Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
27 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
25 / 1
Average Mileage:
24,001 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 9 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #119

Feb 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part to do the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #118

Feb 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part needed was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #117

Feb 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was not available for several months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Branchville, NJ, USA

problem #116

Jan 072015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V046000 (air bags) and 12V527000 (air bags) however, the parts needed to perform the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bellefonte, PA, USA

problem #115

Jul 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • 156,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving the vehicle, the air bag warning light flashed and a chime sounded. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 156,500. MA 10/5 the consumer stated the problem occurred for several days. Updated 01/27/16.

- Safety Harbor, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #114

Jul 292015

Grand Cherokee

  • 156,500 miles
The airbag red light and beep warning keep going off and on repeatedly. This started on July 29, 2015. This happens every time I drive the car.

- Safety Harbor, FL, USA

problem #113

Jul 292015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am just wanting to inform you that approx. 3+ years ago I have been getting the airbag recall and also rec. The recall for the gas tank problem. When I finally was able to take the car in for the airbag recall (3 yrs later) they finally got the part at this time they advised me that I was also on the gas tank recall and said they would call me when the parts came in. I found out that the first airbag repair did not work and they were scheduling for the second repair. At the time I took my car in they not only didn't have the necessary parts to do the 2nd airbag repair but I asked them when the trailer hitches were going to be available for that repair and strangely my vehicle was no longer on that recall. Which made me very suspicious as to why I was for several years and then all of a sudden dropped. I figured they were redoing the recall list to make it less but my problem is that I need a safe car as I Transport my grandchild and 86 year old mother in my car. What kind of games are they playing? I would like assistant with getting the 2 recalls taken cared of or have the buy back option of the $1,000 over market value that I have read about so I can travel safely with my family in a safe car.

- Gifford, WA, USA

problem #112

Nov 072012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Our Jeep was recalled in Nov of 2012 for faulty airbags that could deploy and cause a crash without warning. We brought the vehicle right in for repairs and have since been driving it around with two children in it. We then received another recall notice in Jan 2015 stating that the original repair does not satisfactorily eliminate the potential for inadvertent deployments. We have since used the vehicle only when needed, but not with our children in the car, and have yet to be contacted to fix the problem that has the potential to cause a crash. We have contacted the dealer on several occasions only to be told that they do not have the parts to fix the problem, and have no idea when they will have the parts to fix the problem that can potentially cause a crash. Today when we contacted the dealer and said that we have barely driven the car in seven months and we need to know if the vehicle is at least "safe to drive", we were told that they don't know if it is safe to drive and they also still don't know when they will be able to fix the problem. At this point we will not drive the vehicle and want them to buy the vehicle back. I don't understand how they are allowed to issue a safety recall on a car with a potentially deadly problem, but then tell the consumer that they have to drive the car until they get the parts....updated 10-13-15

- Northport, NY, USA

problem #111

Mar 252013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 12V527000 (air bag) and 15V046000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Scottsdale , AZ, USA

problem #110

Jun 172013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 86,295 miles
Swerved to avoid a deer and ended up in the ditch. My air bag failed to deploy and my face hit the steering wheel. Cut above eye requiring stitches, my teeth cut through mouth requiring stitches. Severe concussion. Compression fractures L1-L3, T4-T8 in back. My right clavicle was broken due to seat belt not catching. Air lifted to hospital.

- Long Grove, IL, USA

problem #109

Mar 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags). The part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Moncks Corner, SC, USA

problem #108

Jul 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 150,000 miles
I received a recall notice from fca (Fiat Chrysler automobiles) in March, 2015 that that occupant restraint control module was defective and it needed to be repaired. As of today, July 2, 2015, the company still does not have the parts ready to remedy the defect. This is an unreasonable time delay to repair the safety defect.

- Sharonville, OH, USA

problem #107

Jul 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 130,000 miles
The air bag light keeps going on and off. I have not found a pattern as to what causes this to happen. I am worried because I have seen other recalls on Jeep Grand Cherokee which caused the air bag to deploy for no reason.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #106

Apr 142015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sewell, NJ, USA

problem #105

Jun 092014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/01/15 updated 12/3/15

- Arnold, MD, USA

problem #104

May 292015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I have yet to have my Jeep fixed with safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527. I have received letters about this problem and have answered Chrysler about this fix to no avail. I have received multiple letters for the recall, and I went to a local dealer and was told to wait for Chrysler to send me a letter to say the parts are available. I can't understand why it is taking months for this repair to take place. Please help me with this problem!

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #103

May 262015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/21/15 updated 9/23/15

- Avoca, NY, USA

problem #102

Feb 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Chrysler has failed to correct the following recalls: M35/NHTSA 12V-527 since Feb 2014 we took it to Chrysler they said it was fixed and then we received additional documentation that the fix was not corrected due to parts being incompatible. We have not heard anything since March 2015. We called the local dealer and parts were not available yet.

- St. Leonard, MD, USA

problem #101

Oct 042013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was not available for an extended period of time. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #100

Mar 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I have a vehicle that is involved in a recall. I tried a year ago to get it fixed; there were no parts available. We were told we would be notified when parts came in. I just received another notice in the mail about the recall, and I am concerned for my family's safety. I need this fixed asap. I drive almost an hour both ways every day and of course my children are my first concern. I need this remedied asap, I can't believe there is a massive recall on something like this with no way to fix it. The problem has been around for quite some time, and nobody has parts. If the seatbelts malfunction, or the airbags deploy, a serious accident could occur. This is a serious safety concern, and the Jeep is the only vehicle I drive, so I do not have the luxury of waiting until parts become available. I've had to drive it.

- Stacy, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?