10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
28 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
26 / 1
Average Mileage:
24,127 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 13 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Jul 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the parts were not available. The contact stated that he had not experienced a failure.

- Norton, MA, USA

problem #44

Oct 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) in the mail several months ago and stated the dealer informed her the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tracy , CA, USA

problem #43

Jul 292013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the parts were not available. The contact also mentioned that he was experiencing problems with the vehicle and the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure and current mileage was 98,000....updated 11-12-13

- Schuylkill Haven, PA, USA

problem #42

Sep 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The recall letter was received over a year ago, in which the dealer advised that the part was not available for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #41

Jan 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The air bag has not deployed, yet. I recieved a recall notice Jan. 1st 2013 and have not been contacted by anyone since. I would like to know the status of recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527. Next week will be ten months of which I have been driving this defective vehicle. I would appreciate any information about this recall. Thanks,

- Perry Hall, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #40

Sep 022013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 92,500 miles
I was driving home from a camping trip with my family on 9/2/13 on hwy 2 in laurel hill, fl, traveling approximately 50 mph on a two-lane road when the air bag light on the dashboard illuminated and shortly thereafter the driver-side airbag deployed. Nanoseconds later the passenger-side airbag deployed. I managed to keep from running off the road and pulled off onto the narrow shoulder. My wife's knee was hurt pretty badly as the dash opened up and hit her knee when the airbag deployed tearing the skin off her left knee and bruising both the knee and surrounding tissue and the inner portion of her right knee as well. Her injury did not require any hospitalization. I contacted Chrysler because I read online that there was a recall (M35) that affected my year model and make. They told me that my VIN was not included in the recall though our experience seemed to match up with the recall. The Jeep is currently at the dealership following an inspection and the case remains open.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #39

Jan 282013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) and was advised that the parts were not available. The contact stated had not experienced a failure.

- Owatonna, MN, USA

problem #38

Nov 292012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that a chime sounded inside of the vehicle as the air bag warning indicator began to illuminate intermittently. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed to complete the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 10/17/13

- Manakin-Sabot, VA, USA

problem #37

Apr 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The manufacturer and dealer were contacted and stated that the part was not available for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 68,000.

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #36

Feb 012012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
Jeep has two recalls on my 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee, but has done nothing for months. I received a notice recall M35/NHTSA warning that airbags might deploy on their own. So far, Jeep has done nothing to fix it. They sent me a frightening notice and then, nothing. Auto manufacturerers need to be required to fix defects in a timely fashion. I know there is another recall that occurred earlier this summer, and I haven't even gotten a notice about it. So two safety issues and so far, no repair. Should I even be driving this vehicle?

- Alexandria, KY, USA

problem #35

Aug 232013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) several months ago and was informed by the manufacturer that the part was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 10/17/13

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #34

Jan 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the part needed to complete the repairs for NHTSA campaign id number was 12V527000 (air bags) remained unavailable. The manufacturer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced any failure.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #33

Jan 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall letter in January 2013. The dealer advised that the part was not available for repair. The contact did not experience the failure; however the contact was concerned that the air bag could possibly deploy inadvertently. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cassopolis, MI, USA

problem #32

Nov 142012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
Received safety recall notice M35nhtsa 12V-527 in late 2012 (airbag control module). Advised I would receive followup recall notice when parts were available. Checked local dealer in Feb 2012 and was advised the parts were to be available in March 2012. Just checked dealer today (8/5/13) and was advised they do not have any date from Jeep on when parts would be available. Is anyone from NHTSA following up on this problem ?

- Saint Joseph, MI, USA

problem #31

Jan 082013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) several months ago and stated that the dealer informed her that the parts were not readily available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified but did not advise the contact on when the parts would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The consumer was informed, the company that manufactured the part went out of business. Updated 11/20/13

- Ocean Pines , MD, USA

problem #30

Jul 202013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 134,000 miles
I was traveling at 55 mph going West when a Ford Focus ran a stop sign and hit me from the side going 80ish mph. We spun out and rolled several times, the side and front airbags did not deploy. We got lucky and for the most part walked away from an accident that should of killed us.

- Sutherlin, OR, USA

problem #29

Jul 302013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact receive notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags)several months ago and stated that the dealer informed her the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 9/4/13

- Bluebell , PA, USA

problem #28

Jan 242013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag system occupant restraint control module recall notice. The consumer contacted the dealer on more than one occasion, only to be told, there were unable to get the parts needed to correct the problem.

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #27

Jul 182013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) several months ago and stated the dealer informed her that the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #26

Jun 052012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) and the part was unavailable for one year. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide an expected date for the part to be available. There are no failures at this time.

- Lagrange, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?