Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,682 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 40 of 41)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Dec 042008

Grand Cherokee

  • 43,786 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee with 50,000 miles, has huge electrical issues. It either will not start and leaves me stranded at home, market, at night after work, or.... if I can get it running after 5 minutes of driving the transmission goes into "limp" mode on the freeway or surface streets and I am afraid I will be stranded again. The dealer has changed out numerous electrical parts to no avail. I as a single woman do not feel safe in this car and have asked the mfg and the dealer to replace it again with no response.

- Hesperia, CA, USA

problem #35

Jul 142009

Grand Cherokee

  • 63,000 miles
No events leading up to failure- normal driving conditions and did not experience any similar problem before. Headlights turn off while driving or flicker on and off. Occurred frequently after car running for more than 10 minutes with lights on. Fixed problem by having the headlight switch replaced at a cost of $335.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #34

Feb 112009

Grand Cherokee

  • 63,795 miles
1. while driving at a standard velocity of 55 mph, the engine lamp in the dash board turns on and the velocity of the Jeep Grand Cherokee decreases very fast with shaking motions. Even thought the accelerator is pushed to increase velocity, it did not respond. These has happened about 4 times in 4 years. Nothing has been done since the event is an intermittent one. 2. under normal use the interior panels in the area of the handles got broken. To correct this, the interior panels (4 panels) were reordered.

- Guayanilla, PR, USA

problem #33

Jun 202008

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,120 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited. My right front directional stays on all the time. Even when key is off. I took the bulbs out so battery would not go dead. I am driving without the front right directional. Called dealer, they tell me the front control module is out of warranty, and if I buy one from ebay at $50 it may not work and has to be programmed at dealer. They are going to give me a discount price to repair of $603. I told them to order the part over a week ago, and today they told me it is on back order and they will call me when it comes in. Is this a common problem, and if so shouldn't they have a part some where to repair it? thank you for your help.

- Rensselaer, NY, USA

problem #32

Jun 072009

Grand Cherokee

  • 88,200 miles
I parked my vehicle in a driveway and took the key out of the ignition. I opened the rear passenger door and put my son in the backseat. The vehicle gearshift lever was pushed out of park and into reverse with my 3 year old son in the vehicle. The vehicle rolled backwards 20 feet and crashed into a truck. If the truck wasn't there it would have rolled even further into the pond. I'm just hoping this doesn't happen to anyone else, it could've killed someone. I am contacting my dealership to try to get the issue resolved. According to the owner's manual the brake transmission interlock system failed on my vehicle. You should not be able to move the gear shift lever in the P (park) position when the ignition switch is in the lock position. To move the gear selector lever out of the P (park) position, the ignition switch must be turned to the on position, and the brake pedal must be depressed.

- Guilford, IN, USA

problem #31

Feb 162009

Grand Cherokee

  • 34,447 miles
Electrical system : starter failure replaced by dealer twice. First replaced on 05/20/08. This part failed on 02/16/09 and was replaced again with 34447 miles on the vehicle.

- Lake Como, NJ, USA

problem #30

Dec 202008

Grand Cherokee

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I drive my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee( hemi)the vehicle simply shuts off. All the lights on the dashboard turn on then the car turns off. I end up with no control. Sometimes this happens and then the vehicle turns on all by itself while im driving. About a week after I purchased it, I had this problem but the dealer said it was fine. As I took it to the gas station across the street, it happened. The dealership employees witnessed it and were nice enough to run over and pushed the vehicle back to the shop. They said they couldn't find anything but replaced the battery just in case. Since then it happens at once every two months. Currently, I have an airbag issue. The dealer cannot seem to repair any of these issues. The airbag lights turn on indicated the airbags are off because it does not sense anyone on the seats. It has been to the dealership 3 times for this issue and I am waiting for a call back to return it so they can install an ECM. They think it may be the issue. This will be the fourth visit for the airbags. Seems the vehicle has a lot of electrical problems. I have not driven the vehicle since December 22nd. It is now Feb 25. I am afraid of going over the warranty miles.

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #29

Nov 012008

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that her vehicle shut completely off while idling at a stop light. She drifted slowly across the median and was able to restart the vehicle after approximately five minutes. The dealer kept the vehicle for a few days and stated that there was electrical failure. The failure occurred without warning. The failure mileage was 36,000.

- East Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #28

Jun 012008

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,510 miles
On numerous occasions my car has stalled out while driving, leaving a catastrophic loss in power. This has happened to me about 5 times now. Thankfully I have not been on the highway or had cars behind me at that time.

- Kent, OH, USA

problem #27

Sep 222008

Grand Cherokee

  • 0 miles
The headlights and dashboard lights turn on and off while driving. On occasion when attempting to start the car the vehicle was totally dead. I had to replace the starter, only 29,000 miles on the car and was advised half of the starter was defective. The problem still continues. Can only assume it is a wiring, electrical problem. The vehicle is a hazard as you never know when this will happen causing myself and other drivers to use caution around the vehicle. This vehicle is definitely defective and should not have left the factory floor.

- Franklin, NJ, USA

problem #26

May 132007

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the headlights flickered on her vehicle, and would also turn off and not back on. The instrument panel lights would also flicker. On approximately 6-8 occasions, the vehicle would not start. The computer system was replaced and the starting failure was resolved; however, the headlights still flickered approximately 90% of the time they were activated. The VIN was unknown. The current mileage was 52,000 and failure mileage was 38,000.

- New Sweden, ME, USA

problem #25

Jan 102008

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Safety recall 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee/transmission fluid leak. Vehicle shakes violently/shudders on highway &when speeding up/ slowing down. Jeep serviced on 5 separate occasions for recall over 36 months. Repaired incorrectly on 1st visit to dealer service. Brought in 4 subsequent times/approx. Every 10,000 mi- to fix same issue transmission/ failed torque converter/shudder. Dealer argued no recall of this item, despite having NHTSA recall info/my VIN was noted on recall. Dealer refused to waive $100 powertrain warranty fee each time Jeep brought back. Dealer insisted mopar parts have 9,000 mi warranty/ I would pay for repair B/C I drove 10,000 mi since previous repair. Dealer refused to provide rental car despite 5-7 day S to repair. Recall states a loaner vehicle to be provided if scheduled repair would take >1+days. A local 5 star Jeep/Chrysler dealership refused to service Jeep after their initial recall repair failed at 10,000 miles. I was told to take Jeep back to dealership I leased it from. Dealership manager told me it was not his problem to fix & 5 star Jeep name did not mean anything to him. Said he was not concerned about recall. I brought Jeep to the leasing dealership- they refuted claims of a recall & told me to pay for all repairs & loaner car. It wasn't until 4th&5th time Jeep was in for service that a loaner car was provided because I told dealer I was pursuing Ohio lemon law. The last time I brought Jeep in for service of this recall item, I was told to go on a drive with serviceman to verify problem. He told me it was torque converter & not to fix it B/C he didn't think there would be a fires from leak. I showed him NHTSA recall. He said I would pay for mopar parts B/C they were out of warranty @ 12,000 miles. I told him I had 10,000 miles since last service. He spoke to manager & they serviced Jeep. Jeep is again shuddering/clunking.

- Chagrin Falls, OH, USA

problem #24

Sep 062007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
I bought the Jeep Cherokee Laredo in June 2005 and I have experienced several events with the instrument panel lighting system and gauges. The panel goes on and off until the engine and / or air conditions shut off. At one point the battery needed to be replaced. It has been very stressful having this condition occurring while driving or at a traffic light. Both dealer and Chrysler have improvised some repairs (6 times) that had not resolved the problem. I have decided to file legal action against the dealer and Chrysler after seeing in the NHTSA complaint database that this is a widespread and systemic problem with this model. If you want to join the effort to pursue actions using the "lemon" or any applicable law request a complaint research of this complaint record to have access to my phone and E-mail address. Having a joint effort will result in louder and more effective results to defend our rights as consumers.

- West Warwick, RI, USA

problem #23

Apr 242007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Since 4/24/07, my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee will intermittently fail to start. This typically has happened after driving it throughout the day without incident. (only once did it happen early in the morning after sitting all night.) for the first two failures, jumping the battery was successful. The third incident, where the jump didn't work, led to the battery being replaced, although the old battery was never diagnosed as faulty. When the car failed to start with the new battery, the keys were re-coded by a Jeep dealer. It then failed to start with the newly coded keys. The ignition was eliminated as a problem, and the starter was replaced (with an after-market product). When the car failed to start again, the starter was replaced a second time (with a Chrysler part) and the ignition once again was diagnosed as working. After the next failure to start, a temperature sensor in the transmission was replaced. When the car again failed to start, I was told the newly replaced temperature sensor was faulty, it was being replaced, and the car would be ready the next day. Now, three days after being told the car would be ready, I'm told that no one knows what the problem is, although the diagnostics now indicate there is a problem. I was told by the current Jeep dealer servicing it that no one could be consulted at Chrysler until the problem could be replicated. (although it is a timely process, the problem has been replicated while in repair.) it is now August 3, 2007, and for the last 102 days my Grand Cherokee has been in and out of repair for weeks at a time. When I have had access to it, I have not been able to drive it with any confidence. The dealer (not a Jeep dealer) where I purchased this car has been loaning me vehicles and they have been exceptional in their concern, despite anyone's ability to resolve this. Their daily attention my faulty vehicle is the only reason, as a first-time Jeep Grand Cherokee owner, that I have been able to stay on the road today.

- Columbus, OR, USA

problem #22

May 142005

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
Vehicle transmission has always made strange clunking noises. Vehicle began to drop out of gear while driving and then finally (and currently) will completely shut off while driving. This has happened on numerous occasions and dealership says that they cannot duplicate the problem. A customer service manager did tell me that Jeep is aware of the problem and this is a common problem among V8 models such as mine but that they just do not know how to fix it so they have not yet issued a recall. However, Jeep is putting so many people at risk of an accident. Not only the vehicle drive but everyone else on the road around the vehicle. The vehicle now shuts off while in motion driving on a fairly regular basis but with no consistent pattern. $34,000 dollars worth of worry.

- Martinez, GA, USA

problem #21

Aug 152006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
I own a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee that has 2 specific problems that I have taken to the dealership numerous times with no resolution. Jeep claims they do not know what the problem is and/or can not duplicate the problem to fix. No error codes etc however if someone would just read the Jeep forums they will see this is a "nationwide" issue that is very dangerous with hundreds of near miss accidents. Her first issue with my Jeep is when coming to a stop or sitting idle with the car in drive the engine just shuts off. Of the 8 to 10 times this has happen, twice the car did not want to start up again. We had to give the car about 5 mins and then it started right up. Dealer found some "random" error codes that we were told had nothing to do with the issue we were having. At the third time we too the Jeep to the dealer they changed a senor and replaced the transmission filter and fluid. The problem continued and on the fourth trip to dealership they updated the software per Jeep in detroit. Still not fixed and the dealer ship is telling me there is nothing they can do. Issue continues to happen. After the dealer ship installed the new software, the second issue started. This issue is the most dangerous and will result in a lawsuit if not fixed. When driving at really any normal speed the car will act as if I the driver am hitting the brakes really hard. Not hard enough to lock the wheels but hard enough to leave a seat belt redness on my neck from being slug forward. When this happens the red brake like and yellow ABS light comes on. The issue happens for about 3 seconds and the car just regroups and keeps going. We have lost count of this issue buy my guess is this has happened about 15 times. On the last 3-5 times when the car locks up it turns off the radio when in the past this did not happen. Issue seems to be adding more problems as time goes on. Jeep needs to read the forums.

- Taylors, SC, USA

problem #20

Aug 152006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,100 miles
: the contact stated after towing the vehicle and driving it 20 miles at 50 mph, there was a intense smell of burning rubber surrounding the outside of the vehicle. The smell was coming from the center front of the vehicle near the firewall. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer on 3 separate occasions for the same issue, but the dealer was unable to determine the problem. The manufacturer was also notified, who the contact stated was very rude. The consumer stated the owners manual was incorrect on how to tow a vehicle. Updated 01/10/07.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #19

Oct 182006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee stops for no reason leaving no control of power steering and power brakes. Have sent back to Jeep dealer twice to try to alleviate problem.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #18

Nov 132006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,100 miles
: the contact stated while driving 60 mph on the interstate, there was a loss of all vehicle power, and the engine stalled without warning. Afterwards, the engine was easily restarted. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who determined the electrical wires along the engine were mounted incorrectly and had worn into. The electrical wires were replaced, but the engine stalling problem persisted. The manufacturer was alerted. Updated 12/28/2006 - whike driving at speeds of 5 - 60 mph all the dasj lights would flash on and off and the vehicle would loose power. So far the dealer has replaced the crank sensor due to wear, front control module.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #17

Oct 022006

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,925 miles
: the contact stated without incident, the driver and passenger side windows cracked. The vehicle was taken to the dealership for the driver side window and the window was replaced. Also while traveling 55 mph, the electrical system shut down. The vehicle was pulled over and turned off. It was restarted and was taken to the dealership, who was unable to determine the problem.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?