Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,597 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

May 202016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata inflator. I purchased my Jeep and after a few months I notice it kept getting stuck in 3rd. Wouldn't come out. Then the message "transmission over temp" would pop up. It would randomly just loose all power and cut off as I would be driving. I had it looked at. Checked the codes bc check engine light would pop up also. Multiple codes were in the history pertaining to the issue. I was going to get everything fixed until I was told to contact Jeep first bc there might be some recalls that others were experiencing my same problem. I would of paid for it regardless to fix the problems. It had numerous recalls. Made an appointment to mckinney Dodge in easley, SC. After fixing the recalls I have paperwork for a few months later was doing it again. I work in a service dept. So I asked one my techs if it was same problem as the recalls and did I need to call dealership back. They said yes. Called mckinney and they refused to set me an appointment and said the problems had nothing to do with the recalls they fixed. After having several tows and stranded and almost wrecking with my children in the car going down the highway and just dies, I'm beyond frustrated and no one can seem tell me how to fix. After reading several reviews and recall information, my issues are everything with my recalls. My airbag light go on and off also. They never touched that and it's also a recal. I need to know what I need to do bc I'm not waiting for an accident or death bc this vehicle. It's my only car and I've tried to pay myself and had recalls fixed and problem is still there. I've contacted a lawer. I want it fixed or I want another vehicle.

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #22

Mar 222016

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,000 miles
Was driving my Jeep at night with my infant in the back seat, 55mph. Suddenly all the lights in the dashboard and parking assistance lights in the back all lite up. At the same time the heater stopped working and my headlights went out as well. They came back on about 5 seconds later. I continued to drive when it did it again. I switched the lights out of auto. The same problem occurred again but this time the head lamps did not go out, all the warning lights on the dash still flashed and heat went off. It resumed the whole way home but never fully lost power. It still does this on a daily basis, multiple times. I feel as if it's getting worse but no one can diagnose and figure out what's wrong with it. Considering the airbag warning and others(all of them) light up, I'm concerned for my safety and my sons. Today as I was driving it seemed worse. Even turn signal lights are effected when this happens. Today my speedometer, gas gage... everything on my dashboard lite up and my meters quit working. It all resumed as normal after it happened but it happened approximately 15 times during a 10 minute drive. Sometimes back to back to back. It also happened while sitting at a stop light when I noticed my turn signals also went out at that time, while stationary and while turning. Happens no matter if stationary or in motion.

- Decatur, IN, USA

problem #21

Jun 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I received notice of recall for ignition switch over a year ago. I believe my car experienced this issue on numberous occassions, to which, prior to recall, Jeep "couldn't find problem" and would do nothing to reconcile my safety concerns. I could not apply lemon law. I contacted Jeep dealer, mystic, ct again after recall notice and they stated they didn't have parts and I would have to wait to be contacted by Jeep to repair. My Jeep was on highway multiple times when this happened; all of gauges would drop to off position, lights would flash on and off--somehow it would correct itself. Upon bringing it to dealership multiple times, it somehow stopped. Then incident approximately 2.5 years ago-parking car in lot-everything "locked" including steering and braking-rolled until car stopped on its own-took key out of ignition-waited, restarted and car was fine. Don't have exact dates but mystic ct Jeep has record of all times car brought in.

- Northford, CT, USA

problem #20

Oct 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 189,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car accelerates after releasing the brake and sometimes it switches into neutral and I'm unable to accelerate. This happens when im driving straight or making a turn. My car also shuts completely off while im in the middle of driving. The lights flash on the dashboard and then they all come back

- Indian Trail, NC, USA

problem #19

Jan 032011

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Engine suddenly stops, all lights on dashboard come on, unable to steer properly and control vehicle...breaking doesn't work well either when this happens..on occassion I have been able to re-start the engine immediately but the check engine light comes on and stays on for a few days. Has happened while driving, while parked, while idling in traffic...I only have the ignition key in use I do not have a heavy key chain. Extremely scary when this has happened on interstate!! please let me know if there is a fix for this problem. I have taken it to a shop several times and they cannot find anything and tell me there are no recalls on my vehicle.

- Winchester, TN, USA

problem #18

Jun 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 114,000 miles
While driving my vehicle, the A/C, dash, and power steering shut down. Additionally, this casuea the brakes to lock up. This is a direct issue with the ignition. When the key is in the "on" position, the vehicle acts as if it were in the "off" position. This issue has put me in multiple situations where I feared an accident was imminent. I called my local Jeep dealership which informed me that the replacement part was not yet available. I was encouraged to call Chrysler's main office to get an update. They advised me that it was not yet available and that their recommendation was to not drive my vehicle until the recall was available. This vehicle is my only means of transportation, so that is not an option for me. The recall for this part was issued 9/3/14, it is now 6/9/15 and the recalled part still cannot be replaced.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #17

Mar 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 06 Jeep in March of 2015 and had problems with it ever since. First incident happend right after I bought car. Pulled in to mcdonalds drive through and steering wheel locked up on me and dashboard lights lite up all of them. Scared the crap out of me. Same things happened at least 6 other times where the steering wheel would lock up and truck would shut off. I was sitting at a stop light when the dashboard lights lit up and then truck died. Truck will appear to be racing at times when I barly hit gas.I had my 5 year old granddaught with me and the truck shut off while I was driving going about 45 miles. I never was so scared in my life. All I could image was me and my precious granddaughter dying. I was so scared, I could not drive for a day or two to settle my nerves. Please help !!!!!. I think that Chrysler needs to pay for rentals till issue is fixed or have trucks replaced before someone dies. !!!!!!!

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #16

Apr 272015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
I was contacted in mail about a recall on my Jeep. Recall was for ignition switch. I have contacted Chrysler group recall assistance center numerous times and have yet to get anything fixed.

- Indian Trail, NC, USA

problem #15

Dec 092014

Grand Cherokee

  • 175,500 miles
I received a recall notice N23 which said that I needed to call my local Jeep Chrysler service center as soon as possible to have the work done because the problem could cause a crash. I have been trying to call at least a couple of times a week since I have received this notice about 7 months ago and they told me that I am on a waiting list for the part. Nothing can be done until they get the part. Since then, the problems continue to get worse. Last night, I almost crashed as I lost control of the steering because the Jeep seemed to lost control and died momentarily as the lights on my control panel were flashing. I was told it was all due to the key switch but I have now noticed that as the lights are all blindingly flashing there is a grinding noise that sounds like it is coming from under the car near the front. I am not a mechanic so I have no idea and I don't have money to take my Jeep in and have them "try" to figure out what is going on and then charge me for possibly figuring it out. This is unacceptable! we have been waiting for almost seven months for parts that the notice says "please hurry!!! call the express service hotline 1-866-849-3608 right now to schedule your free repair". is it because it is free repair that there is no hurry to get this fixed? I have a child! I almost wrecked. If anyone had been around me or I had been in a curve when I lost the ability to steer after the car died, we could have been killed or we could have killed someone else! I need help now!!!

- Richlands, VA, USA

problem #14

May 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 146,221 miles
All the lights on my instrument panel started flashing and I lost the ability to see my speedometer, the fan was not blowing and this continued until the lights started flashing. The check 4WD system came on and has stayed on. The check 4WD system light came on not long after I bought it and I took it back to the dealership and I was told that it is because there are aluminum parts that get stuck and you can ignore it. That it was working fine. I rarely use my 4WD system and the check engine light would go off normally after I turned the car off. This started happening more frequently and now the lights flashing on my instrument panel is happening all of the time. The check 4WD system light has stayed on for the last few months.

- Richlands, VA, USA

problem #13

Nov 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

All warning lights came on and gauges shut down while driving on the highway. After getting off the highway, and it did it again then my vehicle completely shut down. I then restarted my car and the check engine light stayed on. I have filed a complaint in 2013 with your department and with Chrysler. I again talked to Chrysler today and they are telling me there's noting they can do to fix it at this time, because they don't have the parts available. I'm afraid that this can lead to a bigger problem if it shuts down while on the highway. What can I do to get this resolved?

- Biddeford, ME, USA

problem #12

Aug 272014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Aug 21 2014. The interior dome light was left in the on position, which drained the car battery completely. Upon recharging the battery all of the lights in the drivers console where on, the electronic stability control light was on, the air bag light was on, the check engine light was on. Upon taking it to a Jeep dealership was informed that the VIN in the onboard computer had been corrupted as well as saying that the traction control and the airbags were not functional until this had been resolved. Dec 5 2013. The battery had gone bad and needed be replaced. Once a new battery was installed the exact same thing happened with the VIN in the onboard computer being corrupted. The traction control and the airbags were also not working. Had to take the Jeep back to the dealership to have the computer reprogrammed with the correct VIN.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #11

Sep 132011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I initially purchased this Jeep at 45,000 miles. It now has 98,000 miles. This issue has now happened at least 5 times in this time span. The first few times I thought it may be just a coincidence but now it is starting to scare me that there could be an issue. Because it can not be replicated at the mechanic, S no one can pinpoint what the problem could be. The Jeep will just die spontaneously. There is no warning that it is coming. Luckily I have always been going slow through a parking lot with no other cars in my way. I am able to control the car to a stop and then restart it. This past week I became more nervous however as it happened while I was making a left turn from a major street on to a residential street. I was able to control the car to the side of the residential road while turning however, if there had been cars on the street I was making the left too or I had not given more time for the cars coming at me during the turn this could have equaled a major accident. I am seeing through my research that I am not the only one experiencing this.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #10

Sep 122013

Grand Cherokee

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled and the esp, ABS, check engine, and traction control indicators illuminated on the instrument panel intermittently. The failure occurred on three different occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 54,000.

- North Wells, PA, USA

problem #9

Sep 182013

Grand Cherokee

  • 85,000 miles
I had the N23 recall done on my Jeep and it no longer shifts into 4 low. Chrysler isnt putting out a real fix to this problem that they created.

- Kearney, NE, USA

problem #8

Jun 102008

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Driving on the highway and the entire dash board lit up, blank a few times, and then went dark. Nothing on the dash board was working (no mph, gas gauge, etc.). after a few minutes of blinking and going dark, everything begins to work again, but the check engine light comes on. This exact scenario has happened multiple times. Usually the light will stay on from anywhere between 1-5 days and then go away. I have been dealing with this issue for over a year. In once instance, I was driving around the city going 10-15 mph and this scenario happened and the brakes were not working properly and the car was very hard to turn. Everytime I have brought the car to the dealer they try to pull a code and nothing is available for them. At this point I am fed up so I am officially reporting the issue. It is completely unsafe to be driving when this happens, especially when you are on the highway. Let's hope something is officially done before anyone gets hurt.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #7

Nov 182013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Driving on the highway and the entire dash board lit up, blank a few times, and then went dark. Nothing on the dash board was working (no mph, gas gauge, etc.). after a few minutes of blinking and going dark, everything begins to work again, but the check engine light comes on. This exact scenario has happened multiple times. Usually the light will stay on from anywhere between 1-5 days and then go away. I have been dealing with this issue for over a year. In once instance, I was driving around the city going 10-15 mph and this scenario happened and the brakes were not working properly and the car was very hard to turn. Everytime I have brought the car to the dealer they try to pull a code and nothing is available for them. At this point I am fed up so I am officially reporting the issue. It is completely unsafe to be driving when this happens, especially when you are on the highway. Let's hope something is officially done before anyone gets hurt.

- Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #6

May 142013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
Sequence of events: This has been my sons car since I purchased in 2008. [xxx] who was at college in greensboro, nc. [xxx] phoned me one evening, April 17, 2013 and stated that his Jeep would not go out of 2nd gear and all lights came on and named the engine light", ?bas?, traction control etc. He also stated that ?it jerks when accelerating and stopping?. he parked the car and my husband/[xxx] called cottman transmission in greensboro the morning of April 18th. We were told that nothing showed on the diagnostics and they needed to take out the transmission to assess. The cost would be $450. After taking out the transmission, we were told that it needed complete replacement. They proceeded with the transmission replacement and my son picked up the Jeep on April 24th. I paid $2,185.77. As cottman stated the power train control module" was the original cause of problems with this vehicle. I never received a recall notice for any part on this Jeep, possibly because the dealership I purchased it from closed several years ago. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #5

Feb 052013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
Traction control light flickers causing loss of power and the vehicle would surge even on incline, check engine light appear at random times and turns off on its own it gives codes U404 and another code witch I cant recall off the top of my head. Accelerating from the start will hesitate and feel limited to power.transmission hard shifts at time and clunks forward when decelerating then accelerating.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #4

Aug 152012

Grand Cherokee

  • 110,000 miles
At approx. 110K miles the esb, trac and bas indication lights came on and would not turn off. The dealership checked and said that the brake pressure sensor and steering angel sensors had to be replaced.

- Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?