10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,953 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 17 of 41)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #500

Jul 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 122,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 10 mph, all electrical functions failed to work properly. The vehicle regained normal operation only after the vehicle was restarted. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 122,000.

- Festus, MO, USA

problem #499

Apr 302015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Chrysler issued a recall for my Jeep in 2014 for a faulty ignition switch. This defect could result in a motor vehicle accident or cause serious injury to the driver and occupants. I have tried since October 2014 to have this recall addressed to no avail. At all time I have been told the ignition part is not available. On April 30, 2015 I filed a complaint with NHTSA detailing the above recall information. I was issued complaint ;number 10713710 and told a letter would be arriving within two weeks from NHTSA. The letter never arrived. I visited my dealership earlier this month (July) and inquired about the ignition switch. I was told that the plant that was manufacturing the switch had burned down. What is the correct answer and reason for this delay. Is it Chrysler does not want to make the repairs" why hasn't NHTSA forced this issue with Chrysler"

- Killingworth, CT, USA

problem #498

May 122015

Grand Cherokee

  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 15 mph, the contact's knee struck the ignition keys and the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 127,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #497

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part to do the repair. The dealer was contacted multiple times. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #496

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Berkeley Heights, NJ, USA

problem #495

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 134,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 60 mph, the vehicle lost all power and stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and various warning lights on the instrument panel illuminated and the vehicle began to jerk. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the ignition module failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the repair part needed was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 134,000.

- Locust Hills, VA, USA

problem #494

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My lights both interior / exterior / gauges flicker on and off whenever the want to on their own. This is a serious problem driving at night

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #493

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #492

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Received a recall for my vehicle, took car to the dealer, back in 2014 and as of today the part has not been received, and my car has not been repaired. When follow up calls are made to the dealer (cerritos Dodge/Jeep dealer in cerritos, ca) are made, am informed the part is on back order, since 2014"?". on the other hand, I am constantly receiving message on my cell, from their sales department for request that I contact them for information regarding a new vehicle, with a trade in and great financing. I don't want a new car, just this one repaired.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #491

Dec 142011

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
We received a recall notice June 2014 for ignition switch. My vehicle dash board, gauges hear, air, everything shuts off at least 5 times a week. I am told from subclass that the part is still not in. In doing research, I have found the some cars completing shut down. Some while driving 60 on a highway. This needs to be fixed. I feel that over a year is long enough. I need my Jeep fixed and safe to drive around with my 4 year old grandson in the back seat. Thanks, deb

- Largo, FL, USA

problem #490

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- White Stone , VA, USA

problem #489

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Scottdale, GA, USA

problem #488

Feb 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start and the instrument panel illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 125,000.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #487

Sep 112014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/15/15

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #486

Sep 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Ventura , CA, USA

problem #485

Sep 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • 99,000 miles
I received a recall for my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. This involves the ignition switch. The ignition switch is defective and could catch on fire. I took it to our local dealership after smelling burnt rubber and they found my ignition had indeed melted. My vehicle and others could catch fire at anytime, is there not something you can do? has not sent parts to dealership for it I had a choice and replacing this with another possible defective switch but that was to come out of my pocket(500.00)! the recall is over a year old and still no replacements parts have been even designed. Isn't there a time limit on this? I've complained to Chrysler and was told there's nothing they can do about till they put out the new part!

- Paducah, KY, USA

problem #484

Jul 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tost Falls, ID, USA

problem #483

Jun 072013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While at a stop or driving, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who replaced the starter twice and the battery, but the failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. MA 09/22/15

- Randolph, MA, USA

problem #482

Jul 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Moresville, NC, USA

problem #481

Jun 112014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
Shortly after I bought the Jeep, I started having issues with the whole dash lighting up as I was driving down the road. I was notified by Chrysler, on 09/29/14, about a recall on the ignition switch. As of today, 6/26/15, the part is still not available. This is completely unacceptable as this issue, obviously, may result in serious injury or death. My dash keeps lighting up and now the brakes are giving me issues. We have had the brakes changed out, rotors and calipers have been changed as well as sensors and there has been no improvement which means it is related to this recall. I am tempted to visit a lawyer in regards to this matter as it is very serious and can cost my family, as well as other families, their life. Updated 09/10/15

- Oakland Park, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?