10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,953 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 38 of 41)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #80

Jul 162012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When attempting to start the vehicle, I heard one click and nothing happened. Lights and gauges worked, but nothing else. Jeep was jumped and then started right up. It went two months and is now doing the same again. Within a week, it has done it 3 times. Battery replaced and starter checks out fine. Also gauges dim and then come back on within seconds. The alarm goes off whenever it feels like it. Doors sometimes will not unlock with the fob which sets the alarm off. Nav system only works when it feels like it. Low setting on heater doesn't work. This lemon needs recalled!!!

- Sandpoint, ID, USA

problem #79

Jul 092012

Grand Cherokee

  • 101,000 miles
While driving for about 30 minutes, the gears changed from drive to the 3rd gear. Transmission reves up and the check engine light comes on. After coming to a stop, and restarting it, it sometimes goes back to drive mode, but reverts back to the third gear, displays "3" and stays there. Took it to a mechanic, could not fix. Dealer claims no recalls for this problem, but online blogs show plenty of people with the same problem. Help.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #78

Mar 162012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
My 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee (first incident) while turning a corner at approximately 15-20mph revved up, would not shift, and prnd were all lit up on the dash, as well as the engine light came on. After a few starts the engine light has gone off. Second incident, from dead stop at a light and accelerating, same issue. Engine light goes off again. This has now occurred 4 times within 2 months and is a safety hazard considering the fact that your speed drops down out of no where and can potentially cause a serious accidents, causing harm to car a drivers, especially behind you, them not being aware that you are suddenly about to drop speed without brake lights!

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #77

Apr 012011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When turning the ignition key to the start position, you hear 1 "click" but the vehicle does not start. This is an intermittent event that seems to come and go every few months. When it happens, I have to leave the key in the on position for about 1 - 2 minutes, then attempt to start the engine again. I had previously had my vehicle serviced at the dealership for this problem, but since it is so random, the service personnel could not recreate the event. I even advised them that other owners, registering this same complaint, pointed to corroded solenoid wires as being the culprit. However, the service department had me purchase a new battery last year. This did not fix the condition which continues periodically to this very day. Unfortunately, the car has been unable to start at a few times when the surroundings were less than totally safe. I have viewed a number of consumer forums, such as autoforum.classifieds1000.com/Jeep-grand_cherokee/2005_jeep_gc_not_starting?pg=10. All of these owners have the exact issue but each time, when presented with the details of the occurrences, dealerships disavow all knowledge that this condition exists. Many consumers are being told by the dealerships that no other owners have complained about this.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #76

Jan 222009

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
While driving the entire electrical system fails; lights start flashing, heat goes out, all system warning lights flash ( brakes, tire pressure, service 4 wheel drive system, check engine light comes on), I was able to continue to drive the car but the lights flashed continuously for approximately 15 miles. This has happened multiple times since I purchased the SUV June 2005. The dealership runs test by say they cannot find anything wrong. I have read on the internet that this is happening to many owners of the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee and the dealers and mechanics at the dealership cannot find anything wrong. This is a dangerous situation as many people also loose power and the SUV shift into low gear. I am afraid to drive my Jeep now because the check engine light keeps coming on and off. I am going back to the dealership again for some more stupid "I did not find anything wrong" statements. Originally I was told it was because I had a remote starter so I has it disconnected and the problem still exists.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #75

Dec 082008

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 52,162 miles
Purchased vehicle 8/9/08. At this time only problem we was you had to press clock button for radio to work. During 2008 we noticed a lot of odd behavior in electrical areas. October 29, 2009 brought Jeep to used car dealership with these complaints: First check engine light started coming on, then it began flashing, door chime starts dinging, illuminated areas dim & brighten-flashing, dashboard lights go crazy flashing on & off, interior lights turn on & off, transmission lights go crazy & need to shift down in order to get vehicle to drive, headlights & tail lights flash on and off which is very unsafe while driving on a dark highway at night. Used car dealership had car towed to Jeep dealership in new london. These repairs cost $500.12 for faulty crank sensor, sensor crankshaft, spark plugs, leak at trans electrical. August 17, 2011 took to a new dealership w/ same problems. Went to valenti Jeep in mystic, ct. Was advised junction block needed to be replaced and codes in multiple modules reset-this cost $318.52. September 10, 2011 back to valenti Jeep for same problems & for install. Of junction box costing $249 because of installation costs & other items we were advised to take care of. Meanwhile as a warning this all begins after check engine light starts flashing. By September 28, 2011 it begins again: At this time check engine light & all other lights start up again, along with fact that you can now pull key out & vehicle is still running. Blinking dash lights, ac on & off, gauges drop to 0, told only reason this is happening is because we have remote start system they don't use. Tech reset system & disconnected our remote start system at a cost of $90.40. Then by October of 2011-approximately, check engine light has returned & transmission lights are blinking. Also headlights started flashing & tail lights. These issues are very sporadic.

- Ledyard, CT, USA

problem #74

Nov 152011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact attempted to start the ignition; however the engine failed to operate until after a jump start was performed to the battery. The similar failure occurred on two different occassions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis and they were unable to locate the recurring problem. The manufactuer was notified if the defect. The approxiamte failure mileage was 90,000. Kmj.. updated 12/29/11 updated 12/30/11

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #73

May 012010

Grand Cherokee

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was towed to independent repair shops and the contact's home whenever the failure occurred. The contact would either have the ignition switch replaced or do the repair himself. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 63,000.

- Uniontown, PA, USA

problem #72

Oct 012009

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
My 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited will not start sometimes. Everything else will seem to be working fine, but I go to start my car and I get a click, but no crank. The battery, alternator, starter, solenoid have all been tested, and do not seem to be the problem. I have found many other Jeep owners that have had the same problem.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #71

Nov 022011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Hemi motor stalled, back-fired, caught fire in engine compartment and lost control of steering. Vehicle accelerated and left the road and flipped onto six cars in parking lot. At that point inside of vehicle caught fire. Passengers were a 5 year old boy and the driver was a 63 year old male. Seven vehicles were destroyed in this accident.

- Depew, NY, USA

problem #70

Oct 282011

Grand Cherokee

  • 71,727 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While parked the contact opened the rear liftgate when it suddenly closed abruptly and struck the contact on the head. The contact sustained head injuries and was transported to the hospital where nine staples were put into her head. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostics or repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 71,727.

- Watertown, MA, USA

problem #69

Jul 152011

Grand Cherokee

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start. After multiple attempts, the vehicle started successfully. The contact also stated that he replaced the battery, starter, and starter relay at independent repair shops, but the failure continued. The vehicle was then taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and referred the contact back to the dealer. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Adams, MA, USA

problem #68

May 012011

Grand Cherokee

  • 105,000 miles
My 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited will sporadically lose a portion of its electrical power. It can be restored by stopping the vehicle and restarting the engine. It never loses the radio nor the "P, R, N, D" on the odometer, but it always loses the remainder of the odometer, the turn signals and the HVAC system. The Jeep dealer is unable to repair the vehicle.

- Belmont, MI, USA

problem #67

Sep 152011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 73,800 miles
While driving on the interstate the engine abruptly quit. Tachometer reading went to 0 and vehicle started to slow down. No power steering or power brakes after engine quit, but still managed to maneuver to the shoulder and stop the vehicle. Turned the ignition key off then immediately restarted the vehicle. Vehicle ran normally for rest of the trip.

- Quitman, AR, USA

problem #66

Aug 012011

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer states intermittent problem starting the consumer stated on several occasions the vehicle would not start. Several components such as the battery and starter were replaced. However, the problem continued.

- Fair Lawn, NJ, USA

problem #65

Jan 102011

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Cherokee. While parked, the contact attempted to start the vehicle but it would not start. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was towed to two different dealers and a repair shop, but they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #64

May 262011

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
Vehicle stalls at random, and looses power steering capability, can cause a crash on windy roads. Very scary. Has been to dealer multiple times in Arizona and has not been able to fix. They tried to fix it under warranty and under extended warranty from Chrysler. Also when vehicle stalls looses power, can't immediately open windows or doors. Doors on this vehicle also interior handles all were broken prematurely right after warranty expired at 48000 miles. This second problem is so common that dealer doesn't have part in stock, factory back order and Jeep won't fix it. This second problem is a safety issue as well because can't open door, with handle from inside in AZ 110 F can be deadly, or during a crash or fire

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #63

Dec 212006

Grand Cherokee

  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the instrument panel lights, headlights, break lights and airbags lights flickered. In addition, the vehicle would not start and the four wheel drive had also failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the problem. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who offered a partial reimbursement but the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 27,000 and the current was 120,000.

- Stockholm, ME, USA

problem #62

Mar 012009

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that intermittently, the vehicle failed to start. In April 2010 the dealer replaced the starter however, the failure recurred sporadically. The vehicle was being repaired for the starter a second time. The manufacturer advised the contact that there were no related recalls and offered no further assistance. The current mileage was 110,000 and the failure mileage was 50,000.

- East Troy, WI, USA

problem #61

Feb 012011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Vehicle stalls or loses power while driving. Error code P2101 limits rpms and performance and also causes problems with the electronic stability program. Replaced throttle body twice, new egr valve, PCM re flashed and same problem. If you wiggle the two back plugs going into the ECM the P2101 code pops up every time. Vehicle is a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited 4WD with A5.7L hemi and only has 87000miles. Huge safety concern when it stalls or loses performance while you are running 80 mph on the interstate.

- Stockbridge, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?