Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 1
Average Mileage:
34,759 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 9 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #60

Jan 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mount Airy, MD, USA

problem #59

May 222013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). However, he was informed that the parts were not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The approximate current mileage was 161000.

- Mastic Beach, NY, USA

problem #58

Feb 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag system recall notice and dealership stated they have not received parts to complete recall.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #57

Dec 052013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 99,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I first received a recall notice in Jan 2013 and have made numerous attempts to have the recall corrected to no avail through a registered Chrysler dealer. I am told the parts are just not available as of yet. I was traveling down the road for approximately 30 minutes at 45 mph when suddenly the airbag light came on. It stayed on for almost 10 minutes then went off, then came back on again within 5 minutes. I was very frightened since the recall notice states that it is possible for the airbag to inadvertently deploy after the airbag light comes on. I called the dealer again as soon as I returned home to advise them and remind them they had me on a list. However, I was told the parts are still not available, so they gave me a toll free number 800-992-1997 which I called and was told once again that as of now the parts are not available and to just continue driving the car. I hope the airbag does not deploy while I am driving causing a heart attack or fatal car crash.

- Huddleston, VA, USA

problem #56

Apr 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and attempted to have the vehicle remedied. The contact was informed that the parts were unavailable to perform the repair. The contact had not experienced any failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Longwood, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #55

Jul 112013

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection of the failure or repairs. The contact was no longer driving the vehicle because she was concerned that the air bag would erroneously deploy at any time. The manufacturer was notified twice of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Lumberton, NC, USA

problem #54

Jul 012011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the parts were not available to have the vehicle serviced per the recall. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 01/07/14

- Somers Point, NJ, USA

problem #53

Jul 012012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall letter in 2012. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that they did not know when the part would become available for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 12-30-13

- Boyne City, MI, USA

problem #52

Jun 142013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) however, the contact was not able to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Glen Allen , VA, USA

problem #51

Oct 212013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) and called the dealer to make an appointment. The dealer stated that the parts were not available to remedy the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/30/13 the consumer was involved in an accident.

- Sandown, NH, USA

problem #50

Nov 122013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received a recall notice from Chrysler. Chrysler recall number M35, (NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000) involving airbags can deploy at anytime. Contacted the dealership last spring about this recall and was told parts weren't in yet. I then contacted the dealership on November 12, 2013 and was told the parts aren't in yet. I am concerned about this airbag deployment issue and it seems like the manufacturer isn't concerned about safety.

- Leicester, NC, USA

problem #49

Oct 022012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact received NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) and called the dealer to make an appointment. The dealer stated that the parts were not available to remedy the vehicle. One year later, the parts were still not available to remedy the vehicle. The contact called the manufacturer but received no assistance. The failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 3/5/14

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #48

Jan 012013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the parts were not available to have the vehicle repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 12-26-13

- Villa Hills, KY, USA

problem #47

Nov 042013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 142,000 miles
I received notice of a recall for the airbag sensor on the 2003 Jeep Cherokee. I was informed that the airbag may deploy at any time while the vehicle is operating. It has been one year since I was notified of this issue and the Chrysler dealership has yet to send the parts necessary to fix this problem to any of the dealerships. I am currently driving around with my airbag sensor on, and not knowing if and when my airbag will deploy. This frightens me because I currently live in the mountains, and not knowing how I will react to airbag deploying. One year is definitely an ample amount of time for the Chrysler dealership to send these parts out, especially for a recall like this that has produced injuries.

- Richmond , VA, USA

problem #46

Oct 312013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
In January of 2013 I received a recall notice from Chrysler #35 concerning a component in the air bag module may fail while operating this vehicle. I called monroe Michigan Dodge Chrysler where I purchased the car and they told me Chrysler hasn't released the parts to fix this problem. I took it back in today October 31 2013 and I received the same answer. I called Chrysler at 1-800-247-9753 and they told me the parts aren't available and they would put me on a list. This is totally not acceptable it shouldn't take this long to take care of this serious problem.

- Monroe, MI, USA

problem #45

Jan 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The air bag warning light was illuminated and the manufacturer advised that the part needed to complete the air bag recall service was on back order. The manufacturer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 115,000 and the current mileage was 120,000.

- Mattapan, MA, USA

problem #44

Sep 202013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) in the mail several months ago and stated that the dealer informed him that the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 11-18-13

- Porter , TX, USA

problem #43

Sep 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag system recall notice. When the consumer contacted the dealer, to make an appointment, he was informed the part was not available. A few months later, he received a call from the dealer and they scheduled an appoint. However, after the consumer dropped the vehicle off, the dealer called the consumer back and informed him, they never had the part. The consumer continued to call for months, but the part was still not available. The air bag light would come on and stay on for weeks at a time and then go off, and come back on again.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #42

Mar 012013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall notification March 2013. The contact had not experienced the air bag warning light failure. The approximate failure mileage was not available and the current mileage was 94,000. Updated 11/12/13 the consumer was informed the parts were not available, but would be available by October 17, 2013. The consumer stated it has been over 30 days, and he has not heard from Chrysler. Updated 11/19/13

- Grandville, MI, USA

problem #41

Sep 132011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) over a year ago and stated that the dealer informed him that the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/13/13

- East Hampton, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?