If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

6.2

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,398 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Feb 162009

Grand Cherokee

  • 34,447 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Electrical system : starter failure replaced by dealer twice. First replaced on 05/20/08. This part failed on 02/16/09 and was replaced again with 34447 miles on the vehicle.

- Lake Como, NJ, USA

problem #30

Dec 202008

Grand Cherokee

  • 100 miles
As I drive my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee( hemi)the vehicle simply shuts off. All the lights on the dashboard turn on then the car turns off. I end up with no control. Sometimes this happens and then the vehicle turns on all by itself while im driving. About a week after I purchased it, I had this problem but the dealer said it was fine. As I took it to the gas station across the street, it happened. The dealership employees witnessed it and were nice enough to run over and pushed the vehicle back to the shop. They said they couldn't find anything but replaced the battery just in case. Since then it happens at once every two months. Currently, I have an airbag issue. The dealer cannot seem to repair any of these issues. The airbag lights turn on indicated the airbags are off because it does not sense anyone on the seats. It has been to the dealership 3 times for this issue and I am waiting for a call back to return it so they can install an ECM. They think it may be the issue. This will be the fourth visit for the airbags. Seems the vehicle has a lot of electrical problems. I have not driven the vehicle since December 22nd. It is now Feb 25. I am afraid of going over the warranty miles.

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #29

Nov 012008

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that her vehicle shut completely off while idling at a stop light. She drifted slowly across the median and was able to restart the vehicle after approximately five minutes. The dealer kept the vehicle for a few days and stated that there was electrical failure. The failure occurred without warning. The failure mileage was 36,000.

- East Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #28

Jun 012008

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,510 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On numerous occasions my car has stalled out while driving, leaving a catastrophic loss in power. This has happened to me about 5 times now. Thankfully I have not been on the highway or had cars behind me at that time.

- Kent, OH, USA

problem #27

Sep 222008

Grand Cherokee

  • 0 miles
The headlights and dashboard lights turn on and off while driving. On occasion when attempting to start the car the vehicle was totally dead. I had to replace the starter, only 29,000 miles on the car and was advised half of the starter was defective. The problem still continues. Can only assume it is a wiring, electrical problem. The vehicle is a hazard as you never know when this will happen causing myself and other drivers to use caution around the vehicle. This vehicle is definitely defective and should not have left the factory floor.

- Franklin, NJ, USA

problem #26

May 132007

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the headlights flickered on her vehicle, and would also turn off and not back on. The instrument panel lights would also flicker. On approximately 6-8 occasions, the vehicle would not start. The computer system was replaced and the starting failure was resolved; however, the headlights still flickered approximately 90% of the time they were activated. The VIN was unknown. The current mileage was 52,000 and failure mileage was 38,000.

- New Sweden, ME, USA

problem #25

Jan 102008

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Safety recall 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee/transmission fluid leak. Vehicle shakes violently/shudders on highway &when speeding up/ slowing down. Jeep serviced on 5 separate occasions for recall over 36 months. Repaired incorrectly on 1st visit to dealer service. Brought in 4 subsequent times/approx. Every 10,000 mi- to fix same issue transmission/ failed torque converter/shudder. Dealer argued no recall of this item, despite having NHTSA recall info/my VIN was noted on recall. Dealer refused to waive $100 powertrain warranty fee each time Jeep brought back. Dealer insisted mopar parts have 9,000 mi warranty/ I would pay for repair B/C I drove 10,000 mi since previous repair. Dealer refused to provide rental car despite 5-7 day S to repair. Recall states a loaner vehicle to be provided if scheduled repair would take >1+days. A local 5 star Jeep/Chrysler dealership refused to service Jeep after their initial recall repair failed at 10,000 miles. I was told to take Jeep back to dealership I leased it from. Dealership manager told me it was not his problem to fix & 5 star Jeep name did not mean anything to him. Said he was not concerned about recall. I brought Jeep to the leasing dealership- they refuted claims of a recall & told me to pay for all repairs & loaner car. It wasn't until 4th&5th time Jeep was in for service that a loaner car was provided because I told dealer I was pursuing Ohio lemon law. The last time I brought Jeep in for service of this recall item, I was told to go on a drive with serviceman to verify problem. He told me it was torque converter & not to fix it B/C he didn't think there would be a fires from leak. I showed him NHTSA recall. He said I would pay for mopar parts B/C they were out of warranty @ 12,000 miles. I told him I had 10,000 miles since last service. He spoke to manager & they serviced Jeep. Jeep is again shuddering/clunking.

- Chagrin Falls, OH, USA

problem #24

Sep 062007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
I bought the Jeep Cherokee Laredo in June 2005 and I have experienced several events with the instrument panel lighting system and gauges. The panel goes on and off until the engine and / or air conditions shut off. At one point the battery needed to be replaced. It has been very stressful having this condition occurring while driving or at a traffic light. Both dealer and Chrysler have improvised some repairs (6 times) that had not resolved the problem. I have decided to file legal action against the dealer and Chrysler after seeing in the NHTSA complaint database that this is a widespread and systemic problem with this model. If you want to join the effort to pursue actions using the "lemon" or any applicable law request a complaint research of this complaint record to have access to my phone and E-mail address. Having a joint effort will result in louder and more effective results to defend our rights as consumers.

- West Warwick, RI, USA

problem #23

Apr 242007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Since 4/24/07, my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee will intermittently fail to start. This typically has happened after driving it throughout the day without incident. (only once did it happen early in the morning after sitting all night.) for the first two failures, jumping the battery was successful. The third incident, where the jump didn't work, led to the battery being replaced, although the old battery was never diagnosed as faulty. When the car failed to start with the new battery, the keys were re-coded by a Jeep dealer. It then failed to start with the newly coded keys. The ignition was eliminated as a problem, and the starter was replaced (with an after-market product). When the car failed to start again, the starter was replaced a second time (with a Chrysler part) and the ignition once again was diagnosed as working. After the next failure to start, a temperature sensor in the transmission was replaced. When the car again failed to start, I was told the newly replaced temperature sensor was faulty, it was being replaced, and the car would be ready the next day. Now, three days after being told the car would be ready, I'm told that no one knows what the problem is, although the diagnostics now indicate there is a problem. I was told by the current Jeep dealer servicing it that no one could be consulted at Chrysler until the problem could be replicated. (although it is a timely process, the problem has been replicated while in repair.) it is now August 3, 2007, and for the last 102 days my Grand Cherokee has been in and out of repair for weeks at a time. When I have had access to it, I have not been able to drive it with any confidence. The dealer (not a Jeep dealer) where I purchased this car has been loaning me vehicles and they have been exceptional in their concern, despite anyone's ability to resolve this. Their daily attention my faulty vehicle is the only reason, as a first-time Jeep Grand Cherokee owner, that I have been able to stay on the road today.

- Columbus, OR, USA

problem #22

May 142005

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
Vehicle transmission has always made strange clunking noises. Vehicle began to drop out of gear while driving and then finally (and currently) will completely shut off while driving. This has happened on numerous occasions and dealership says that they cannot duplicate the problem. A customer service manager did tell me that Jeep is aware of the problem and this is a common problem among V8 models such as mine but that they just do not know how to fix it so they have not yet issued a recall. However, Jeep is putting so many people at risk of an accident. Not only the vehicle drive but everyone else on the road around the vehicle. The vehicle now shuts off while in motion driving on a fairly regular basis but with no consistent pattern. $34,000 dollars worth of worry.

- Martinez, GA, USA

problem #21

Aug 152006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee that has 2 specific problems that I have taken to the dealership numerous times with no resolution. Jeep claims they do not know what the problem is and/or can not duplicate the problem to fix. No error codes etc however if someone would just read the Jeep forums they will see this is a "nationwide" issue that is very dangerous with hundreds of near miss accidents. Her first issue with my Jeep is when coming to a stop or sitting idle with the car in drive the engine just shuts off. Of the 8 to 10 times this has happen, twice the car did not want to start up again. We had to give the car about 5 mins and then it started right up. Dealer found some "random" error codes that we were told had nothing to do with the issue we were having. At the third time we too the Jeep to the dealer they changed a senor and replaced the transmission filter and fluid. The problem continued and on the fourth trip to dealership they updated the software per Jeep in detroit. Still not fixed and the dealer ship is telling me there is nothing they can do. Issue continues to happen. After the dealer ship installed the new software, the second issue started. This issue is the most dangerous and will result in a lawsuit if not fixed. When driving at really any normal speed the car will act as if I the driver am hitting the brakes really hard. Not hard enough to lock the wheels but hard enough to leave a seat belt redness on my neck from being slug forward. When this happens the red brake like and yellow ABS light comes on. The issue happens for about 3 seconds and the car just regroups and keeps going. We have lost count of this issue buy my guess is this has happened about 15 times. On the last 3-5 times when the car locks up it turns off the radio when in the past this did not happen. Issue seems to be adding more problems as time goes on. Jeep needs to read the forums.

- Taylors, SC, USA

problem #20

Aug 152006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,100 miles
: the contact stated after towing the vehicle and driving it 20 miles at 50 mph, there was a intense smell of burning rubber surrounding the outside of the vehicle. The smell was coming from the center front of the vehicle near the firewall. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer on 3 separate occasions for the same issue, but the dealer was unable to determine the problem. The manufacturer was also notified, who the contact stated was very rude. The consumer stated the owners manual was incorrect on how to tow a vehicle. Updated 01/10/07.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #19

Oct 182006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee stops for no reason leaving no control of power steering and power brakes. Have sent back to Jeep dealer twice to try to alleviate problem.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #18

Nov 132006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,100 miles
: the contact stated while driving 60 mph on the interstate, there was a loss of all vehicle power, and the engine stalled without warning. Afterwards, the engine was easily restarted. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who determined the electrical wires along the engine were mounted incorrectly and had worn into. The electrical wires were replaced, but the engine stalling problem persisted. The manufacturer was alerted. Updated 12/28/2006 - whike driving at speeds of 5 - 60 mph all the dasj lights would flash on and off and the vehicle would loose power. So far the dealer has replaced the crank sensor due to wear, front control module.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #17

Oct 022006

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,925 miles
: the contact stated without incident, the driver and passenger side windows cracked. The vehicle was taken to the dealership for the driver side window and the window was replaced. Also while traveling 55 mph, the electrical system shut down. The vehicle was pulled over and turned off. It was restarted and was taken to the dealership, who was unable to determine the problem.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #16

Jul 262005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 155 miles
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee - 07/26/2005 - vehicle did not start, dealer replaced battery. 06/10/2006 - stalled while at light, dealer attempted repair by tightening connection in junction box. 06/28/2006 - vehicle stalled while driving, dealer could not duplicate no repairs attempted. 07/07/2006 - vehicle stalled while on interstate, dealer replaced forward control module. 07/26/2006 - vehicle would not start - dealer could not duplicate no repairs attempted. 09/01/2006 - vehicle stalled while driving - dealer duplicated problem - dealer replaced battery. 09/15/2006 - vehicle stalled while driving, has been in dealer possession now for 7 days - cannot duplicate - no repairs attempted. Vehicle has been out of service for same problem for a total of 39 days and counting. Situation is a danger as the vehicle will just die while moving and driver cannot get it off road. Vehicle only has 20,000 miles and has had problem since 155 miles. Daimler Chrysler's response is unacceptable - vehicle is a safety hazard and an accident waiting to happen. When is enough - enough" loss of life" maybe then someone will realize there is a problem with several of these 05 Jeep Grand Cherokee with same problem! contact me karenhorrocks@bellsouth.net.

- Loxley, AL, USA

problem #15

Sep 012006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,800 miles
On 9/1/06 while on vacation driving in stop and go traffic on California freeway, vehicle lost brakes and steering while vehicle in motion. I was able to pull off to side of freeway. Turned car off and restarted and took to closest dealership. They hooked up to computer and found 3 error codes that they did no recognize. Because of holiday weekend no one was available to look at the car until Tuesday 9/5/06. This left me with extra expense because I had to rent a car for the duration of my vacation and had to stay an extra day for car. Dealership contacted Chrysler and they instructed them to reprogram computer and drive and re-test. No error codes reappeared and gave me my car back. While driving back home from California on 9/5/06 car engine shut off while at stop light. Again had to turn off to get restarted. Took into local dealership in hometown next day and they could not find anything wrong after having car for a day. Again on 9/18/06 while driving out of parking structure, car engine again shut off. Luckily, I did not hit anyone or anything. Taking back to dealership again.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #14

Aug 202005

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I leased a 2005 Jeep Cherokee in June of 05. While traveling on I-69 to indianapolis in August of 05 my Jeep shut off for no apparent reason. I called the dealership and told them of the situation. They told me if it happened again to let them know. Everything was fine until June of 06 when we were again travel on I-69 and the vehicle shut off again. I called the dealership again and they took the vehicle in for service but could find nothing wrong with it. We got the vehicle back and three weeks later my husband was driving alone on I-69 and the vehicle again shut off almost causing an accident. I called the dealership and they have had it for about three weeks with various people driving it with an auto-Pilot hooked up to it, but nothing has happened. So I now have a vehicle that I do not feel safe driving with my 16 month old in the car for fear that it will just shut off and cause an accident. Something needs to be done about this problem before someone gets seriously hurt.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #13

Jun 262006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,943 miles
After filling the gas tank of my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.7 liter hemi I accelerated onto the interstate and the car began to decelerate and all the information lights came on and began to flicker on and off as well as the headlights. Vehicle then proceeded to drive normally with check engine light on but not pulsating. Dealer next day could not look at it as I did not have an appointment. After several stops and turning engine off the check engine light went out. Several days late the information gauge lights flashed and received a code message to service electric brake system. Then they recycled and has been clear since.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #12

May 122006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,466 miles
While driving, all of the gauges will suddenly turn-off (including gas gauge, speedometer, odometer, temperature, and tachometer.) when this happens, the turn signals also stop working, as well as the headlights and dashboard lights. This has happened multiple times, and one time while driving at night. The car has been in the shop five times for the above stated problems (currently still in the shop). Supposedly on the fourth visit, the dealership replaced the "cluster panel." However, this obviously did not resolve the problem as within two hours after picking up the problems happened again.

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?