10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
28 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
26 / 1
Average Mileage:
24,127 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 12 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #65

Feb 072014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in November of 2012, there should have been a remedy available before February of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA

problem #64

Feb 032014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag system occupant restraint control module recall notice. The consumer stated there has been no follow-up instructions from Chrysler concerning the recall and no repairs have been made.

- Ridgefield, WA, USA

problem #63

Feb 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag system control module recall notice. The consumer stated he received the recall notice, over a year ago. To date, the parts are still not available.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #62

Feb 042014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527 on 2/4/2014 indicating the airbag system (occupant restraint control module) may experience a front airbag and/or seatbelt pretensioner inadvertent deployment. An inadvertent deployment while driving could distract driver and cause a crash without warning. On 2/5/2014, I contacted dealer (pearson Jeep/Chrysler 8250 broad St. Richmond, va). Dealer's response was "there are no parts available for that repair". why is this an issue when a crash could happen anytime the vehicle is in use without the immediate repair? I find that unsatisfactory and a discredit to the Jeep/Chrysler company which I have patronized for nearly 20 years. I anxiously await to hear your response............a very concerned customer!!!

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #61

Dec 202012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to be available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. There are no failures at this time.

- Waverly, NE, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #60

Nov 082012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bag) and stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #59

Jan 282014

Grand Cherokee

  • 122,267 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We slipped on some black ice and the Jeep went up a hill and then we flipped and landed upside down. This is the second time this happened the other time was last year Feb 18 2013 when my 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee rolled over three times before landing upside down. Last year it was me and my 3 sons. Thus year it was me and my husband. I injured my leg and back. Also neither times did the air bags deploy.

- Gap, PA, USA

problem #58

Jan 022013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the parts needed to complete NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for when the remedy part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/12/14 the cnsumer stated the vehicle was fixed on 02/17/14

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #57

Jun 102013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000(air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer and manufacturer both stated that the part was not available for repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ypslilanti, MI, USA

problem #56

Oct 232012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
Have been to Chrysler dealer for recall info received on air bags and set up replacement appointment, arrived then dealer said tried to use parts from another model to fix??come on!!didn't have parts, would order right parts and call that was 3 months ago!!!great dealer wanted to fix my gear box instead on Jeep!was so crazy of a service call.the service rep was not trust worthy after that but now trust shot with lack of follow up on parts!tks Chrysler /Jeep service rep!.

- Cudahy, WI, USA

problem #55

Nov 082012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received notice 11/8/12 that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 was issued for a recall of 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee on which a component in the air bag control module may fail causing airbag deployment. Although we have received numerous notices, since January 2013 and as recently as January 2, 2014, from Chrysler corporation and both local Chrysler dealers, to alert us to this recall, upon attempting to schedule our Jeep for recall resolution our local dealers have been unable to schedule that resolution. Both dealers claim that no parts are available "yet" to service the recall. This claim as been stated by the dealers every four months since January 2013 and again as recently as January 4, 2014. It appears to me as a consumer that Chrysler has no intention of providing the means to resolve this recall.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #54

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag system occupant restraint control module recall notice. The consumer stated he called the dealer 4 times, only to be told the parts were on back order.

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #53

Oct 182012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) in October 2012. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired on numerous occasions but the dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact did not experience the failure.

- Nottinghan , PA, USA

problem #52

Nov 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Cherokee Laredo. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and the parts were not available. The contact also mentioned that the dealer had not contacted him for the recall repair and he had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was notified.

- Abington, MD, USA

problem #51

Dec 012012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
Received a notice of recall (M35) letter from Chrysler around December 2012 after it was announced on the news in September of 2012. I brought my vehicle to the dealer and they verified that my vehicle is part of the recall. It is now December 2013 and the recall has not been resolved. I call the dealer and the dealer is still telling me they don't have the part to correct the recall. I'm now worried about the chance that I may be in an accident and there are no airbags or side curtain airbags to protect me and my family.

- Daly City, CA, USA

problem #50

Dec 062013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) and was recently informed by the manufacturer that the part was not available. An arrival date could not be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Marstons Mills, MA, USA

problem #49

Aug 222013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that in August 2013, he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags ). the contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired on numerous occasions but the manufacturer stated that they were not manufacturing parts for the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact did not experience the failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Kenmore, NJ, USA

problem #48

Jan 092013

Grand Cherokee

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in November of 2012, there should have been a remedy available before November 2013. The contact had experienced a failure where the air bag warning light was illuminated. The approximate failure mileage was 87,000 and the current mileage was 92,000.

- Steinhatchee, FL, USA

problem #47

Nov 042013

Grand Cherokee

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated while at a stop light the air bag warning light illuminated. The passenger and the drivers side air bag deployed simultaneously. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic test performed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 160,000.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #46

Oct 252013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags ) but was informed that the parts were not available and a second notice would be sent when the did become available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in November of 2012, there should have been a remedy available before October 2013. The contact had not experienced the failure. The current mileage was 82,000.

- Plantation , FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?