Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,979 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Aug 012006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact received a recall notice in August 2006 for the seat heater. Since then contact made 3 appointments and they all have been canceled because the dealership couldnot get the parts that wereneeded to perform the recall work on the 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The current mileage was 38500, and there had been no failures to date.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #18

Feb 022007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
- the contact called regarding the 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated on 2/27/06 the driver's side heated seat element was replaced due to the driver's seat catching on fire. The seat was also replaced. On February 2, 2007 the seat started to smoke. The driver was able to turn the switch off before any further damage was done. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. The contact stated that the defective heated seat element was replaced with another defective heated seat element. The contact received recall 06V197000 for the heated seat element.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #17

Aug 152006

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Daimler Chrysler sent a "safety recall F17-heated seat elements" letter in August, 2006. It states that the heating elements "may overheat and cause an interior fire...". it goes on to recommend that we "contact your dealer right away to schedule a service appointment" to replace the heating elements. We contacted the Jeep dealer in salem, Oregon in Sept. 2006, and it added us to a waiting list. It is now February, 2007 and we are still waiting. The dealer today advised that so far, it has only received parts from its supplier to replace 8 seat elements and is waiting for more. We are around 20+ customers on a list of 35 still waiting for parts and with no projection of when more parts might arrive. Meanwhile, we continue to drive with a potential fire danger inside of our vehicle.

- Keizer, OR, USA

problem #16

Aug 112006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact stated that the 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee received recall 06V197000 for a front seat heater failure on 08/2006, and still has not recall repairs done. The contact stated that the dealership had informed him last week that the parts were not still available.

- Melville, NY, USA

problem #15

Jan 162007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received recall notice#06V197000, seats:front assembly:seat heater/cooler. The contact has received a burn from the car seat. The dealer informed him that they were uncertain when the parts would be available. Updated 2/16/2007 -

- Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #14

Aug 102006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,100 miles
- the contact stated that she received a recall letter campaign # 06V197000 for her 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee in August 2006. The recall is for the vehicle's heated seat element. The contact stated that she has tried contacting the dealership on numerous occasions and still hasn't gotten the recall resolved. The contact stated that she can't use the thermostat for the seats, the seats become too hot at any setting. The consumer stated it took 6 months to get the vehicle fixed. Updated 02/27/07.

- Port Jefferson Station, NY, USA

problem #13

Aug 042004

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received notice of a recall on my Jeep Cherokee in August of 2006 for possible over heating of the seats to date I have not been able to have the car repaired. I am being told the parts are not available?

- East Setauket, NY, USA

problem #12

Nov 022006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I am a paraplegic that has no feeling from my chest down. I received a 3rd degree burn on my left buttocks from the heated leather seats in my 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I used it for a total of about 1 1/2 hour to 2 hours, with about an hour break in the middle. I notified Jeep, they looked at and said it wasn't their fault. I have a burn and scar to prove it.

- Omer , MI, USA

problem #11

Oct 202006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
The contact stated no problem occurred with the vehicle. There is a NHTSA recall, #06V197000 on the vehicle regarding the seat heater. The parts needed to repair the vehicle are not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts are not available. The consumer stated the vehicle has since been repaired. Updated 01/19/07.

- Wilton, CT, USA

problem #10

Nov 102006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Allan samuals Jeep dealership in webster tx will not perform re-mediation on safety recall F17 (heated seat elements - Jeep Cherokee) within a reasonable time or for no charge. They require the car to be left for at least one day provide no alternative transportation unless it is at my cost.

- Seabrook, TX, USA

problem #9

Nov 072006

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Jeep dealer maccausland -williams 311 lancaster ave devon, pa service personnel indicated part cbmkf170 heated seat recall not available as only 1 repair kit can be ordered in 7 days. Jeep - daimler Chrysler Corp is rationing recall repair parts when a dangerous condition exists in their vehicles. In addition, I made the appointment for this specific recall issue over 3 weeks in advance and the dealer made no attempt to contact me to let me know the part was not available.

- Villanova, PA, USA

problem #8

Oct 252005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
Jeep Grand Cherokee fire. I had a fire in my up 2004 Jeep. At the time my insurance co fire expert could not find the cause, only that it started in the cab on the driver's side. The vehicle was burnt too badly too determine the exact cause. We called Chrysler and asked for them too investigate. They sent their fire expert out. They would never give us the findings they kept referring us too our insurance co. Now there is a recall on this vehicle for fire cause by the heated seats. We are trying too get Chrysler too look at our case again but with no luck.

- Litchfield, NH, USA

problem #7

Oct 092006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I received a recall for my Jeep for the heating elements in the seats that may overheat and cause a fire. My dealer tells me that it will take over a month for them to get the parts in for the recall. I believe this is too long and I really question Jeep's (daimler/Chrysler) priorities since they continue to send out new vehicles with the safe elements in them while allowing their previous customers to drive around in unsafe vehicles while waiting for new heating elements to ship.

- Darnestown, MD, USA

problem #6

Aug 302006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
: the contact stated a recall letter was received two weeks ago. There were no problems with the seats when the recall letter was received. The NHTSA recall, #06V197000 was pertaining to the seats: Front assembly: Seat heater/cooler. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available.

- Idaho Springs, CO, USA

problem #5

Feb 162006

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Passenger front heated seat burned through the seat cover in the 2004 Grand Cherokee. The dealer determined that an element had shorted out internally causing the failure and damage to the seat cushion. The manufacturer refused to cover the cost of repairs because the vehicle was out of warranty. On 3/20/006 the driver's side heated seat burned a 1/2 inch hole in the seat cushion. This caused damage to the seat and the driver's clothing and well as a slight discoloration of the skin on his buttocks. The consumer contacted the dealer.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #4

Feb 262006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
I lease a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee with heated leather seats. Earlier this year the driver side heater went out then I noticed that just the lower back heater came on. One day in February after driving for about an hour and 1/2 I got home and tried to take off my sweatshirt but could not as it was melted to my cell phone case. At first I did not know what had happened then upon later investigation I noticed a burn whole in my car seat that ran up what was apparently the heater wire. I am a paraplegic and if it was not for the cell phone case I could have been burned. My concern is for others like me and due to the severity of the heat which could melt a sweat shirt and a phone case that it potentially could ignite clothing.

- Middleville, MI, USA

problem #3

Mar 142006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving at no particular speed the heated seat warmer burned through the seat cushion without warning. The occupant sustained minor injuries from the heat. Although no visible flames were present there was slight charring to the seat cushion area. The vehicle was seen by the dealer for replacement of the heated seat element and cushion. The dealer determined there was an internal short of the seat warmer.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #2

Feb 062006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
: the contact stated while opening the driver door smoke was noticed inside the vehicle. The fire department was called to the scene. The fire marshal filed a report and determined there was a short in the seat heater. The dealership and manufacturer were alerted.

- Leonardo, NJ, USA

problem #1

Jan 252005

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
Received 2nd degree burns from my Chrysler grand cherokke limited car seat. Chrysler not taking responsibility. Told me that it is not my business what is wrong with the seat that it is confidential information for Chrysler only.

- Crystal Lake, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?