this problem but would sure like to find out. Thank you for your time in this matter.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #76

Oct 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the remedy part was not available to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kernersville, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #75

Feb 102013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that recall NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) had surpassed reasonable time for repair. The contact took his vehicle to the dealer to be repaired. The dealer stated that the part was not available. The manufacture had been contacted. The vehicle had not been repaired. The check air bag light was illuminated on the contact's dashboard but the air bag had not inadvertently deployed. The VIN was not available.

- Theodore, AL, USA

problem #74

Feb 012012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Safety recall / M35 / NHTSA 12V-527 ( orc module ) dealership notified me twice to come in for the above recall and after waiting two hours each time, they told me that they did not have the parts to do the job. They also told me they would order the parts and notify me when they were received. This never happened. It's been two years and I'm out of options. Thank you for your assistance.

- Beaufort, SC, USA

problem #73

Feb 072014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in November of 2012, there should have been a remedy available before February of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Longs, SC, USA

problem #72

Feb 072013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and attempted to have the vehicle repaired on numerous occasions but the dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified but provided no further information. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/31/14

- Barinerd, MN, USA

problem #71

Jan 052013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
Took my 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee in to dealer for service a year ago. Was informed then of recall and that part was not available at time but to call back in a month. Received the safety recall notice M35/NHTSA 12V-527 in mail shortly after. Have been calling every month to check and keep getting same answer that it is not available and do not know when it will be. Today I received another safety recall notice M35/NHTSA 12V-527. Called again hoping part was in. Received same answer from dealer that part was not in and did not know when it will be and to call back next month. This is completely ludicrous. How can a car manufacturer not have a part for a major problem within a years time? please help! no problems yet but very concerned for person driving vehicle. Can't afford a new/used vehicle to replace this one.

- Fairview, NC, USA

problem #70

Jan 162013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) in January 2013. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired on numerous occasions but the dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #69

Jan 272012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and attempted to have the vehicle repaired but was informed that the parts needed for the repair were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the part unavailability. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 162,000....updated 03-12-14

- Ridgeley, WV, USA

problem #68

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Letter from congressman gardner on behalf of constituent re Chrysler recall. The consumer stated it has been over a year, and the parts were not available for the air bag recall.

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #67

Jan 032013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
After one year I still have an outstanding recall, M35" NHTSA 12V-527. Chrysler still has no parts to make the necessary safety repair. How long must we wait until NHTSA and Chrysler fix this problem"

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #66

Jan 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
There has been no incident-- my complaint is that we were put on notice one full year ago about a defect in the airbags and still to this date the parts are not available. It is unacceptable that a company as large as Chrysler cannot get these parts in a one year time frame. I spoke to a rep at Chrysler who said there is no updated info on when the parts will be available.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #65

Jan 162014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a safety recall letter for M35/NHTSA 12V-527 over a year ago, stating that the parts to repair the orc module are not available. I have not received any updates, and am still waiting to get the car repaired so that is safe.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #64

Jan 112013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
In April 2007 I purchased a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee from jacky jones Chrysler in hayesville nc, in January 2013 I received a recall notice M35 concerning the air bag problem was to be repaired, as of 1/14/2014 after trying to get this resolved for a year, still nothing has been done and I keep getting a runaround, can you help me get this resolved? [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hayesville, NC, USA

problem #63

Dec 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and the parts were not available. The contact mentioned that this was a very serious safety hazard. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 81,000.

- Fairfield, PA, USA

problem #62

Jan 042014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
Dealers still do not have this part in for repairs.

- Gilbert, SC, USA

problem #61

Jan 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) several months ago and was informed by the dealer and manufacturer that the parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Spraggs, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?