10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,953 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 20 of 41)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #440

Mar 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- New Castle, DE, USA

problem #439

Jan 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 115,000 miles
Dash lights flicker and vehicle routinely and randomly will not start. We have been stranded at least 2 dozen times. 2 dealers and an independent mechanic could not locate the problem. Battery, starter, starter relay and key fob's replaced. Vehicle was taken to dealer in Nov 2014 and now on May 11, 2015 ignition switch recall still has not been performed due to lack of parts.

- Chatham, IL, USA

problem #438

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #437

May 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving at about 50mph at night when all electrical cut off including my headlights I was traveling in the darkness at that speed hardly able to see thanks to a car behind me and pulled off the road. Jeep has been stalling way too much as well as cranking for 3 seconds and running and then cutting off instantly the only way I can fix these problems is unhook battery every time and within maybe minutes it may occur again.....this is all directly connected with the P41 recall ignition switch issues on these Jeep that I was sent notice almost a year ago. What's the hold up on these parts!" let's get moving....this is my only vehicle and I no longer feel safe driving or feel reliable about getting from point a to B. I've spent so much money on this vehicle so far because of these type issues. Here is a link to one of the problems occuring with my Jeep. Pay close attention, this could get someone killed! https://www.youtube.com/watch"V=0kagjcoj0ue

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #436

May 072015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) in September of 2014; however the part to do the repair was still not available. The contact felt the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Elisabethtown, NY, USA

problem #435

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/17/15

- White House Station, NJ, USA

problem #434

Dec 172014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.....updated 07/23/15 updated 9/22/2015

- Felton, PA, USA

problem #433

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle intermittently stalled without warning. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that parts were not available for repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #432

May 082014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start until after several attempts. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000. Updated 6/18/15 the consumer stated the passenger was inoperable. Updated 9/18/15

- Midland, TN, USA

problem #431

Sep 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles
Headlights began to flicker on and off- unable to see pedestrian - did not hit pedestrian but almost did-have contacted Chrysler and milton ruben where I purchased car- they say they have no parts to fix it even though I received a recall notice September 2015 that said I would receive another notice- I have not received anything else-it is dangerous driving especially at night and when it is raining- is there anything I can do to get this safety recall fixed? thank you

- Augusta , GA, USA

problem #430

Feb 102015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 200,000. Updated 05-27-15 updated 05/29/15

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #429

Nov 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000(electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Killingworth, CT, USA

problem #428

Jan 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Chula Vista , CA, USA

problem #427

Dec 232013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/11/15

- Murray, UT, USA

problem #426

Apr 212015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) on December 9, 2014; however the part to do the repair was still not available. The contact felt the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer had been made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/7/15

- Brooksville, FL, USA

problem #425

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
At approximate June 2014 I received a recall notice for the ignition switch. Chrysler said approx. Delivery of September 2014. I have not heard or received anything since then. My concern other than the unsafe ignition switch situation is that every time I use my Jeep, my airbag warning light flashes on and off continuously. As time goes on, the worse it gets. My dealer says he has checked others vehicles with the same problem; his best guess is it's related to the ignition switch. He also said the airbag should be a concern because it may activate at any time...even without an accident! Chrysler told me not to be concerned...how can I not be concerned" what else can I do"

- Hermitage, PA, USA

problem #424

Apr 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at approximately 5 mph and making a left turn, all of the warning lights turned on intermittently and the heat turned on and off intermittently. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent dealer where it was diagnosed that the communication was lost to the final drive controller module and the century key immobilizer module needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V438000 and 13V175000 (electrical system, power train). The approximate failure mileage was 122,000. Updated 6/4/15

- Bridgeport, CT, USA

problem #423

Jul 112014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/3/15 the consumer was informed it would take a year for the parts to arrive. Updated 07/02/15

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #422

Dec 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/11/15 updated 06/17/15.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #421

Aug 292014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
We received a recall P41/NHTSA 14V-438 I have called the dealership several times and just got off the phone with them they still do not have any parts to fix this recall 4/22/2015. Why send out notices if the parts are not going to be timely to fix the potential problem? over six months should be plenty of time to create parts!

- Maquoketa, IA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?