Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,682 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 25 of 41)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #336

Mar 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to experiencing ignition problems. The consumer was informed, the part was not available to fix the ignition problem. Recall 3 14V438000.

- Rogers, AR, USA

problem #335

Mar 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V436000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Beebe, AR, USA

problem #334

Sep 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at high speeds, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but the technician was unable to diagnose the failure and repair the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #333

Mar 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Sidney, NY, USA

problem #332

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000(electrical system) and stated that the parts needed were unavailable. The dealer stated that they were uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and they informed the contact that they had added him on a list for the expedited parts. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #331

Aug 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle did restart but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 4/30/15

- Brandywine, WV, USA

problem #330

Mar 032015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Re; ignition switch recall what good is a recall if they never get the parts" how long do we wait for them to get replacement parts"

- Ada, MI, USA

problem #329

Mar 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
T contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Orange, CT, USA

problem #328

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the brake pedal was depressed and remained depressed. The contact had to depress the brake pedal repeatedly before it released in order to move the vehicle forward. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repairer the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 4/7/15 the consumer stated the vehicle stalled several times. Updated 04/14/15

- St Rose, LA, USA

problem #327

Oct 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

problem #326

Sep 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 grand Jeep Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bull Valley , IL, USA

problem #325

Jun 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V438000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Paramus , NJ, USA

problem #324

Mar 012006

Grand Cherokee

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000.

- Charleston , WV, USA

problem #323

Mar 022015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure. Updated 4/15/15 updated 04/16/15

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #322

Feb 232015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 89,387 miles
I was driving and turned on the left turn signal, it was flashing extremely fast and after I made the turn we noticed that some of the interior dash lights were out. Later that night after stopping and restarting the ignition a couple times things seemed back to normal but then it happened again. This has been intermittent since then, but now I have also been informed that I have no brake lights. I checked the brake lamps and they are good and the fuses are good too. I had my mechanic check out the multi-function headlight switch as that seemed to be where the issue was originating and they told me that this is the problem and it needs to be replaced. This is a very serious failure that could have lead to a tragic accident. I feel that there should be an investigation into this and Jeep should replace these switches.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #321

Feb 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle lost power and all the lights on the instrument cluster illuminated. In addition, the contact stated that the head lamps functioned intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V380000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Hampton, TN, USA

problem #320

Jan 262015

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 157,000 miles
During stop-and-go driving, slowing to a stop, stopped at red light or stop sign, my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/4.7L V8 stalls out, engine dies. I put my hazard flashers on and place the gear shift to park. Restart the car and it starts up right away. Check engine light is not on. Mechanics cannot find problem. No reading on the code reader (dtc). This happens every day, several times a day for the past month. This is a serious problem that I understand many Jeep owners are experiencing like me. Please help us resolve this problem. Thank you.

- Rowland Heights, CA, USA

problem #319

Sep 162014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). However, the parts needed to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/07/15

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #318

Feb 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Meridian , ID, USA

problem #317

Sep 112014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice for a faulty ignition switch from Chrysler (P41/NHTSA 14V-438) on 09/11/14. To date (02/25/15) Chrysler's web sight states that the parts continue to be unavailable. The Chrysler notice states that if the defect is not remedied within a reasonable time to contact the NHTSA via this web sight www.safercare.gov. I am doing my due diligence and contacting the NHTSA to report this recall is not being completed within a reasonable time period. It has been 5 month since I was notified and the part(s) required to comply with this recall are not available according to Chrysler's web page, I consider this time period to be non-compliant "reasonable time" for a safety recall issued by the NHTSA. Can you please process this complaint, thank you very much. Updated 4/28/16

- Howards Grove, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?