Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,682 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 41)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #796

May 092016

Grand Cherokee

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailble. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated that the fuel warning light and the engine warning light illuminated. The oil was checked and no failures were found; however, the fuel warning light remained illuminated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #795

May 062016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V438000 (electrical system) and 13V175000 (electrical system, power train). The parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #794

May 122015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Coolidge, GA, USA

problem #793

May 022016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unknown.

- Redwood, NY, USA

problem #792

Jun 262015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle independently shifted into third gear. As a result, the RPM gauge and speedometer increased abnormally. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was pulled to the side of the road and restarted; however, the failure recurred. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was remedied under NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train). The vehicle was returned to dealer and they attempted to reflash the final drive controller again; however, the failure recurred more severely. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 180,000. Updated 06/14/16

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #791

Jun 152015

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at a low speed, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. In addition, the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 47,000. Updated 05/18/16 the consumer stated the failure was not due to a failure of the ignition recall that was performed by the dealer. After extensive diagnostics, it was determined the power failure was due to non-related maintenance issues. The consumer requested to have his complaint withdrawn. Updated 07/07/16

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #790

Mar 312016

Grand Cherokee

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The gauges intermittently work, the radio works intermittently, the power windows don't work, the power door locks don't work, the power seat doesn't work, the power mirrors don't work and I've had the vehicle into my local Jeep dealership (willy racine's Jeep) repeatedly for electrical issues. They have replaced a variety of components including the ignition cylinder and switch. I continue to have problems. The battery and starter have also been replaced as the car was either having a hard time turning over, wouldn't turn over or even stalled while driving. Those issues still continue but very infrequently.

- Essex, VT, USA

problem #789

Apr 042016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Brought vehicle in for oil change (only oil change). Jeep dealer gave back vehicle back with a new ignition stating there was a recall on it without me asking or authorizing them to do so. Now I have a new ignition that is not flush with the dash (sticks out about half an inch) and does not work properly with my original keys. My keys are extremely difficult to go in and out of the ignition and on 2 separate occasions the key was unable to be removed from the ignition resulting in the acc being left on overnight and being forced to take vehicle to dealer in the morning with a dead battery. Dealer states I need to purchase a new key because my keys are original and the ignition they replaced is brand new and are not synced up. The service manager told me it is my problem to purchase new keys for the Jeep that had no issues prior to them replacing the ignition. Called Jeep customer service and they told me I would be given a new key but than put me on hold for 20 minutes and told me it is actually my responsibility to purchase a new key after they changed out my ignition.

- Center Valley, PA, USA

problem #788

Dec 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 0 miles
Jeep shudders during engagement /acceleration. Ac evaporator condensate water causing shuddering in vehicle. Vehicle appears to want to shut off at stop light, RPM's drop drastically and shudders at take off

- Brownsville, TX, USA

problem #787

Jun 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 115,000 miles
We received a recall notice at least 8 months ago and notified our dealer humes of waterford and had no call back.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #786

Jun 012009

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When starting ignition, wipers activate. While driving, headlights and instrument panel flash intermittently. When starting ignition and while driving, air conditioner blower shuts down, cuts out intermittently and blower, when operative, only works on high. Sometimes switching to off and restarting or hitting a bump activates blower. At one time opening and closing the glove compartment activated blower but not any longer. Passenger air bag lights continuously.

- Lake Wales, FL, USA

problem #785

Mar 202016

Grand Cherokee

  • 187,000 miles
While driving, the instrument panel will flicker on and off, the heater/cooler blower shuts down, cuts out. The speedometer and tachometer quit working as well.

- Norwalk, OH, USA

problem #784

Dec 042015

Grand Cherokee

  • 97,803 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 97,803. Part distribution disconnect.

- Maspeth, NY, USA

problem #783

Feb 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled and the brake warning light illuminated. In addition, the calibration warning light and the air bag warning light illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed to be recalibrated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the warning lights remained illuminated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,500.

- Bandon, OR, USA

problem #782

Jan 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 96,000 miles
Exterior headlights and interior dash lights flicker on and off speratically. This happens while driving, stopped and even when parked. I have to flick the light switch on and off to try to get lights to stay on. This is scary when driving at night and I'm sure it irritates the heck out of anyone who see's my lights flickering.

- Port Townsend, WA, USA

problem #781

Jan 182016

Grand Cherokee

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owned a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 65 mph and attempting to overtake another vehicle, the power steering failed. The power steering failure caused the contact's vehicle to crash into a metal guardrail. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to the back and hand, which required medical attention. The contact stated that passengers in the vehicle also sustained injuries to the arms and legs, but medical attention was not required. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed and towed. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #780

May 132014

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
This is well-documented on the internet. The plastic connector for the climate control blower motor on my vehicle has overheated and melted internally, causing an intermittent connection and periodic smoke inside the passenger compartment. I called the dealership and they offered to replace my blower motor resistor and wiring harness with a different set of parts that do not experience this issue. Their offer was to perform this repair at my cost. See: www.sparkys-answers.com/2011/02/2006-Jeep-grand-Cherokee-blower-only.html for visual details of the same issue on another vehicle of the same model, but different model year. Jeep should replace the blower motor resistor and pigtail free of charge.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #779

Sep 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles
This issue is well-documented online. My 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee's steering column horn circuitry fails in the engaged position, causing the vehicle's horn to sound without driver intent. This is a safety hazard that can distract other drivers or cause them drivers to take unnecessary evasive action.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #778

Dec 202014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect......updated 03/15/16

- Woodland Hills, CA, USA

problem #777

Mar 142015

Grand Cherokee

  • 165,000 miles
Vehicle shuts off by itself while moving at low speed" received several recall notices but the dealer hasn't contacted me back with an appointment. Only told me to keep the ignition key separate until they could get the program update"

- Warren, RI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?