Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,075 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 41)

problem #807

Aug 122016

Grand Cherokee

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was parked on an incline, it began to roll backwards. The vehicle crashed into the bay and became submerged under water. The vehicle was towed to an independent towing lot. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Millsboro, DE, USA

problem #806

Aug 292014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Granby, CO, USA

problem #805

Aug 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. When the vehicle was being driven at lower speeds, it would stall without warning. The vehicle would have to be restarted in order to operate normally. The approximate failure mileage was 86,000. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Gettysburg, PA, USA

problem #804

Jul 232016

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,495 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the vehicle in drive it slips into gear 3 by itself and when I attempt to accelerate its in limp mode. I always have to pull to the side and shut the vehicle on and restart it several times before it actually shift the ( D ) drive.

- Irvington, NJ, USA

problem #803

May 202016

Grand Cherokee

  • 190,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was being repaired for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system), the dealer also remedied NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train). After the recall repairs were completed, the vehicle experienced a failure with the transfer case changing gears to an improper gear while driving. Prior to the repairs, the vehicle operated as intended. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the transmission module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 190,000.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #802

Jun 242016

Grand Cherokee

  • 129,479 miles
On 04/23/2016 I took my vehicle for a recall, P41 / NHTSA 14V-438 today is 7/10/2016 and the vehicle has done the same thing twice, all of a sudden all the lights in the dash board go on I loose power and after a while it starts up again. Like I said before this has happen twice now I lost my cruise control and a service electrical brake system is coming on and engine light. I fear that this is going to cause me to have an accident one day and there for I have been using only secondary roads that don't have much traffic.

- Montvale, NJ, USA

problem #801

Oct 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a tree. The contact and her son were injured and transported by ambulance to a nearby hospital. The contact stated that the failure was identical to NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. A police report was filed and the vehicle was towed to a local mechanic and the dealer. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Rome, GA, USA

problem #800

Jun 022016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Loxley, AL, USA

problem #799

Jun 072016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #798

May 172016

Grand Cherokee

  • 94,000 miles
I made an appointment at paulding Chrysler Jeep Dodge in dallas, ga on 5-17-16. This appointment was scheduled one week prior to 5-17-16 to replace the ignition switch (P41) and to update a computer system (P73). I was told that the ignition switch was in stock. I brought my vehicle in for the repair at 0830 on 5-17-16. I received a phone call @ 1300 from one of the service managers (nate) telling me that the part was not in stock to replace the ignition switch and I would have to bring it back in when the part was available. When I picked up my vehicle that afternoon I was told that the dealership would contact me and reschedule an appointment for the replacement of the ignition switch. Since then, I have not heard anything from the dealership and my vehicle has lost power 3 times after I picked up my vehicle. I was backing out of my driveway when the vehicle lost power the first time and twice sitting at a red light. I need this resolved right away. I am a home health rn and I drive all day seeing patients.

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

problem #797

Feb 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted after the first attempt. The failure recurred multiple times. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train); however, the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Issaquah, WA, USA

problem #796

Jan 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was parked, the ignition key failed to turn to the off position. As a result, the key fractured in the ignition. In addition, the passenger side air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the key would need to be replaced with a new one prior to the recall remedy being performed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 145,000.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #795

May 092016

Grand Cherokee

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailble. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated that the fuel warning light and the engine warning light illuminated. The oil was checked and no failures were found; however, the fuel warning light remained illuminated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #794

May 062016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V438000 (electrical system) and 13V175000 (electrical system, power train). The parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #793

May 122015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Coolidge, GA, USA

problem #792

May 022016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unknown.

- Redwood, NY, USA

problem #791

Jun 262015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle independently shifted into third gear. As a result, the RPM gauge and speedometer increased abnormally. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was pulled to the side of the road and restarted; however, the failure recurred. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was remedied under NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train). The vehicle was returned to dealer and they attempted to reflash the final drive controller again; however, the failure recurred more severely. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 180,000. Updated 06/14/16

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #790

Jun 152015

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at a low speed, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. In addition, the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 47,000. Updated 05/18/16 the consumer stated the failure was not due to a failure of the ignition recall that was performed by the dealer. After extensive diagnostics, it was determined the power failure was due to non-related maintenance issues. The consumer requested to have his complaint withdrawn. Updated 07/07/16

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #789

Mar 312016

Grand Cherokee

  • 87,000 miles
The gauges intermittently work, the radio works intermittently, the power windows don't work, the power door locks don't work, the power seat doesn't work, the power mirrors don't work and I've had the vehicle into my local Jeep dealership (willy racine's Jeep) repeatedly for electrical issues. They have replaced a variety of components including the ignition cylinder and switch. I continue to have problems. The battery and starter have also been replaced as the car was either having a hard time turning over, wouldn't turn over or even stalled while driving. Those issues still continue but very infrequently.

- Essex, VT, USA

problem #788

Apr 042016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Brought vehicle in for oil change (only oil change). Jeep dealer gave back vehicle back with a new ignition stating there was a recall on it without me asking or authorizing them to do so. Now I have a new ignition that is not flush with the dash (sticks out about half an inch) and does not work properly with my original keys. My keys are extremely difficult to go in and out of the ignition and on 2 separate occasions the key was unable to be removed from the ignition resulting in the acc being left on overnight and being forced to take vehicle to dealer in the morning with a dead battery. Dealer states I need to purchase a new key because my keys are original and the ignition they replaced is brand new and are not synced up. The service manager told me it is my problem to purchase new keys for the Jeep that had no issues prior to them replacing the ignition. Called Jeep customer service and they told me I would be given a new key but than put me on hold for 20 minutes and told me it is actually my responsibility to purchase a new key after they changed out my ignition.

- Center Valley, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?