Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,651 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 41 of 41)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #15

Sep 012006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,800 miles


On 9/1/06 while on vacation driving in stop and go traffic on California freeway, vehicle lost brakes and steering while vehicle in motion. I was able to pull off to side of freeway. Turned car off and restarted and took to closest dealership. They hooked up to computer and found 3 error codes that they did no recognize. Because of holiday weekend no one was available to look at the car until Tuesday 9/5/06. This left me with extra expense because I had to rent a car for the duration of my vacation and had to stay an extra day for car. Dealership contacted Chrysler and they instructed them to reprogram computer and drive and re-test. No error codes reappeared and gave me my car back. While driving back home from California on 9/5/06 car engine shut off while at stop light. Again had to turn off to get restarted. Took into local dealership in hometown next day and they could not find anything wrong after having car for a day. Again on 9/18/06 while driving out of parking structure, car engine again shut off. Luckily, I did not hit anyone or anything. Taking back to dealership again.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #14

Aug 202005

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I leased a 2005 Jeep Cherokee in June of 05. While traveling on I-69 to indianapolis in August of 05 my Jeep shut off for no apparent reason. I called the dealership and told them of the situation. They told me if it happened again to let them know. Everything was fine until June of 06 when we were again travel on I-69 and the vehicle shut off again. I called the dealership again and they took the vehicle in for service but could find nothing wrong with it. We got the vehicle back and three weeks later my husband was driving alone on I-69 and the vehicle again shut off almost causing an accident. I called the dealership and they have had it for about three weeks with various people driving it with an auto-Pilot hooked up to it, but nothing has happened. So I now have a vehicle that I do not feel safe driving with my 16 month old in the car for fear that it will just shut off and cause an accident. Something needs to be done about this problem before someone gets seriously hurt.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #13

Jun 262006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,943 miles
After filling the gas tank of my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.7 liter hemi I accelerated onto the interstate and the car began to decelerate and all the information lights came on and began to flicker on and off as well as the headlights. Vehicle then proceeded to drive normally with check engine light on but not pulsating. Dealer next day could not look at it as I did not have an appointment. After several stops and turning engine off the check engine light went out. Several days late the information gauge lights flashed and received a code message to service electric brake system. Then they recycled and has been clear since.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #12

May 122006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,466 miles


While driving, all of the gauges will suddenly turn-off (including gas gauge, speedometer, odometer, temperature, and tachometer.) when this happens, the turn signals also stop working, as well as the headlights and dashboard lights. This has happened multiple times, and one time while driving at night. The car has been in the shop five times for the above stated problems (currently still in the shop). Supposedly on the fourth visit, the dealership replaced the "cluster panel." However, this obviously did not resolve the problem as within two hours after picking up the problems happened again.

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #11

Feb 212006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,500 miles
: the contact stated while depressing the brake pedal at any speed the vehicle continued to move forward and the brake pedal went to the floor before the vehicle stopped. The dealer was able to duplicate the problem, but could not determined what remedy to use. Also, the dashboard lights illuminated dim and bright. The dashboard lights were replaced twice in an attempt to solve the problem. However, had no success. Updated 05/30/06.

- Twinsburg, OH, USA

problem #10

Mar 092006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,258 miles
: the contact stated while driving at various speeds the vehicle surged forward without warning. The rpms increased very rapidly. Upon inspection the dealership determined there was a problem with the electrical system and the transmission. The dealer replaced multiple parts in an attempt to remedy the problem however, the surging problem continued.

- Orange Beach, AL, USA

problem #9

Dec 312005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,260 miles


: the contact stated there was NHTSA recall campaign 05V396000 regarding the automatic transmission. The recall was performed on the vehicle, but afterwards it continued to shudder while driving. Although the repairs were performed accordingly the vehicle had a strong shudder that could physically be felt by the contact as well as a loud chatter from the transmission. While shifting from park to reverse there was a loud clanking noise. Aside from the problem with the automatic transmission the electrical system displayed some abnormalities. While driving the dashboard panel lights illuminated and all of the gauges, such as the fuel and speedometer failed to register. The defroster which was in use at that time stopped working. This problem lasted only a matter of seconds but returned to normal when the check engine light illuminated. This occurred 5 or 6 times in a 5 mile radius and abruptly stopped with no further incident. When the contact returned the vehicle to the dealer for the automatic transmission, the electrical system problem was reported to the service department. The contact left the vehicle at the dealer for inspection. However, the service department has been unable to duplicate the problem.

- Farmington, NY, USA

problem #8

Oct 162005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 855 miles
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo death trap. 1) engine shut off on driveway 2) check engine light on and off in 3 engine cycles 3) 70 mph on freeway. Instrument panel dimmed, gauges went to zero and the engine shut off. Veered to right and applied light brake pressure resulting in a brake lockup and freeway spin. Car came to halt facing oncoming traffic. Vehicle would not restart. Placed in neutral and pushed off freeway. Approximately five minutes later turned ignition switch and vehicle turned on 1st service true cause of check engine light reported unknown. True cause of driveway stall unknown. Two codes stored in memory 01411 fuel rational, P2302 ignition circuit. Vehicle test driven 200 miles with starscan. True cause of incident 3 reported as unknown true cause of stored codes reported unknown. Car was released with undiagnosed problem 2nd service circuitry was tested and all values appeared to be within service manual specs no repairs were made and problem undiagnosed daimler Chrysler recommended co-Pilot recording device installation reluctantly were forced to become unpaid crash test dummies for a company who clearly didn't have our safety or well being in mind 4) speed 70 mph on freeway instrument panel dimmed, gauges went to zero and the engine shut off as instructed, the button was pressed on the dealer-installed co-Pilot. When car velocity decreased application of brakes brought car to halt on side of road 3rd service upon diagnostics dealership found multiple codes: P0700, P0562, B210, U0151, B211B, B1ba6, B223D, B210D. Service tech. Contacted star and was advised to perform battery test and to inspect bulkhead and ignition connectors. No problems were found in these areas. Assumption is that the problem lies in a massive electrical failure. Following daimler Chrysler technical rep recommendation engine control module was replaced and service books were closed is the car safe? no. Contact us (

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #7

Oct 242005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,600 miles
I am writing to correct the details of my complaint posted on your web site. I spoke with someone on the phone yesterday and the entry posted is inaccurate. My husband was driving my 3 month old 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee on October 24th (not the 17th) when the engine stalled without warning. He was driving in the left lane of a busy highway during rush hour in the rain. He was able to restart the vehicle after reaching the shoulder of the road. He then stopped at a service station but they could not diagnose the problem. I called the service department at the dealership and was told to tell my husband to drive with the defrost on to keep the engine idle up. I then made a service appointment and asked to have the oil changed at the same time. They kept the truck overnight and said that the diagnostic tests did not reveal any problem and they were unable to duplicate the incident. I was also told that they discovered a "milky" substance when changing the oil and put in a new filter. They did not say that this was the problem. They told me that if it happened again, I should bring it back. My issue is that waiting for a vehicle to stall at high speed on a busy highway is a real safety concern. My husband and I are reluctant to drive the vehicle and actually rented a car to visit our son who is almost 250 miles away at college. I hope you will correct the entry as it is important for other owners who are experiencing the same problem to have the actual facts.

- Chatham, NJ, USA

problem #6

Oct 172005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,600 miles
The contact's husband was driving and the vehicle stalled without any warning. The service dealer could not find the cause of the problem when performing the diagnostic test, and they could not duplicate the problem. The service dealer said there was a milky substance mixed with the oil. This could have caused the problem. Therefore, they changed the oil and filter. The contact believed this may have been an electrical problem.

- Chatham, NJ, USA

problem #5

Aug 162005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,923 miles


Transmission: I have a 05 Jeep Cherokee that has continuously had a transmission shudder problem. While driving, the transmission shudders, feels sluggish, jerking the vehicle forward and backward. It happens while traveling at various speeds, but it is excessive while at the 40 mph & 1500 RPM range. The first time it was taken to the dealership, they did a transmission flush and told me to pick it up. The second time, they ordered, then later replaced the drive line. The third time to dealership, the service technician said they reprogrammed the transmission. It has now been dropped off for the same problem 4 times, and still no remedy. I called the dealership again and told them about a possible recall I read about on the NHTSA website on the problem I was having. The public information specifically suggests a remedy, replace the torque converter (which has not been tried on my vehicle). I asked them why they couldn't use that information to fix my vehicle since it is still under warranty rather than wait to see if a recall is even issued, and I was told that the engineers are working on a remedy for the possible recall I was reading about, and it may not affect my vehicle. So, until that recall is issued, nothing can be done. Air conditioner:on 9/22/05, while vehicle in motion, air conditioner, radio, &all dash lights went off at same time, stayed off for 5 seconds or so, then came back on. 5 miles or so later, the same thing happened again. Later on the same day, the air conditioner would only work on the highest setting. On my way to the service appointment the next day, the air conditioner would come on and turn off itself, like it has an electrical short in it or the dash. I can also smell plastic burning/melting but can not locate where it is coming from. Dealership now states that parts are not available to fix the air conditioner, and they do not have any timeline for parts availability. No clue why the dash lights shut down.

- Jellico, TN, USA

problem #4

Aug 212005

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
I leased a 2005 Grand Cherokee lardo (V8) on June 30, 2005. During the first 1.5 months the vehicle has stalled out loosing complete power on 5 seperate occasions. June 24th - pulling out of my driveway June 26th - backing out of my driveway August 20th - pulling out of my driveway August 21st - while traveling 70mph on the expressway (us-23) while traveling 50mph on us-24 when the vehicle stalls it would loose complete power (dash board lights, radio, and yes power steering). After the two expressway incidents I immediately took it back to the dealership where after looking at it they told me they were aware of this problem, but did not know what was causing it or how to fix it so I could pick up the vehicle that afternoon. They also told me they had a few of their own mechanics experience this same problem, but it just went away. I ended up going through several different managers before speakign with the dealership general manager. The following day (the second day they had the vehicle in the garage they told me they gave me wrong information and this has hever happened before....they were aware of 2004 Grand Cherokee having a starting problem not a stalling out while driving problem. They said they would not give me a new vehicle or terminate my lease when I requested it since I feel this car is unsafe for my wife to drive with my child. They have now sent it home with a mechanic so he can drive it back and forth to work to see if it happens again. They have not repaired or replaced any parts.

- Lake Orion , MI, USA

problem #3

Jul 202005

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
'05 gc ltd 5.7 L information light (service four wheed drive system) flashes on contiunally in the information menu. Dealer kept 2 days and says they have to get a sensor, dealer says Chrysler does not know how to fix.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #2

May 312005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,500 miles
I have a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Several times since I bought it in March the engine has suddenly stopped while I was driving. When I stop the car and put it in neutral, the engine will immediately restart. The dealer has not been able to find why this is happening. This is far more than a nuisance. Should it happen, for example, while I'm passing another car, it could result in a crash. I have talked to Jeep about this and they claim this condition is impossible. However, the dealer told me that his regional manager has experience the same problem with his 2005 Jeep. However I have discovered the source of the problem. The key and ignition switch have been mounted on the steering column. Should the driver inadvertently bump the key with his/her leg, you can stop the car. I have confirmed this condition and reported it to the dealer. He mentioned that the regional manager also suspected this was the case. I am a normal sized male, 165 pounds, 5' 11". it should not be possible to stop the car in the manner I am describing. It has happened to me several times since I took delivery of the vehicle. I believe this is a condition that is dangerous and needs to be pursued by daimler Chrysler asap. Registered professional engineer,

- Brutus, MI, USA

problem #1

Jan 022005

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,300 miles
While driving on the freeway 70 mph and when slowing down to take an exit the vehicle shut down, there was no power at all. Consumer was able to pull over and restart the vehicle. Consumer drove the next day to the dealership and left the vehicle. Dealer could find nothing wrong after three days. After picking the vehicle up from the dealer it shut down while at a stop light. Consumer took it back to the dealer. No defects could be found. Consumer went on a trip, and the vehicle stopped while making a right turn. Again the dealer could not find any defects. Computer was replaced. There was also rear suspension noise. Sunroof is noisy.

- Houston, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?