Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,377 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #14

Jun 032016

Grand Cherokee

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had an appointment at a Jeep dealership in North charleston on June 3, 2016 to get the safety recall R60 / NHTSA 15V-673 fixed. After having my Jeep there all day they informed me they did not have the parts and I would have to bring it back when they have the parts. I lost a whole day of pay for a scheduled appointment and the issue was not taken care of because they did not have the parts. As of today 06/23/2016 I have not been contacted to inform me if or when this issue will be fixed.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #13

Oct 302015

Grand Cherokee

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag and seat belt warning indicators illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V673000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 160,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Anderson, SC, USA

problem #12

Dec 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Vechile has 167,000 miles on it. Just this past month after putting on a new tension pulley the airbag and seatbelt lights came on. Was not aware of any recall until watching the news tonight and found this website. Did not receive any type of notifications that I was reading about. Having alot of other issues with vechile as well.

- Brooksville, FL, USA

problem #11

Nov 252015

Grand Cherokee

  • 135,978 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag and the seat belt warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 135,978.

- Kokomo, IN, USA

problem #10

Dec 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Fca will not provide me with a rental vehicle until my vehicle is fixed, knowing there is a problem with my air bag system, as well as my SRS, knowing that my air bag could go off at anytime, causing a crash without warning. I will not endanger myself or my family by driving a vehicle that I and fca knows could cause a crash.

- Mooresville, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Jun 172013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 86,295 miles
Swerved to avoid a deer and ended up in the ditch. My air bag failed to deploy and my face hit the steering wheel. Cut above eye requiring stitches, my teeth cut through mouth requiring stitches. Severe concussion. Compression fractures L1-L3, T4-T8 in back. My right clavicle was broken due to seat belt not catching. Air lifted to hospital.

- Long Grove, IL, USA

problem #8

May 262015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/21/15 updated 9/23/15

- Avoca, NY, USA

problem #7

Mar 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I have a vehicle that is involved in a recall. I tried a year ago to get it fixed; there were no parts available. We were told we would be notified when parts came in. I just received another notice in the mail about the recall, and I am concerned for my family's safety. I need this fixed asap. I drive almost an hour both ways every day and of course my children are my first concern. I need this remedied asap, I can't believe there is a massive recall on something like this with no way to fix it. The problem has been around for quite some time, and nobody has parts. If the seatbelts malfunction, or the airbags deploy, a serious accident could occur. This is a serious safety concern, and the Jeep is the only vehicle I drive, so I do not have the luxury of waiting until parts become available. I've had to drive it.

- Stacy, MN, USA

problem #6

Jan 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the seat belt failed to latch after several attempts. The contact was not able to secure the front drivers side seatbelt due to the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was not available.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #5

Dec 122012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
According to Chrysler Jeep safety recall M35 / NHTSA 12V-527 (the updated version that includes the 2002-2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee vehicles instead of the original which only included 2002-2003 Jeep Liberty vehicles): "the airbag system occupant restraint control (orc) module on your vehicle (VIN: Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx) may experience a front airbag and/or seat belt pretensioner inadvertent deployment. An inadvertent deployment while driving could distract the driver and cause a crash without warning." (distract" seriously? that's how a random airbag deployment is described??") "Chrysler will repair your vehicle free of charge (parts and labor)... simply contact your Chrysler, Jeep, or Dodge dealer right away to schedule a service appointment..." we tried to schedule this "right away" with our Dodge dealer. We were told the parts were on back order. In February 2013 we were told the same thing. In April we were told there is a one year waiting list for this defect to be repaired as Chrysler is unable to obtain the parts (the dealership words, not mine). This I find hard to believe. What is the NHTSA going to do about this? thank you.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #4

Feb 042014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527 on 2/4/2014 indicating the airbag system (occupant restraint control module) may experience a front airbag and/or seatbelt pretensioner inadvertent deployment. An inadvertent deployment while driving could distract driver and cause a crash without warning. On 2/5/2014, I contacted dealer (pearson Jeep/Chrysler 8250 broad St. Richmond, va). Dealer's response was "there are no parts available for that repair". why is this an issue when a crash could happen anytime the vehicle is in use without the immediate repair? I find that unsatisfactory and a discredit to the Jeep/Chrysler company which I have patronized for nearly 20 years. I anxiously await to hear your response............a very concerned customer!!!

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #3

Dec 122010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 76,500 miles
On December 12, 2010 at or around the hour of 9:30 P.M. central time I was involved in a one vehicle roll over accident due to poor road conditions in my 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I was the sole individual in the vehicle, and after the accident I found myself in the back seat of the vehicle. I was however buckled in the driver's seat at the start of the accident. I sustained a serious concussion and bruising to my left shoulder and hip from the seat belt, as well as other various injuries. The failure of the seat belt is my concern. The seat belt failed during the accident in some way.

- Lander, WY, USA

problem #2

Jul 092008

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 55 mph, the contact fell asleep at the wheel. The vehicle swerved to the right, crossed over an embankment, drove into a ditch, and struck a tree head on. The vehicle is currently at the shop being repaired. The contact sustained cuts and bruises, but no major injuries. A police report was filed. The air bags failed to deploy. She believes that had the air bags deployed, she would not have been injured. The current and failure mileages were 34,000. Update 09/10/08 the seat belt did not restrain the consumer. Updated 09/19/08.

- Rimersburg, PA, USA

problem #1

Mar 102008

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,510 miles
I have a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee and recently I had a failure of the seat belt, in that it locked back in the fully retracted position. Following is a description of the events, I came to a red light and put the brakes on and the seat belt tightened up against my chest, I then leaned back to relieve the tension and the belt stayed tight against my chest, so I unbuckled the seat belt and left it retract to relieve the tension and the seat belt would not extend after that, putting me in a position of not having a seat belt for protection. I have since had the seat belt replaced and the total cost for repairs was $153.91. I looked to see if there were any recalls for the seat belts and wasn't able to locate anything on the internet for my particular Jeep. I don't know if this failure is grounds for a recall but I wanted to make the NHTSA aware of the problem in case there are more incidents of this type.

- Spring Grove, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?